We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here over New Year's, and we were disappointed in many aspects of the hotel. We had reserved a room with a queen bed, and when we arrived we were told there were only rooms with two doubles available; if we wanted a single queen we would have to upgrade... fine. When we arrived in our corner suite we found it well appointed with a nice view, but it had not been cleaned well- the glass surface of the desk, for example, was dirty. There had obviously been a spill that hadn't been cleaned up. We tried to use the pool on two different occasions, and both times found it closed. We did not have bath robes in the room, and had to call twice to have some brought up. We did not receive a newspaper to our door on either morning. To top it off, after returning home we discovered that we had been double charged for the room, and when I called to have the charges reversed the employee was not apologetic and rude.
The hotel is nicely decorated, and the location is excellent for accessing lots of great restaurants, sights and night-life, but our experience was that this this property does not live up to its star rating. We would definitely choose one of the many other hotels in the area next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear TropicalMeg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team.
Although, we prefer to hear that our guest’s stays went smoothly and that our team surpassed
their expectations, we acknowledge your feedback with a sincere desire to
progress and improve the level of service we offer. Please accept our sincere apologies for
the inconveniences you experienced and you may rest assured that your comments are being
reviewed by our Room division manager.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    764
    234
    93
    49
See reviews for
323
674
99
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental over new year at the end of a trip including Toronto and Lake Louise. It was our first stay in Montreal and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Hotel staff were charming and very helpful. The corner suite we were allocated had a view over the snow covered roofs to the river and was excellent. Thank you we would certainly recommend the Intercontinental and stay here if and when we head to Montreal again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
DearSkinsid,
We are delighted to read your kind review of our hotel. We are absolutely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the charming and warm attitude of our team. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stunning views of the city offered from our corner rooms.
We sincerely hope that we’ll have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was my first trip to Montreal and I was pleasantly surprised with my hotel choice. Intercontinental hotels always live up to its reputation. The check-in staff was efficient yet friendly. I was very happy that they had given me a quiet room with a river view for my 2 nights stay. The room is cosy, comfortable and nicely furnished. It exudes a relaxed truly 4-star ambience.

It is within walking distance to old Montreal town, Notre-Dame Basilica, restaurants & cafes. The hotel is also linked to shopping district downtown (St. Catherine) via underground walkway. However, take heed that you may get lost as it winds through the many buildings along the way. Unless it is raining or snowing, you could be better navigating on street level.

We were also very impressed by the concierge service. He is very friendly and does not hesitate to recommend good restaurants to us. It is a lovely hotel and we would love to stay here again for our next visit.

Room Tip: A room with water view will be a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asher07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Asher07,
We thank you for your five-star review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and value your opinions. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location, in the heart of the city and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. It is true that the underground city can be a little confusing, but we can certainly provide you with a map the next time you visit. Also, we are pleased to hear that the check-in went smoothly and that you enjoyed the comfort and the relaxing ambiance of your guestroom. Finally, thank you for your kind words about our concierge service, they will be shared and much appreciated by our team.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you are visiting our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and loved the hotel and decor! Our room was very comfortable.....the view was nothing great however we not in the room long anyhow! The staff were very accommodating .....we were looking to get a cocktailand the lounge was closed however they allowed us in for a drink which ended up being a wise choice as more of our group joined us...we were staying there for a work function so we ate in one of the banquet rooms and the food was tasty and presented well. The staff working the cocktail hour could have been more engaging but overall the staff were accommodating. It was situated I great location our only regret was we didn't get to stay longer. It is now definitely one of my new favourite hotels!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetorunallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Lovetorunallthetime,
We thank you for taking the time to review our property, following your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your warm comments about our comfortable rooms, lovely hotel décor, tasty food and great location. Also, your positive comments regarding the friendliness of our staff members will certainly be shared.
We look forward to having you back shortly.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perfect location to explore downtown for business or pleasure. Within 10-15 minute drive of some great restaurants, business centres and the casino. Then, if you enjoy walking, 15-20 minutes takes you right into the old town. Across the street from "Palais des congrès de Montréal" (you can walk there via underground trail).
An older style hotel, has its charm. Very clean room, comfortable bed, functional bathroom with bathtub and separate shower. Parking a bit of an issue: you either self park for $23 which involves a 10 minute walk to the hotel, or have to drop $32 for valet, but it may take them up to 20 min to get your car when you need it.
Check in was pleasant and very efficient, as was the check out.
Bar is nice, although a bit tight and closes relatively early for Montreal: if you and your companions feel like a glass of wine for a catnap around midnight, you need to go to "W" hotel, a block away. Not too bad in the summer, annoying when it's -23C...
Need to work on the restaurant (Osco), though. Breakfast buffet is expensive, with very, very limited choices. Happened to have dinner there, food resembled a "fast food" place rather then an "upscale" hotel. You will be way better off going to the "XO" restaurant, literally 1 minute walk from the reception, where business meeting rooms are, or try the Westin next door.
Note: mini bar is empty. Apparently a "new policy". Bar closes early. No store on premises. So to get a beer, water or a coke after 11 pm or so, you have to call room service, or go outside. A bit strange for Intercontinental class of hotels.
In closing: really good place to stay in Montreal, as long as you eat and entertain elsewhere and "bring your own drinks" in case you get thirsty past 11 pm...

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Try for 20th or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel's location is very good. Rooms are nice and updated. New coffee maker and I love the idea that there's an Ipod/Iphone dock on the bedside table. Front desk staff are friendly and Concierge are quick and helpful. We tried the self park underground on our first night. $24 for 24 hours but with no in and out privilege. From underground, it's very challenging to find your way to the hotel lobby. It's like walking to a maze while carrying luggage with you. We used the valet parking for the rest of our stay for $32 plus tax for 24 hours. Much more convenient and quick. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mitch_Bal,
We are absolutely delighted to hear about your experience in our hotel and we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team. We are glad to know that our team members were friendly and helpful and that they were able to assist you in an efficient manner. Also, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the iPod dock and the Keurig coffee maker, we also feel like they are nice added value for our customers. Finally, we are sorry to hear that you found the indoor parking confusing, but we are delighted to are that your experience with our valet parking was positive.
We look forward to having you back.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was staying in the hotel 5 days. Room was vey clean, cozy and view was beautiful! Just give you a tip: ask on front desk to give you a room on 20th and up floor! Restaurant is ok, but just one. Not many choices to go in the hotel. Service is not that good how I would expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing