We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

For the price to pay, that was the cutest and nicest room I've ever been in. It was clean, the bathroom was almost as big as the room (which was pretty big) there was tub AND a shower, and the whole place was just squeaky clean and well designed. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Michael295,
Thank you for your 5-star review of our property. We are delighted to hear about your recent stay in our hotel and thrilled that you have enjoyed the size of the room. We look forward to having you back at our hotel soon. Happy Holidays!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    769
    236
    93
    51
See reviews for
328
675
100
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We are from the Eastern Townships and have been event organizers mostly in Montreal for many years. We decided to stay at the Intercon for our event at the Palais des Congrès, and given I am a vegan (and pregnant !), I was concerned if I would be able to eat well, balanced etc. since veganism is not easy for restaurants and hotels (no meat, no fish, no dairy). I have to admit that the chef, both nights of my stay, made me absolutely delicious meals (risotto to DIE FOR), so good that when my last day in the city was running late and I was getting hungry, and we decided to drop by the Intercon on our way out of the city to grab a meal there for a 3rd time (valets were all SUPER nice). All 3 nights, meals were great, very different and super healthy. The prices are super reasonable. Service was great all around. The only thing that would have made this stay even better would have been having a nice sized bathtub in my room (executive room, 25th floor if I remember correctly) and if I had had more time to lounge around in that very comfortable bed !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Caroline D,
We are delighted to hear about your recent experience in our hotel. We are glad we could make your experience seamless. Also, we are thrilled that you found our rooms comfortable and our location perfect!
We look forward to having you back, Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Intercontinental Montreal is in a good location and has excellent service. The check in process was very smooth and I was greeted like an old friend, even though it was my first visit to this hotel. The hotel itself is very clean and elegant. The concierge lounge on the lobby level was especially nice.

The room itself was large, clean and well appointed. I would stay at this hotel on my next trip to Montreal.

If you self park, the garage really does go twelve or more floors below street level! It seems like you are driving down forever before you find the parking area for the hotel, but it is very convenient.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor, which was very nice as there was a great view of the port. I'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear 43220,

We thank you for taking the time to write this 4 star review on our property. We are happy you have enjoyed our location and your stay, Hope to see you again soon.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is emblematic of all that is legendary of the Intercontinental legacy. Professional and courteous service with the right amount of attention to loyal clients. Beautiful club lounge and good food though they could do better on the wines offered and breakfast selections. Still a winner! The location is strategic for those of us who want to escape the hustle bustles of a big city because of its proximity to the old town. The perfect weekend escape anytime of the year. God willing, We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Become an Ambassador and enjoy the pampering
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay.
We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Intercontinental in Montréal, QC. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was confortable. Everything was al richt in the room, but the lights. The lights indeed could be more efficient.

The hotel is very well situated, in the hearth of downtown Montréal, in the Old Town. Close to the Old Port, two subway stations a block away.

We recommend this hotel, that deserves its 4 stars rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Bonjour,
Thank you for your 4 star review we are happy you have enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the InterContinental for an anniversary trip to Montreal. I booked via an opaque booking site and paid $100/night plus tax, a rate I considered (and still do) a good price.
Upon booking, I noted that it was our anniversary and that we would appreciate a room with a view. When we checked in, the receptionist did not wish us a happy anniversary...not to say that this was a requirement, but it certainly would have been nice for a quick "happy anniversary," especially given the high-caliber nature of the hotel. But nevertheless, were checked in and the associate was friendly and helpful.
However, upon arriving in our room, it had only one small window that faced towards the other side of the hotel, with practically no view of the city. I was very disappointed in this given that I specifically requested a view, but it was not a big enough deal to request a new room. The room itself was very large and tastefully furnished, and the bed was comfortable. The only negative to the room was the bathroom; the shower had rust stains and weak water pressure. Wifi in the guest rooms is not free (although I understand InterContinental hotels will have free internet starting in 2014) but there was free Wifi access in the lobby of the hotel. The building the hotel is located in also has free wifi during business hours.
The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, right on the border of downtown Montreal and the old city. In addition, you can access the Place d'Armes metro station in the Palais by utilizing the underground tunnels, without having to go outside. That was certainly nice during the frigid weather.
On the last day of our stay, we checked out of our room and put our bags in our car parked in the parking garage, a subterranean structure that goes 12 levels underground, with self-parking for the hotel on levels 9-12; if you park with the valet (an extra $10 or so a night), your car is kept on the first few levels. It is worth noting that the parking garage is not owned by the hotel, but by the trade center building that the hotel is part of. We went off to explore the city before departing Montreal later in the afternoon. Upon returning in the evening, the window of my car had been smashed and my laptop bag (with laptop) was stolen. On the plus side, someone had reported it to building security, who had removed the remaining three bags from the car, left a note on the car, and attempted to call me. The staff at the InterContinental was superb; the concierge was calling all over town trying to find a shop to fix my window on a Saturday night, as we had to drive back that night. She wasn't able to find one, so she called another member of the hotel staff who helped tape up the window for the drive. There are no security cameras that far down in the garage. The whole incident is not the hotel's fault, yet the lack of security for guests' cars is a little troubling. Utilizing the valet would certainly add a little security, and in hindsight, I wish I'd done that.
All in all, up until the last day of our trip, we enjoyed the InterContinental hotel, although it wasn't good enough that I would specifically seek it out. I would probably stay again for the rate I purchased it at, but not much more. And most importantly, BE CAREFUL of the parking garage, and don't leave anything in plain sight.

Room Tip: The building is a "U" shape, so a handful of rooms on each floor have almost no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

There is not any complaints about intercontinental montreal. We went here for a friend's birthday and had a great weekend. While we were across the street in the convention Centre the man from the front desk recognized us and told us to check out the market and why it was happening and thought it was great. Only problem with the location is that it is in the business district and things do close early or not open on the weekend so cab or long walks it was. Thanks intercontinental montreal for a great weekend can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Anthony M,
Thank you for this 4 star review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon for another great weekend.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
1,742 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
1,438 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,500 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,197 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing