We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your BILL!!! Major Frauds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #38 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Basically I had rented a room for a friend of mine who was staying in Montreal for the weekend. I had specifically told the Desk Clerk to charge my card ONLY for the room and that everything extra (snacks, room service etc) would be taken care of by my friend upon his check out. Now looking over my card statement I noticed that :

1) They charged the room higher than what was indicated on my invoice
2) They STILL charged the extra snacks and beverage fees on my card after asking them no to.
3) And they also added another 250$ which I have no clue what this amount is supposed to represent?


This hotel is nice since they re-modernized in 2009 but as you can see service sucks and they are major frauds when it comes to billing clients!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Checkyourbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMMONTREAL, Director of Sales at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the InterContinental Montreal. We are truly sorry that billing procedures were not followed and we can assure you that while running our business efficiently is important, it is more important for us to meet the needs of our guests. You may rest assured that the Department head concerned will be informed. We truly hope tha you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality of service that we are know for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. It's definitely an upscale hotel and the rooms and service showed that. It has a great location within walking distance to downtown Montreal and Old Montreal. The only complaint I have is that the pool and sauna&steam room had odd hours. Besides that everything was great. I had breakfast at the hotel every morning and the omelettes were delicious. Sarah B's bar was pricey but worth it. The room was huge and very clean. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_BOSTON89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Intercon Montreal for New Year's Eve 2010. The previous year we stayed at the W but decided to give another hotel a shot. Check in was slow, but keep in mind it was New Year's Eve. Our room was HUGE! The bed was huge, amazing, and soo comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous with all the amenities. We never used room service, but did have a couple of drinks at the Sarah B Bar. The drinks were strong and unique (and a bit expesive, but worth it!) I really have no complaints about the hotel except the location in the winter. It is a pretty decent walk to St. Catherine's St. and St. Laurent St. It is close to Old Montreal, through. Would def recommend this hotel if you have the money to spend!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMMONTREAL, Director of Sales at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Thank you for your recommendation, we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Wow. I don't know where to start. First off it seems the bar is VERY high in Montreal. Every hotel I stayed in here has been great. But this place is fantastic and I only paid $120 a night (through hotwire) !! When I saw that the bathroom had a separate shower AND shower gel I knew I was going to like the Hotel. Most Hotels never have Shower gel. The decor is very stylish and clearly it has been completely modernized recently. The room is stunning and spacious. Very functional as well. The reception super friendly and the gym very well equipped and with new equipment. Location great...just a short walk to old Montreal and downtown. I didn't eat here, but I bet the food is great. I rang down for a toothbrush this morning and they sent one up..and instead of the normal tiny, crappy brush it was a pretty decent sized regular brush. With hotels it's all about the extra touches and this place scores top all around. And for $120 a night...either the Hotel trade is really suffering in Montreal, these guys are about to go bust or they are insane. I would normally pay $300+ for this quality back home in the US. I'm going to see if I can steal some of the very funky lamps in the bedroom...they would look great in my family room ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMMONTREAL, Director of Sales at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Thank you for you wonderful review of the InterContinental Montreal. We are delighted that we met all of your criteria for a great hotel stay. It was a pleasure welcoming you and we do hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This hotel is located in the business area of Montreal with a short walk to Old Montreal and a little bit further to shopping on Saint Catherine St. They recently renovated the lobby and rooms and so I'll attach some updated photos. The check in went very smoothly and the woman at the desk was pleasantly friendly. We made our way up to the 22nd floor (the rooms are above the 10 office floors so they must all have a pretty good view). The hallways are a bit too dark but our room had a large window facing the harbour, very spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom has not been updated and had white and green marble, maybe the wallpaper was new but the light switches were older and one of the wall light scones needed repair as did the audio controls because the sound was of very poor quality in the bathroom. There were 2 double beds which gave the room more walking space but queen beds would have been better for our family of 3. Being a business hotel, I'm sure that this superior room would usually be used by only one person so I can understand their choice of bed size.
The concierge was very friendly and helped us make the right choice for a restaurant nearby (Beaver Hall). We quite enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toptraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMMONTREAL, Director of Sales at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

What a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Montreal. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Recently stayed here for 2 nights with husband. Upon early arrival, due to early flight, they were kind enough to find a room for us and let us check in. Concierge gave us excellent map of city and some suggestions for sightseeing. Room very comfortable with nice TV (speakers in bathroom nice touch) and good bedding. Used fitness center sauna and pool, which was relaxing after long day sightseeing. No problems, highly recommend this hotel. Also, ideal location for everything, 5-minute walk from Notre Dame and connected directly to underground city/subway, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMMONTREAL, Director of Sales at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind review. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the InterContinental Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I Stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel is in great shape in a very good location easy to downtown shopping and old Montreal as well as the metro. Front desk staff were very friendly, I arrived at 8am from flying all night and was happily surprised that there was no issue with checking in so early. I had reserved a standard room but was informed upon check in that I had been upgraded to a Junior suite on the club floor. the Room was very large and clean with a separate bedroom with a large flat screen tv, the living room had two wing chairs as well as a large sofa and end tables with 4 large windows around the room. The club lounge was also excellent with good quality tapas and assorted beverages. Pool and sauna areas were well maintained and very nice. One of the best hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111,262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMMONTREAL, Director of Sales at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Montreal and truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 166 in Montreal
2,799 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#33 of 166 in Montreal
1,890 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,542 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $141 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing