We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Valley Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool and Clean”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location just a five block walk from the best Brasserie in Montreal, Holder, on McGill. The loby decor is sensational. The rooms are clean spacious, linens high quality. Even the restaurant in the hotel is very good and not to expensive

Room Tip: I always call in advance to ensure that the room has a king as they have rooms with two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goawayglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Goawayglen,
Thank you very much for your 5-star review of our property. What a great pleasure it is to read about your recent visit at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you found our property perfectly located and our rooms clean and spacious. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed a meal in our restaurant and that you appreciated the food and the great value of the menu created by our Executive Chef.
We look forward to having you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    769
    236
    93
    51
See reviews for
328
675
100
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel.
Very centrally located 5 minutes walk to the old town and about 10 minutes walk to the bus stop to the airport.
Rooms were big, clean and modern.
The only thing I did not like is that the lobby is on the first floor and you need to get through some escalators, which is not very convenient when carrying luggage.
Staff were always nice and helpful.
I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBZVLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear IBZVLG,
We are delighted to hear about your recent stay with us and thank you for sharing your comments with our team. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our great location, at the gateway of downtown and Old Montreal. Moreover, we are pleased to know that you found our staff to be nice and helpful and our modern and spacious guestrooms to be comfortable.
We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Steps to old Montreal, it is a good location for that. Metro is close by, underneath the attached mall. Walkable to popular establishments like Schwartz (25mins), shops of Saint Catherine (10min). So location is good.

The hotel was renovated 2 years ago, so it looks and feels better. Room service was quick. Free to use gym and pool. The corner room offers good views and quite spacious. Pillow was too soft, had a hard time sleeping.

My only beef is the public parking below the hotel. It's $3.50 for 20mins. We parked for 1.5 hours and it somehow came to $18. If you are driving, use the valet service, $32 + tax. This allows you to go in and out freely for 1 price. And you don't have to drive down to P9 to park!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Gifu,
We thank you very much for sharing your comments following your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location, in the heart of the city, close to many restaurants and attractions. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our comfortable and spacious Intimate Corner Room, as well as the stunning views of the city from this room. As for the parking, it is true that the valet parking rate provides in and out privileges, which can be very useful if you plan on using your car while staying with us.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great hotel in general, very clean and well maintained. For me the location is PERFECT! Yes I understand why people say it’s a “Business district” BUT Old Montreal is literally right there 500 meters away and within walking distance of most other you want to go to. Also very close to two Metro if you want. For me it was made 5 stars by Jamil? Working on the Concierge on New Year’s Eve, couldn’t have been any nicer and helpful. While he was stuck with the late night shift he couldn’t have seemed any happier to help out. Made one phone call and got us into places that were fully booked no issues at all! Stay here for that reason alone. Thanks to him in particular and Bernard (the Manager) for making this a very special weekend, your kindness was much appreciated.

Room Tip: I always ask for high floor with view of river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Trimada,
What a pleasure it is to read about your recent visit. We are absolutely thrilled to know that you made the most of our great location, just a few steps from Old Montréal and close to the downtown area. Also, we thank you for your kind comments in regards to our Concierge Jamil. It is always gratifying to receive a review pointing out a good performance. You may rest assured that your gracious comments were transmitted to Jamil, who most certainly appreciated them.
We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental last year for New Years and to kick off our 30th year wedding anniversary. We had such a great time, as the Concierge and service attendants were so helpful to ensure our stay was comfortable we came back for the 2012/2013 New Years holiday. When we entered our room, which looked out to the River, there was a tray of chocolate goodies welcoming us and wishing us a happy 31st wedding anniversary. Our room was plenty big and a big bathroom with a separate tub and shower.The hotel is within walking distance to all the great restaurants in the old port, and the metro, and of course the Place Jacques-Cartier where Montreal's New Years Eve party takes place. Great fireworks and music, sorry New York this is the place. The hotel doesn't stock the sensor refrigerator so you can use it for all the great food items you accumulate. Concierge was very helpful with all our questions regarding local attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birchwoodshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Birchwoodshed,
What a pleasure to have you back at our hotel! We are absolutely delighted to hear about your most recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your positive comments about our concierge and front desk teams and rest assured that they will be passed along. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your spacious room with a 4-fixture bathroom offering stunning views of the city and the little treat we had left for you. Finally, it is absolutely true that Montréal is a great New-Year’s Eve destination and we are happy you could make the most of your visit!
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The InterContinental Montreal is a wonderful hotel.

The location is perfect. It is connected to the indoor mall, reducing the impact of Quebec's harsh winter weather. When you're ready to brave the cold, the fantastic restaraunts of St Paul and old Montreal are an easy < 5 minute walk away.

The hotel itself has very nice rooms with a modern feel, decent size and near sauna level bathrooms. There are mutliple restaraunts attached to the hotel of various price points and delicacy but all are good. There is also good exercise space, a pool and a club lounge perfect for business travelers.

The only negative (and the reason I could not give 5 stars) is that the in-room internet connection has been bad on 3 out of my 5 stays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Zerolex,
We thank you for your 4-star review of our property. We are glad to know that you have had a great stay with us and we are delighted to read your warm comments regarding our wonderful location, our nice guestrooms, the delicious cuisine offered in our restaurants and our Club Lounge, perfect for business travelers. We also appreciate your comments regarding the Internet connection, as we are currently working to improve the system.
We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are Platinum members with IHG (I should more accurately say WERE). The InterContinental Montreal was in a good location, but that is the ONLY positive. The management is rude and uncaring. Pillows were awful, everyday we would ask for more and they would bring them 1 at a time and then take them away the next day with the cleaning. The concierge seemed "put out" that we asked her about a particular Christmas symphony that we wanted to attend - it was a combination program with a narrative with it and we specifically asked her if it was bilingual and in English. She emphatically stated "yes" and more-or-less rolled her eyes at us. When we arrived at the program it was only in French and unfortunately the narrative was more than half the program. In any case, I spoke with the available manager, Fadi Hobeiche, when we returned to the hotel and he was rude and indifferent. He even called me a liar when I told him the situation (why would I lie about that?) Even though the tickets for the event cost me about $110 CAN, he would not even accept any responsibility of his concierge's direction or compensate me. It was all-in-all a terrible experience with them. Stay at the Westin next door instead -- has the same good location. My experience at this hotel has caused me to rethink my loyalty at IHG and I am going back to Starwood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LATESHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Latesho,
We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are really sorry to hear what happened during your recent stay and we cannot apologize enough for the experience you had while staying with us. We take full responsibility for the information you received from our concierge and we sincerely apologize for the fact that you were misinformed. We would like to offer a reimbursement for the cost of the tickets. Please contact us and ask to be directed to our Electronic Marketing Manager who will take care of that for you.
We certainly hope to regain your trust and confidence.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
1,742 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
1,438 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,500 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,198 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing