We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week for a conference. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had several meetings and functions in the Sarah Bernhardt room, they were great and the room is beautiful for a function. All food associated with our functions was top notch. The hotel room was very nice and comfortable. Bed comfy, huge bathroom and loved the shower. Toiletries are nice. Keurig machine in room. I was next to the elevator so unfortunately it was a bitvnoisy (1522). The lobby is welcoming and the bar is nice. Had tea and dessert in the restaurant, very nice as well. This is a great hotel to stay in if you need access to the convention center, literally across the street. Coverage at the front desk isn't the greatest, they need more than one person at a time, that would be my only complaint. Overall it is a super place to stay! I would come back again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear loribob67,

Many thanks for reveiwing your experience at the InterContinental Montreal. We are delighted you enjoyed you time with us during your conference and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We knew nothing about Montreal when we picked this hotel for a quick 2 day stay in Montreal before heading to Quebec City for a cruise. We were pleasantly surprised and pleased with it's location to the old city with all it's fantastic restaurants and shops and of course the underground. The hotel was beautiful and the room well decorated. We also found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The only issue we had was the hotel did not have any type of shuttle to or from the airport. You have to take a taxi, $40.00 each way or walk with your luggage to the closest public transport stop which is approx. 2 blocks from the hotel, not a problem unless you have lots of luggage or the weather doesn't cooperate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pamby082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Pamby082,
Thank you for taking the time to write this 4 star review, we are happy that you have enjoyed the location of our hotel and that your stay was pleasant before leaving for your cruise. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently was at a conference across the way at the Palais. Great location for convenitons, but best of all walking in Old Montreal. It seemed that everything I wanted to do was a 5-10 minute walk! The staff was friendly, the room large with all the necessary conveniences.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank HikerMom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear HikerMom58,
We would like to thank you for taking the time in your busy schedule to write this nice review of our hotel.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Check in line was long due to their computers were down but still only about 10-15 minutes wait that’s not too bad. They gave a room on the 22nd floor with a view of Montreal downtown. The room was spacious with nice décor throughout. Comfortable king size bed and quiet room so we had good quality sleep during our two night stay. Free bottles of water and a nice mini fridge were nice extras. In room Wi-Fi was 15.25 CAD a day but free in the lobby area. There are plenty of comfortable seating spaces around the lobby.
We enjoyed the heated sea water 15 meter lap swimming pool a lot during our stay and there’s a small garden right outside of the indoor pool with plenty of tables and chairs on the 10th floor that was very impressive.
This Intercontinental Hotel is in a good location right next to Montreal Convention Center and about 5 to 7 minute walk from Montreal Central train station. We walked to many attractions effortlessly such as Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, Chinatown, Old town and Vieux-Port de Montréal and had a great time touring this wonderful city.
Overall we are fond of this hotel and would like to recommend it as a nice base touring beautiful Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HouAndLee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at the Intercontinental a day later than planned, due to problems with our first flight in Australia on our way to Sydney to fly to Montreal. We arrived after midnight, five flights, 2 days & luggage lost twice..............what a start to our much planned 10th wedding anniversary & retirement celebration trip.
Montreal was to be the start of a 7 week celebratory trip of a lifetime, giving us a chance to recover from over 30 hours of flight & airport time (this had now turned into 48 hours), before boarding a much anticipated cruise.
Firstly I had arranged a town car pickup from the airport with the Concierge in the months leading up to our arrival, and this was a very welcome way to start our stay.
The reception staff on duty when we arrived were very welcoming and we felt right at home.
We were directed to our room on the 26th floor, I had booked an Executive Suite for our stay. But what we found on opening the big double doors to 2600 was a beautifully appointed suite fit for a King & Queen.
This was more an apartment than a hotel suite, with a Butler's pantry, dining room to seat 8, powder room, beautifully decorated sitting room with wonderful views of the city, Mont Royal & the port, dual bathrooms connected by a shower, with a large jetted bath that would easily accommodate 4 and a bedroom with chaise lounge and view to Mont Royal.
The king size bed was so very comfortable, we spent a lot of time in it, recovering from the long flights and delays.
The staff were always attentive and respectful. Reception was always helpful and accommodating, as was room service, which we used on three occasions.
We were a little disappointed with the Club Continental breakfast and therefore only used it once, the food was cold and unappetizing, the selection very limited.
Room service was prompt, but again the food did leave a lot to be desired, at times overcooked or cold.
Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely, the upgrade was unexpected and greatly appreciated. The front reception staff, housemaids, room service waiters, concierge could not be faulted, they made our stay very enjoyable and we appreciated their attention.
We did not eat in the restaurant, opting for room service instead, maybe if we had we would probably have enjoyed the food part of our stay.
On a final note, thank you Intercontinental. After a harrowing trip across from Australia your unsolicited upgrade made up for all the trauma of the prior 2 days.
Our appreciation knows no bounds.

Room Tip: Views of the port were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Chris D,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are happy you have appreciated your upgrade; we took good note of all your comments. We sincerely hope that the rest of your trip went as good and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the InterContinental Montreal.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We got quite a deal using Expedia. The corner room/suite was very large for the price. We were pleasantly surprised. The bed could have been of higher quality but no other complaints. VERY clean and quiet. The concierge was friendly (once you could find him.) He had some nice recommendations, although his directions left us lost on one occasion. The location is exceptional. It's in a very nice section of Old Montreal and surrounded by some very nice restaurants. It's also within walking distance of the city center, the river and horse and buggy rides (highly recommended). English is spoken, but expect to be greeted in French as it is the preferred language.

Room Tip: use expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darkchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear darkshick,
It was a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for this 4 star review. We are please you have enjoyed our spacious room on the location of our hotel. Hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I were in Montreal for a week. We had stayed in another hotel for 3 nights in the city part of town but decided to spend 3 nights in Old Montreal. The hotel reception was up an escalator on the first floor which was awkward with two suitcases each. Our check in went smoothly with Julie but no concession was made for my IHG gold elite card. The hotel lobby was not very bright but appeared clean. Our room cards were used to operate the elevators.

On first impressions our room appeared a little dark but had a large floor to ceiling window on the 23rd floor with a fantastic view of the river and islands.

The safe was adequate for two 15” laptops and camera. Unfortunately, the door on the furniture unit was loose which we reported on checking out. In the same unit was a coffee machine with capsules for coffee and tea. There was not a great supply. We requested more supplies at one time and these were brought to us. I am not in favour of powdered coffee creamer though. The mini bar/fridge was empty except for 2 complimentary bottles of water which were replenished daily, and was much appreciated.

The bathroom had a shower and separate bath. The toiletries were replaced when required and the towels were only replaced when placed in the bath as should be. The towels were extra large and fluffy. The hairdryer was a hand held one and quite powerful. It was kept in the bathroom in a little bag. There was plenty of room for our toilet things. The bed was comfortable and large.

We did not have a turndown service but the housekeeping was good and the room and bathroom were tip top clean.

The complimentary Wiifi worked well. We have also realised that the best times for Wifi in hotels in very early in the morning or when most people are out.

The air conditioning worked well as we could not open the windows on this floor for safety reasons.

We felt the location was a little far down but otherwise good for the old city. It was close to Chinatown, which was worth a visit. The metro was available without going outside. The entrance was under the hotel in a mall. It was opposite the Palais des Congres.

The staff were friendly but appeared overworked. We were never acknowledged when we passed the reception desk.

Breakfast was a buffet and there was both hot and cold food. There was plenty of fruit to chose from. On the Monday the chef was in attendance so my husband had freshly fried eggs. There was enough food to satisfy most tastes. Coffee, tea and orange juice were brought to the table by servers.

It was unfortunate that there were not more staff in the breakfast room. They were run off their feet and could not keep up with the amount of guests they had to serve and tables to clear. They were always smiling and friendly in spite of the work they had to do. We had breakfast included in our rate and were given breakfast vouchers. Some guests left theirs lying on the tables as they were not collected.

We had dinner one evening in the Osco! restaurant. The menu was a little confusing as one portion was very small and if you ordered two for one person it was too much. You were paying over the odds. We were not impressed by this. It was supposed to be pre-theatre meals. We would rather have had a full dinner menu.

Check out was not a problem and there was no queuing, and the concierge picked up our bags and took them to a taxi downstairs, we had requested. It is advisable if you have luggage to book a taxi to the airport. The cost to us was $40 and it was quick and efficient compared to the airport shuttle. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floors - away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Wilma S
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. Also, thank you for the wonderful comments and comments were we can improve ourselves. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 165 in Montreal
1,839 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,483 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,427 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,284 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#44 of 165 in Montreal
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $141 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing