We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Ranked #85 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel 100%. i'd definatly go back a 3rd time as this was my second stay.This hotel is sooo convinient considering we went right at the time of the Jazz festival. Everything is right downtown, walking distance, friendly ppl. The conciege was wondeful. Its perfect for young people especially with the sexx shops all around We loved it. great location , great people. WiFi was ok, at a considerable rate couldnt complain too much. China town is around the corner. its perfect if you are on budget and not into fancy fancy hotels with swimming pools. but just a short stay to see around and shop!

Room Tip: i stayed on the 3rd floor both times and that was fine with us, we shared bathrooms. they keep the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golden l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We would like to thank you for your support and loyalty and for sharing your comments. We are pleased that you plan to return....till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 592 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

I enjoy staying at this place. It's very centrally located, with clean rooms and helpful staff. I've stayed there a few times and this is the second time they've given me a free upgrade to a nicer and larger room. Since I travel solo a lot I usually don't mind sharing a bathroom - it was a real treat to get my own!

Room Tip: It can be noisy as a busy part of St. Cat's street...recommend earplugs just in case. I stayed d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank-you for your kind words and for your loyalty to our hotel. We are pleased that you appreciated the upgrade on your last visit. When you call our hotel directly, return customers can take advantage of a 10% discount. Till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June with our 16 year old daughter, yes I know there is a sex toy shop next door, this was discussed with our daughter before we made our reservation. The hotel was wonderful, the staff was pleasant and friendly. If we had a question about an attraction or where something was they always helped us out. The breakfast we received at the Cafe Depot as part of our stay was also very good. My daughter does not drink coffee{which you get with the coupon} and ordered hot chocolate every morning. I offered to pay because that was not part of the coupon but every morning they said that was OK, I did not need to pay for it. The hotel was very clean and for the rate we paid I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room which shared a bathroom but there are many others which have their own bathroom. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our prime location, cleanliness of our facility and helpfulness of staff! Café Dépot is very accommodating to our clients and we receive many compliments regarding the continental breakfast. We are pleased that you plan to return to our hotel and our staff look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I was worried about my stay with my boyfriend for 4nights here as the reviews seemed to be a real mish-mash. We were both particularly concerned about the rundown and dodgy nature that had been portrayed. However, we really didn't need to worry at all.
We visited Montreal during the Francofolies festival which is located directly next to the hotel itself and although the security and police flanking every corner may have helped, we never once felt unsafe or concerned. Even late at night. The sex shop next door really isn't even worth mentioning, we barely noticed it was there!

As stated above we visited during a festival and therefore there was a lot of noise from the band and the crowd. And really, that didnt bother us. My boyfriend bought a cheap set of earplugs but the music was usually finished by 11 anyway! Perhaps selling earplugs at the reception desk may be something for the hotel to consider?

The hotel itself does not host some facilities such as a dining area or laundry but this doesnt depreciate from the visit. They provide breakfast vouchers for a cafe depot just over the road which serves breakfast between 6 and 11am. This was never a problem for us. In fact, we enjoyed getting up and about and this was a great way to start the process.

Our stay consisted of a budget double with a shared bathroom and we never once waited to take a shower. The facilities are individual locking rooms which gives you a sense of your own personal privacy. The rooms also have their own sinks which is great if you just want to brush your teeth or wash your hands.

Overall, the rooms are pretty basic but everything is pretty much covered. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff added to the experience by always answering any queries we had and showing us the best places to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank-you for your review of our budget rooms with shared washrooms. The hotel also has superior rooms in the new section of our establishment and studio apartments with kitchen facilities for clients looking for more comfort and amenities.

Every year, for the past three years, we have received an excellence award from our Tripadvisor clients and for the past two years, the best value hotel in Montreal. We are very proud of our ratings and pleased to see our clients return time and time again.

We appreciate your suggestions and your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, our ideal location, the helpfulness of the staff and our cheap accommodations. Thank-you once again and until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here in a studio room, it was a great size and comfortable while the hotel was incredibly located. The staff seemed pleased to help and give advice at pretty much any hour of the night. They all were amazing at their jobs and gave us great restaurant advice and directions. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown, we walked everywhere, to museums, mont royal park, old port etc, but the main bus station was very close, as were banks, and everything else we needed during our stay. Right across the street from la vitrine, were you can buy museum passes etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank verity f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our location and your studio accommodations. I hope to welcome you again soon and to have the opportunity to show you once again the trademark service that we are so proud of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wow, CAROL, the front desk receptionist, was amazing. What a wonderful lady. She went beyond her standard role - ultimately, she planned our entire trip and made sure we were as comfortable as could be. She will never be forgotten and we will be sure to return to this hotel because of her. In terms of the hotel, it was very clean and they offer many different options to choose from that suit both budget and comfort. And lastly, this hotel is all about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION.

Thanks so much, we'll be back. Kudos to Carol.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DF_087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thanks you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Abri du Voyageur. I will certainly share your kind words with Carole. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that our team was able to help you in making your trip a memorable one. We are indeed privileged to have the ideal location to discover Montreal. Till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

At the crossing of St Catherine and St Laurent, L'Abri allows you to strike out in all directions and a Metro stop is right there too. We stayed in the Studio section and were surprised that these rooms come with kitchenettes (we can't read) which are fabulous but bring your own teabags etc.
Varnished wood floors, rooms at back with no noise, air conditioners, plenty of hot water and a thoroughly charming set of people on the front desk. ATM in foyer. Original paintings in rooms and one stunner of a painting by famous Quebec artist LeMoyne at front desk. Baggage storage if you are checking out early. One block from 747 city bus to airport. all very tasteful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back. The staircases are a bit labyrinthine..not sure there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hôtel Abri du Voyageur. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will proudly share your comments with our entire team. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#69 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
547 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 165 in Montreal
876 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $33 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing