We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for travellers on budget..perfect downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Ranked #76 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for travellers on budget..perfect downtown location”
Reviewed March 1, 2008

i stay here everytime i visit montreal. the standard rooms are not the best if ur looking for quality bubecause of shared bathroom but its private once u get inside,. if youre looking for more upscale, you can try the studios in the same motel for more money, but theyre much much better. you get private washroom and kitchenette and room is much cleaner and newer looking. perfect location right in downtown, great helpful staff, and couldn't ask for more. i tried other low budget motels in mtl and this one is the best value for your dollar. feel free to contact me further for details.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank shannonfelicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    273
    62
    22
    30
See reviews for
66
231
103
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We stayed here on a recommendation from other travellers but we think they were confused about the location! The place is cheap and clean enough but not really much for relaxing in. Its in a red light area that during the day is OK but less inviting at night. I did not really feel safe in the hotel, fire trap and re-enforced doors make you wonder about prior events and that you should hatch an escape plan but all worked out OK. Oh the hole in the wall above the bed was a nice touch! The staff were friendly and helpful and its in walking distance to attractions. I wouldn't stay here again but if you want cheap, wont spend much time in your room and not too worried about the rowdy night life outside the window then maybe it would be OK. Otherwise Don't stay here!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

This is an excellent budget hotel. The rooms and common areas were spacious, clean , comfortable and well maintained. The shared bathrooms were also spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is on the intersection of two major roads - one takes you to downtown, shopping areas and theatres. The other takes you to Chinatown, the old town and the Mount Royal district. Bedroom windows have double glazing so the noise wasn't a problem. Most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance.

The hotel is in a small strip club area, but I (a female) wasn't harassed and I felt safe all the time. There is very good securtiy at the hotel - someone is onsite 24h a day, the front door was locked and the rooms had decent locks.

Some of the floors are on a slight slope and there is no elevator, so if you have mobility problems you might find it easier to pay a bit extra and stay elsewhere.

I enjoyed my stay here and woud defintely stay again when I return to Montreal.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I cannot understand how this hotel has ever had a positive review - some of the rooms must be better than the one I stayed in! My room faced out onto the street, and because this is not a nice area (it really isn't), there were frequent, noisy fights outside during the night. The second night this erupted into some pretty serious violence.

The room itself would have been quite good (spacious and reasonably decorated) but the floor of the room was on a serious slant - so much so that I got a sore hip from my bed being on an angle! This is pretty reflective of the overall standard of the building, which also seemed to have dodgy floorboards and stairs.

The communal shower in the hall didn't have hot water. On the second night the electricity to the building disappeared in the middle of the night and still hadn't come back on by the next morning (this appeared to be specific to the building because the rest of the street looked fine).

The one good thing was that the staff were helpful and friendly and when I asked to leave on the second day of my ten day stay, they refunded my money without question. I would never go back though. I suggest that if people can afford to spend slightly more, they go the the Hostelling International place in the city centre, which is a great place and where I enjoyed the rest of my stay!

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise, area, slanting floors, low building standard
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

I stayed at L'Abri Voyageur for three nights in November/December 2006, and don't plan on making that mistake again.

First, the good: my third-floor room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff were very nice. The hotel is in a terrible area, but is walking distance away from most of Montreal's main sites (Old Montreal, the port, Chinatown, the Palais de Congres, etc).

The bad: The neighbourhood is dangerous. Homeless people congregated on the steps of the hotel all the time and I had to step around them to get in. There are two nightclubs very close to the hotel, and the noise kept me up all night. The walls are very thin and I could hear everyone walking by and the person in the next room opening and closing his drawers, watching TV (my set didn't work because the reception was terrible), and talking on his cell phone. The bathrooms were gungy. There's two per floor.

There's no elevator, so that's something to take into consideration if you want to stay here, and I also advise you to bring your own alarm clock if you want to be woken up on time. The hotel doesn't provide it.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

Visited in May (single male traveler) and have to say that this really is a great bargain. I stayed in the suites section and had a large bedroom, kitchenette (with all appliances and conveniences - for those who want to shop and eat in occasionally), private bathroom and plenty of space. Portable air conditioner, TV included, no telephone and no internet capability in room - some kind of intercom was on wall but didn't have to use. Room was very clean and quiet for the most part. Not straightened up one day during my 9-day stay. Finding hotel was easy once you understand all the one-ways and maneuver the traffic (which is menacing). Arrival was hurried as parking in front of hotel is limited, then you walk up flight of stairs and quickly check in. Suites are around the coroner, and parking (private but very inexpensive) is a block behind. Once you get parked, you have to bring luggage back to the suites (roadwork going on and confusing entrance). I had a room on the 3rd floor and the climb was daunting. If you are elderly or have problems getting around, this is not the ideal setup for you. Parking was okay on weekends, however, weekday parking filled quickly with people who worked in the area. Sometimes have to leave key and have attendant park when space opens up. Not a big deal though. Conveniently located in "center" of town within walking distance to China Town, Old Town, and most "tourist" sites. Walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and major malls nearby. Yes, the area does look kinda seedy, but I felt pretty safe, and I wandered about all hours of day and night. Rental car came in handy because I wanted to visit Quebec, otherwise, the metro system and buses are everywhere.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Hotel is within easy walking distance of the convention centre and wonderful specialty shops. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rates are very reasonable.

The hotel has personality. The room I stayed in had hard wood floors, an original oil painting, and an old bank vault for a clothes closet.

The neighborhood has tatoo shops and sex shops, but felt very safe, and I was out until around mid-night fairly often. The odd night there was some noise when the bars let out, but that did not keep me awake. People concerned about night noise can ask for a room away from the street.

I would give his hotel serious consideration if I was going to Montreal again. The hotel is one of the few travel bargains available.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#65 of 164 in Montreal
180 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 164 in Montreal
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 164 in Montreal
803 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#72 of 164 in Montreal
257 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Property: Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing