We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but please sound proof windows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Ranked #76 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great but please sound proof windows”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a great, clean and friendly central place to stay at a reasonable price. I loved it. The only suggestion:

PLEASE GET SOUND PROOFING ON THE WINDOWS. Outside street noise does come straight in from St. Laurent and doesn't make for a peaceful sleep.

Apart from that, the place is excellent. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main streets if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    273
    62
    21
    30
See reviews for
66
230
103
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed in a double room, shared bathroom. The staff were very welcoming and helpful with local information and general just very friendly and pleasant. The room was charming, having an in room sink was a bonus. TV in room with a good selection of channels in French & English. There was never a queue for the shared bathroom which was great. There is a great Vietnamese eatery, 'pho thanh long' just 5 minute walk on same street. The hotel is in good location to walk anywhere in downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nkdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A great hotel with a friendly, informative front desk staff. As other reviewers say, it is next door to a sex shop. However, the area is in transformation and not at all unsafe. We are a couple and had no problems with the area. It is close to the metro and walking distance to Old Montreal, shopping, and the theatre district. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed in this hotel 3 times and always enjoyed it.
The bedrooms are really nice, they also have a small apartment with a kitchen and a private bathroom. They feature everything you need!

The staff, and particularly the hostess, is really helpful and welcoming. They help you out if you need to find or buy something and including when you're settling down in Vancouver.

The location is also really cool, close to the bus to the airport and Berry Uqam and to a subway station. There're a bunch of nice restaurants and bars around. The Art district is in development so the place is getting even nicer!

I recommend it!

Room Tip: To avoid the noise of the street ask for a bedroom giving on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maelle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights, and were repeatedly impressed with everything. This Hotel is Clean, Very Reasonably Priced, Well Run, and the Location is GREAT. Our room was larger than equal or higher priced rooms at other hotels in Montreal, and other cities. On a Friday or Saturday night we might ask for a room not facing St. Catharine St. Staff was knowledgeable, and friendly. The Strip Club is GONE. The sex shop remains, but is in no way sleazy. We were able to see several of the other rooms, and while some of the other rooms were smaller than ours, we would have been happy with any of them, considering the price we were charged. The only draw back is no elevator, but then this is not a high rise hotel. My wife and I are seniors, and managed quite well thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GEO1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a wonderful two night stay. Yes, the hotel shares a block with two sex shops, and yes, their logo is a hobo, but we felt quite safe in the neighborhood, and the other guests appeared to be to Tripadvisor travelers like us. I asked for a room in a quiet location, so we were on the back side of the hotel with barely any street noise (at least with windows closed.) Our room was spotless - it appeared to be newly renovated and had glossy wood floors and an exposed brick wall. The desk clerk was very helpful, providing us with a map and circling things to do. There is a parking lot nearby that charges $40 for the weekend, but he directed us to a more secure university parking garage a couple of blocks away that charges $9 per day. Minor complaints; wifi was intermitant, curtains are too sheer to make the room totally dark, and the first day our bed didn't get made (the housekeeper came by while we were still in the room and I told her we'd be leaving in 5 minutes, but she never came back. I don't think she understood English.) But all in all, a very good stay!

Room Tip: Located at a busy intersection, so ask for room on back side of hotel if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glaciergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were a little unsure because of mixed reviews on this property, however based on the great price (compared with everything else in Montreal) and fabulous central location, we took a chance. Our 5-night stay was fine - we had a lovely large room, pretty clean, good service, bathrooms clean. The room had a funny smell, but aside from this the hotel is generally fine and we'd definitely say to give it a go. The location is safe, central and loads of amenities surround the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#81 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#72 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Property: Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing