We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation system needs an overhaul” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reservation system needs an overhaul”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We entered hotel from the parking garage to a beautiful hallway with high ceilings and chandeliers and gorgeous architecture and I THOUGHT we had made a great choice. It was a downhill slide from there.

First off, admittedly through no fault of the hotel we were given a hard time at check in because we forgot our Government ID at home. Once that was sorted we were told we had a room with only 1 bed. The Marriott online reservation system allows you to book "one king or 2 doubles" and then asks you to check off your preference further into the reservation process, the same place you would ask for things like pillow preference or extra towels or early check in or higher floors. AT NO TIME DOES IT SAY YOU WILL NOT BE GIVEN THE ROOM TYPE YOU ASKED FOR. Apparently THIS Marriott makes the decision randomly as to where in the hotel you go and what room type you get. I have never encountered this problem at the other Marriott hotels that I have stayed at.

The girl at the desk sent us a cot, a cot that looked like it was thrown out behind a homeless shelter. It was caved in, the mattress was stained and the frame itself was rusted and dirty.

When we called down to complain and insist on being given the room type we booked we were told they were full and nothing could be done. I asked for the supervisor who called me back a few minutes later (I am pretty sure it was just the employee standing next to her). The "supervisor" was incredibly rude and again told me there were NO rooms available in the hotel and that she would send me a different cot or I could try going to another hotel down the street!!!! She said that they encounter this problem with the reservation system all the time and were not the first to complain and certainly not the last. I suggested they give us a second room with 1 bed and she said there was no way this would happen and we would have to accept the room we were given. She also pointed out that they had 5 floors under renovation and that SHE did US a favor by putting us on a higher floor in a non renovated room. HUH? She then said she would have a supervisor call us (thought we were already talking to a supervisor).

The next call was from the Food and Beverage Manager??!??!? Although very friendly what does he have to do with room reservations? I work in a hotel, our food and beverage managers wouldn't even know how to turn on the desk computers let alone make or move a reservation. He feigned surprise at the fact that the hotel was so busy and offered my party free breakfast and wanted to come and look at the cot. He also offered to cover our parking charges.

So basically we slept with 3 people in 1 bed and the 4th person on a cot (cot was replaced by a marginally better one). A very annoying and disappointing start to our night away. When things go like this then you tend to notice other things like the air vents full of cobwebs, the crumbs on the old carpet, the shower curtains that leaked and left an inch of water on the floor, the lack of additional towels we requested and the general rudeness of most of the staff.

I generally enjoy the Marriotts that I stay at but DEFINITELY would never go back to this one.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask for a confirmed room type although this shouldn't be necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recklessfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    820
    270
    83
    36
See reviews for
391
517
102
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is located right on the Metro line and in the heart of the downtown area. Very helpful staff and as a Marriott Reward Gold member we had free internet, breakfast, and concierge lounge availability. Bar is rather small but nice. Menu was quite nice and not too expensive.

Room Tip: Some rooms have huge windows overlooking the park below - very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester county, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Good location for business district. I concur with some of the other reviewers that the property feels "dated". I was charged $235 for a king on the concierge level (not clear that it's any different than other floors). The room was somewhat on the small side and was dowdy. The TV looked to be 20 years old (no flat screen). The bathroom needed updating. The front desk was very pleasant. I expect I could have found a better option at that price level.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Rooms where perfect bellhop was extreAmly nice he went out of his way to tell us where to eat ... It was a great recommendation very good location but no access to mall expect for the metro. Rooms where renovated and perfect but I really wanted to rent a movie but it was down on the tv the room came with pizza and drinks and a free movie beause they didnt have the movies working they accomadated us well I recommend this hotel as much as I recommend the amazing bellhop whos name I forgot and most off julie at the front desk for makeing my stay amazing.. I would reccomend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishockey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our family's sixth summer vacation stay(5-6 night stay) at the Chateau Champlain and like every other stay, it has been exceptional. Excellent location(Bonaventure Metro in lower level of building), very good rate -$150.00ish(downtown location/during jazz festival), great pool,
excellent staff through the building and now beautifully renovated rooms. Have stayed at other hotels in Montreal, but it is tough to beat the Marriott - six summer stays suggests that. From a quick and cooperative 8:00 am check-in, to higher floor and Mt Royal view request granted, to late check-out(3:00) request granted - the Marriott Chateau Champlain and its consistent pleasures and comfort have made it our summer home. Hoping for another great visit in 2012!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealcaper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

One of my daughters and I stayed at the Marriott for two nights in early August. The hotel is in a terrific location, a short walk to the main shopping area, business district, McGill Univ. and Mount Royal Park, and only a slightly longer walk to Old Montreal, where we spent an afternoon windowshopping and watching street performers. The concierge at the Marriott offered great dining suggestions, with a view toward good food + entertaining atmosphere for my daughter. Our hotel room was lovely. But what really dazzled us was how wonderful the room service breakfasts were -- elegant, beautifully prepared, and filling enough that we cruised through lunch, saving ourselves for dinners at the restaurants recommended by the concierge.
One travel tip: you can catch the express bus to the airport half a block from the hotel -- it's $8 per person (must have coins, not paper bills), a fraction of the $38 flat rate cab fare to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llc-mycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We travelled to Montreal by train, from Toronto, which was a lovely relaxed 5 hour journey. Beats the plane any day!. We were able to walk to Chateau Champlain which is only about 150 yards from the station. We requested a high floor room which we got. Looking out over the front entrance of the hotel the view was wonderful, looking right across to Mont Royal. The room was excellent and we enjoyed just sitting at the window with a glass of wine, watching the world go by. There is access to the Metro system from the hotel, but if there are two of you it is just as cheap to take a taxi into Old Montreal. We felt we needed the taxi as it was a bit too far to walk - well in nigh on 100deg heat it was! Place Jacques Cartier is where most of the restaurants are, although do branch off some of the side streets and you will find lots more. We did a 2 hr walking tour of Montreal with an excellent guide. The tour included entering the Basilica, which is beautiful. Montreal's history goes back about 300 years but there is not a lot to see of great interest on the walk. ( We are probably spoiled coming from Scotland where 5th century is considered old, not 1700's). We also did the Amphi tour; which was supposed to last 1.5 hours but we were back in 55 minutes. When the vehicle goes into the water the noise is shattering and the commentary difficult to hear and not especially great. A lot of money for what you get! If you are going to travel by train this might be useful to know. From Toronto to Montreal you can check in your luggage and get reserved seats. From Montreal to Quebec you can do neither. You carry your cases on and it's first come first served for seats. The lines form up very early, so the sooner you are in line the more likely of getting seats together. The snacks available on board the refreshment trolley are good value and fresh. The staff on the trains were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#53 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#43 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing