We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little hotel in downtown Monteal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Ranked #86 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've stayed twice at this hotel with no dissappointments whatsoever and what a location - smack in the middle of everything happening downtown. Clean rooms, well appointed kitchinettes, welcoming staff, for a price I can live with. Ask Mr. Bisson to sing an operatic melody...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sun-seeker2008-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 596 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

This one appeals to the backpacker set. It's fine for older people too but you must be fit to negotiate all the stairs, especially with luggage. The room was immaculate as was the bathroom. I'd like to take that bathroom home with me. The exposed brick wall is a nice decorator touch. The windows could use some room darkening blinds. We were there during the jazzfest and one of the venues was right outside our window. We were pleasantly surprised that the music stopped at 11pm. Canadians are a considerate lot.
There is no restaurant or breakfast but you are right downtown so everything is easy walking distance.. It would be nice to have coffee available in the rooms or lobby. One of the desk clerks told me a breakfast room is in the planning stages.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustJanetPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I just spent three nights at this hotel and were very pleased with our room and the overall experience. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, the room was quiet and comfortable (and clean), and the location was pretty central. I definitely recommend getting a room away from the street if possible, as there can be a lot of street noise. Overall, it would be hard to beat this place for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williej3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a delight. There was someone at the desk 24/7. Clean rooms, new towels every day, shared bathroom was clean and neat. The hotel was in a marvelous location within walking distance to most things. If you plan on spending tons of time in your room, then you may want something fancier, but as hostels go this was great. Our only complaint was that our room was hot and stuffy unless we left the ac unit on all day, and even then it got pretty toasty. It didn't bother us enough to complain to management, and I'm sure they would have been happy to help.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nerdpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Everything's been said already in other reviews, but to repeat yet again: Great location, (especially for the Jazz Festival), perfect price, friendly and helpful staff. Exceeded expectations in regard to cleanliness and room size. Not a place to go for a luxury retreat, but if you want to spend a weekend in the city and save your money for worthwhile activities, book a room here. Parking garage in the area charged $11 per night

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very friendly and responsible staff. Great location, near many attractions. Safe environment. Very quiet. It was very easy to spot the hotel since it was my first time in montreal. I would recommend a different mascot/logo since current one looks a bit irrelevant and scary. I had a great time and didn't experience any problems at all. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I was in Montreal with friends for the
Grand-Prix. We stayed at the Abri du Voyageur hotel and was very impressed. The section of the hotel that we stayed in had been recently renovated and the rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff was most helpful and the location of the hotel ideal to go to the races or visit the city. And all this at a cost we could afford. I highly recommend this hotel and will definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael147275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#49 of 166 in Montreal
704 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 166 in Montreal
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#77 of 166 in Montreal
473 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#66 of 166 in Montreal
976 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 166 in Montreal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $31 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing