We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #39 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not only did the front desk staff go out of their way to help us after we arrived after a long day of travel but they explained exactly how to negotiaite the metro, where all the places we neded to get to were and gave us maps with their handwritten directions on.
The bar was wonderful as was the food, pricey but for convenience we ate in the restaurant one night and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The room was exemplary and we were well looked after while we were there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views of the city and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaR442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Marriott Chateau Champlain to attend a ball. The rooms are spacious and clean, friendly efficient service. They have an indoor pool with a lot of sun, which offers great relaxation on a cold winter day. A few "warnings". TO GET THERE BY CAR: It is hard to drive to the Hotel, since it is located on a weird corner of the city. You have to come from Blvd. Renee Levesque (just north) and Peel, otherwise you will go in circles on Montreal's famous one-way streets with no left turns and possibly get lost in the maze, if you are not familiar with the city. THE BAR: service is unfriendly - possibly overworked and underpaid, which is the norm for Quebec. The food is horrible and expensive. Even our table neighbors complained. However, we got a discount on one of our orders and the people sitting next to us got a replacement meal, after they complained. THE BALLROOM: our table was freezing throughout the night (I don not know about the others), so you would see ladies wearing their partners' suit jackets over their ballroom dresses. We were fortunate enough to be staying at the hotel, so we got our wool-jackets and scarves. SAUNA: they do not have a sauna anymore. HAIRDRESSER: excellent quality do-ups for the ball at the price of 70.00, done by the highly skilled salon owner. Friendly service. FACIAL: I could have done without the 70,00 Dollar treatment. All the creams that were slathered on my face felt heavy and thick and my skin did not look any better than before.

Room Tip: We were staying in room 1003/1004. Most beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Chateau Champlain for a conference, also located at the hotel and it was great. It was right next to the metro and the bus station, so the whole city is easily accessible. Service was friendly and quick - from the bell hop to the concierge to the elevator guy. The rooms were a good size and spotless and I had a view of the cathedral that was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotwheelz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located in downtown Montreal with options on both the Metro or by taxi for getting around. I was attending a conference a few blocks away so I didn't spend much time there during the day but with shops on location in the hotel, quick service at the front and reliable internet, it had everything that one would look for on a business trip.
Nothing stood out but on a business trip that is not a bad thing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatcraigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is a step above the typical Marriott. Service was great, Concierge room was excellent, the views are *fantastic*. I was only supposed to stay two nights, but got trapped for a few extra days because of the hurricane. It could have been much worse for me. The TV does not have a lot of decent programming (I guess I assumed Canada would have HBO in the hotel rooms...), but other than that, this is an elegant and fairly unique hotel. It is a little old, but does not feel grungy or outdated like some hotels - it must have been refurbished fairly recently.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BairdWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager980, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear BairdWallace,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your unplanned extended stay gave you the opportunity to enjoyed our overall service and the comfort of our newly renovated rooms. We will be glad to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Chateau Champlain is an older Hotel, with all the amenities of a New One. It is very well kept, and the staff is always helpful and friendly. It is located in the heart of downtown Montreal, close to Restaurants, stores, etc ...

Room Tip: Request a room on the North side , over the Park ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154980Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've been coming to Montreal for years, and this WAS my preferred hotel. Over the last three stays over the last six months, I've seen this place deteriorate in all ways. Reservations mysteriously changed from king rooms to double rooms with accusations that I failed to read the details. I am a road warrior and know how hotels work. With the conversation overheard by a manager, somehow the right room was found. Room was not cleaned until 4 PM the next day, dirty towels left behind and no supplies replenished. I called the front desk and was met with disinterest. Three strikes you're out. HIlton or Fairmont are just around the corner and seem to want my business

Room Tip: Higher floor facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guppy_puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,686 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#50 of 165 in Montreal
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#21 of 165 in Montreal
932 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $151 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing