We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Gem in the Heart of City close to everything!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet Gem in the Heart of City close to everything!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wow! this hotel beat my expectations when I arrived. The rooms are very quiet, clean, and have all the amenities. The location is excellent and close to everything in the downtown area. The staff were helpful but not overly friendly. I got a great night sleep in the comfortable bed with 4 FULL size KING pillows. I have stayed at some other places where they only give you 2 half-size pillows.

I have not tried the room service or on-site restaurant yet but plan to on my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwood_studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Redwood_studio,
What a pleasure it is to hear about your most recent stay in our hotel. We are delighted to know that our comfortable guestrooms, great location and helpful staff made your stay in our hotel memorable.
We certainly look forward to having you back.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    780
    239
    93
    51
See reviews for
333
688
102
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had an excellent reception by the people at front desk, both friday night and saturday morning, quite ready to dedicate time to explain to us about itineraries to visit around or get a free late check-out by filling the Priority Club Rewards subscription card.
Waiters at the Osco restaurant were quite friendly both at night and for breakfast.
However, wifi is not free; restaurant is relatively expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental in March 2013 and thought it was great. It was very clean and the room was very nice and spacious. The parking and breakfast buffet are quite expensive though. It was about 23$ Canadian Dollars to park for a day, and the breakfast buffet was about 40-50$ for 2 people. It is within walking distance of the Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmos2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Cosmos2015,
We thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location and that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed in several Intercontinental hotels; Boston, Chicago, San Fran, Atlanta and Dallas. This one is billed as a 4 1/2 star and does not live up to it's peers. The lobby and hospitality areas were well appointed, however, the guest room was cramped and worn; furniture was scuffed and dented, wallcovering was peeling and the desk chair (more like a dining chair) was too low and lacked any support. Important to note: they do charge for internet, and it is very slow - less than 1 Meg download - odd but true! I did use the fitness room - really small! This property is OK for a quick getaway, but not a great option for business, especially if it is extended.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upper level, away from the adjoining properties, or your view will be direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogoxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Bogoxl,
We thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your comments with our team. We are sorry to hear that your experience in our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely appreciate the detailed feedback you provided and view it as an opportunity to improve and make your next stay better.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Intercontinental Hotel in Montreal is well located. It is convenient to go to the old town (weather permitting) and not too far from the main business area. This hotel lives up to the reputation of the brand, but I especially liked the bar and the bar staff. The bar features absinthe and they serve in the authentic way with antique water dispensers. You can eat at the bar which I like when traveling alone. The room was comfortable and quiet with a big flat-screen TV. All the members of the staff were courteous and helpful.
Also, in inclement weather, the hotel affords direct access to Underground Montreal, which connects to other hotels, office buildings, Metro stations, the Rail station, many restaurants and the Bell Centre (hockey), Using the underground system it is easier to go up the hill to Rene Levesque Blvd using escalators, keeping you warm, dry and unfatigued. The only drawback tot he Underground is that the route is not a straight line and it may take some time or a couple of trips to find your destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear GinJose,
We thank you very much for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you made the most of our great location, in the heart of the city, close to subway stations, as well as many restaurants and attractions. Also, what a pleasure it is to hear about your experience in our absinthe bar. We will be happy to share your great feedback with our staff. Finally, we appreciate your remarks regarding our comfortable and spacious guestrooms.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was clean, well appointed and the majority of the staff was friendly and helpful. I booked this hotel due to the pool and Gym - the pool a lap pool as you can surmise from the picture, and the gym is a little small. It was the little things that nagged at me for this locale - i.e. charging extra for daily internet access, charging for water in the gym, and the cold shoulder we got at the breakfast buffet when showing up 10 mins late on Sunday. The location was decent but I think next time we travel to Montreal we will give another hotel a shot, as the Intercontinental didn't overwhelm me.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are seemingly more insulated from hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToooTallTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Volleyjock,
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be well appointed and that you enjoyed the warm and friendly service you received from our staff. Rest assured that your recommendations regarding the beverages in the gym and the internet access are being seriously considered by our team for future improvements. We appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologize if we did not achieve our goal, which is to make your stay with us memorable.
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the InterContinental Montreal in June 2011 for our honeymoon and it was wonderful! The hotel is close to wonderful restaurants, the underground city, and lots of great shopping. The Concierge helped us find a cute restaurant to eat at, Chez Delmo, which was wonderful. We were able to walk everywhere, which was great for us. The hotel staff was very helpful, the room was beautiful (we even had a view of the park below) and everything was perfect! The lobby even smelled really good! Thank you to everyone at InterContinental Montreal - you made our first visit to Montreal amazing, and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raescobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Raescobe,
We thank you for sharing this great honeymoon experience with our team. We are delighted to hear that you chose our hotel for this important milestone and we are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. We thank you for your warm comments regarding our concierge team and our helpful staff. Moreover, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our great location, in the heart of the city, as well as our spacious rooms offering stunning views of the city. We certainly hope to welcoming you back again on your anniversary.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 164 in Montreal
1,769 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
1,457 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 164 in Montreal
1,213 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#38 of 164 in Montreal
524 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing