We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Ranked #77 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a "superior" room. It was a really nice corner room with lots of windows and a great view of the streetscape below. It was also spotless and in immaculate repair. Had the breakfast option, which was at a coffee shop a few doors down: it was good as well. Location is perfect, metro station is only steps away and there's lots to see and do in easy walking distance.
We had travelled all night and arrived early in the morning, so the room wasn't available. They took our luggage, and offered us a temporary room to have a nap in. We were wide awake at that point so didn't take up the offer, but were impressed at the hospitality. Wifi was good.
The people here are exceptional: every single one, from the cleaning people to the front desk people, were so pleasant. Carol told us of interesting things to see and do, and how to get there. The guys at the desk, one helped us find breakfast, one gave us a personal wakeup call the morning we were leaving. Everyone at the desk always had a smile and wave whenever you were coming or going. Overall it was an excellent experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igloo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your warm comments and the excellent rating that you provided our hotel. I am pleased that you had a great experience and that you appreciated the cleanliness and decor of your room, as well as the hospitality of our reception and housekeeping staff. We love making our guests feel at home in the hotel, as well as help them discover the neighborhood and city that we love. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montreal.....give us a call to receive our special return guest rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    273
    62
    22
    30
See reviews for
66
231
103
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel for many reasons. First of all, the staff is incredibly nice and helpful during your trip. Indeed, Carole, Zakaria or Fave are nice/aware people to talk to. Secondly, this hotel is located in the "old quebec", and really close to anything interesting or entertaining. Moreover the rooms we've been with my girlfriend are large and clean. The price is way cheaper than you can find in this particular area. Higly recommended.

Room Tip: room 205 or C101. Talk to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We appreciate the excellent rating that you have awarded us. I am pleased that this was the perfect place for you to stay while in Montreal I will to share your kind words and comments with Carole, Zacharia and Dave. Our hotel strives to offer not only incredible customer service but good,clean accommodations at a reasonable cost for a prime downtown location. We love to see our guests return time and time again and thus look forward to welcoming you once again. Remember to book on our website or by calling directly to our hotel reception to get our special VIP (return guest) discounted rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The location is perfect for seeing the sights, shopping and restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly. You should take into consideration that there is no elevator and plenty of stairs. So it could be a problem if you have many or heavy bags, Also, it would be nice to upgrade the towels, they are thin and small. One more tip - if you are taking the 747 bus from the airport, get off at China town (you can see the gate from the bus).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judyjazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and suggestions regarding our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful location, our clean rooms and helpful staff. Being a historic building without an elevator, there are many stairs but if one needs assistance, our staff is always willing to help with luggage. The 747 Express Bus is a great tip since it is a convenient way to come from the airport to the hotel. The Abri du Voyageur stop (next to the Chinatown gates) is clearly indicated on the bus and from the stop, one only has to walk one block north to the hotel on the corner of St. Laurent and Ste. Catherine. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stopped here for a couple of days and it was excellent. The staff was really helpful and friendly, knowledgable and courteous. The location on St. Catherine is great and the room was clean with a comfortable bed. I took the inexpensive shared bath, and it was no problem. There's a sink and TV in the room so it's very convenient. Its definitely worth the price.

Only cons and they're not that big are that it's a walkup, so there are stairs and you can hear others walking by in the hallway. Overall though the value is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are pleased that you appreciated our prime location, the cleanliness of our property, our customer service and that overall you felt is was great value. Being a historic building, there are indeed many steps to contend with....we refer to it as our stairmaster.....it keeps the staff in shape. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

$69 Canadian for a nights stay plus tax, stayed here between 16th and 20th of May of 2012. Friend went there to enjoy a 4 night music festival featuring Nachtmahr. My girlfriend and I just went along just to enjoy Montreal. Cleanliness of room and shared bathroom was top notch. Location in the heart of Montreal was nice as well. Couldn't take advantage of the free breakfast because of having more than 2 people in our party. The front desk staff were also very attentive to our needs. This hotel also has a vibe only an independently owned and operated hotel has. Lots of stairs to walk up though, which isn't bad if your in shape. Air Conditioning didn't work so well but its Montreal so isn't much of an issue to begin with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Our hotel is indeed independently owned and operated and we love to see our guests return time and time again. Though we have a variety of room types, our budget rooms with shared washrooms are our best value. We are happy that this suited your needs on this trip and that you appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and washrooms. It was a pleasure to serve you and remember, return guests can a special discount when they book directly with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I read Trip Advisor before booking for one night on Sept 2. I was travelling from Halifax NS to Red Deer AB by car and only needed a place to sleep for the night and move on. I knew and didn't care about the sex shop downstairs. My spouse woke up at 3:00AM and decided to go out for a cigarette. A nearby strip club was closing and he was approached by two individuals trying to sell drugs and one prostitute. Two women were engaged in a shouting/hair-pulling match across the street. This is beyond the control of the operator's of the hotel obviously but something you should be aware of before booking. There really are a lot of stairs. It was clean - we stayed in the shared bath section and they were clean as well. The room was very small with a double bed. The price was good. The staff very pleasant. No phones in room. We requested a 6:00 AM wake up call and were told this would be a knock on the door. That would have been fine but we left at 5:00 AM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lxs255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words regarding our staff. Our area is in the midst of the entertainment district, le Quartier des Spectacles. It is a very safe area and is home to most of the theatres, museums and cultural venues,as well as the major festivals of our city. There are indeed throughout the downtown area, clubs of a sexual nature and it is unfortunate that your husband was solicited during his late night smoke break. Though the rooms are all non smoking, we have a terrace for smokers.
In our establishment we have a variety of room types from the budget rooms with shared washrooms to our superior rooms with private washrooms in our newly renovated section of the hotel or our studio apartments with fully equipped kitchenettes. We hope to see you again during your next trek to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed there last July and it couldn't have been better. It was during the Jazz Festival and I was literally one block away from it. The music didn't get to our room, as it was in the back and the concerts pretty much ended around midnight, so no problem resting or sleeping at all. The room was clean and I loved the decor and colors used. I was upgraded to a room with a kitchenette, without even asking for it. Nice staff, very friendly and attentive at the front desk, specially the young woman who also designs and makes jewelry being on display in the lobby. I wish I remembered her name, but my memory is so bad. She helped me the most and was the one who upgraded my room. I mean, she even let me check my email, as I left my tablet home. She was amazing and made my 11 year old and me feel at home. Next time I'm getting one of her beautiful rings! I'm looking forward to staying there again next time I go to Montreal!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. This is a prime location close to everything (metro, malls, restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachingMama71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation. I will certainly share with Carol your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated studios and appreciated our prime location to participate in the festivals and discover Montreal. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 164 in Montreal
180 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 164 in Montreal
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 164 in Montreal
805 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#72 of 164 in Montreal
257 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Property: Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing