We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Your room may have 8 legged quests as ours did” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #33 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Your room may have 8 legged quests as ours did”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a group of 5 guys in two rooms.

Check in was quick. Was confused why our rooms were not joined as was confirmed when I booked (technically at that time they did not guarantee it, I had to call back closer to the date to confirm availability. Was told it was done over the phone. However when I arrived, the clerk explained that 2 rooms with double beds don’t join together in the hotel. We were given rooms side by side, just no internal door. The cleaning/room service staff was proficient with requests.

The challenges

- Wi-Fi not included seeing as though a lot of hotels in Montreal have complimentary Wi-Fi.
- When I initially booked the hotel, it took several days for website and hotel to confirm my booking. Even with website confirmation codes, they were unable to pull it up. Advised it may take 24 hours but was like pulling teeth (several transfers etc.) to get the confirmation.
- SPIDERS. The challenge was the day of our check out when I see one on our chair (never was used). I pull the chair back and see under the desk towards the back was a little nest of spider in the back corner. Was extremely disappointed, we simply walked out of the hotel without seeing or saying anything to anyone.
I normally never write reviews, but this was something I felt needed to be known. Sad to see this is the standard for a '4.5 star hotel'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav3113r_T0R0NT0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Trav3113r_T0R0NT0,

We thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your initial expectations. We appreciate your warm comments regarding the efficiency of our front desk team. On another note, I confirm that we do not have any communicating room with two double beds, only adjacent rooms, similar to the ones you were offered upon arrival. I sincerely apologize for the fact that you were misinformed when you called the hotel and you may rest assured that this feedback enabled us to review procedures in the effort to avoid a reoccurrence. From what I can read, I believe that your reservation was taken following an online promotion we made, and not by the regular booking process, which would explain the necessity for an additional operation (conducted by one of our in-house employees) which also explains the delay in confirming the reservation. Finally, we are very grateful for your comments, but we would have appreciated to have to solve your issue in the guestroom, by having the chance to be informed while you were in-house with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    685
    205
    86
    42
See reviews for
291
582
90
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second visit in three months. Hotel location is perfect for exploring Montreal on foot. The staff are helpful and friendly. The TV remote was not working and it was replaced quickly. Just one bathrobe in the room and we requested a second one. As Ruby Ambassador club members we were surprised to pay for local calls and Internet. Free wifi everywhere else.! We noticed the Club Intercontinental but at no time were we told about it, had to ask. Room has nice features and be sure to ask for a room with a city view. Night lights and cityscape in the early a.m. are must-sees!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear CanadiantravellerTO,

We thank you for your 4-star review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you have stayed with us 2 times in the past three months. We appreciate your warm feedback regarding our great location, in the heart of the city, as well as the helpfulness and the friendliness of our team members. Rest assured that your comments regarding the pricing of local calls and wireless internet, as well as your suggestion in regards to promoting our Club Lounge, your comments will be considered for future improvements. Finally, you are also absolutely right about the view of the city scape from our guestrooms, it is beautiful.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a pre cruise night. We were well received and found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a little disorganised by the staff however we enjoyed our one night stay in a comfortable , spacious room.
Again there was a lack of organisation when our cases were to be uplifted and after being told to be ready for a 0800 collection they were still in our room at 1100!! Not inspiring

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear BigAlScotland,

We thank you for sharing your comments following the night you spent at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable guestrooms. However, we are at loss to understand how we would have missed on the service in regards with the luggage pick-up, as our bellmen are normally well prepared to service groups departing the hotel. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and we would appreciate learning more about this issue, in order to ensure a seamless service for our future guest. Also, your feedback regarding the staff friendliness and helpfulness will certainly be shared.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here in early Spring. Very central location, easy to walk to the old town area w lots of shops and pubs. Also easy to get to the more central downtown location.
Hotel has nice facilities. It is a mix of owned condos / appts in the top of the building w hotel on the lower floors. Gives it a nice feeling for the local culture also.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ktmoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Ktmoxie,

We thank you for sharing your comments following you last stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, at the gateway of downtown and Old Montreal, as well as our proximity with the restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Just so you know, our hotel does not include condos or apartments, but 357 guestrooms, located from the 10th to the 26th floor. We are glad to know that you felt comfortable and at home while visiting us.

We certainly look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PICKERING
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice room, comfortable room with a very comfortable bed in a good location, a reasonable walk to downtown and the old city, great if you are attending a conference next door.
Parking is in a underground garage, which is short walk away within the complex, a little akward if you have lots of bags to carry, its not cheap but what you would expect downtown.
Bathrooms were very large, clean and nice.
no in room fridge, which was inconvenient if you are there for a longer stay...the mini bar is automated so i was affraid to touch anything and be charged for it, internet is extra as well.
It was a very good find for hotwire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOPHER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently re-located to Montreal for business reasons and stayed at the InterContinental for 7 months. The management and staff went out of their way to make me feel at home, and they succeeded.
Particular kudos go out to Rosa and Julie at the front desk, and Gerry and Sandy at the concierge desk, Danny the bellman, not to forget Stéphane in the Spa/workout area.
The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, nestled between Old Montreal and the downtown area.
I was truly sad to leave my home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear LouisD123,

We thank you very much for your kind review of our property. It was a pleasure to have you stay here for the past months. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our great location, as well as the service you received from our team, who made you feel right at home.

We are looking forward to having you back in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and it was a nice experience. Some hotel names bring a level of expectation and the Intercontinental is one where we would expect good quality - and were not disappointed. Rooms and atmosphere were nice, of course it was very dry which it seems central heating/airconditioning just doesn't solve. Breakfast was very nicely done. Unfortunately had no time to make use of the sport facilities, bu what I saw they looked very good as well.

The only negative thing I experienced was that due to my business being finished early, I wanted to check out a day early as well. I was then told I would have to pay a fee of CAD 100 - but if I left the room (it was around 12.30) in half an hour, it would only be CAD 50. Even if I did sign something when checking in which says this (in small print which no one really reads after a long trip and is just looking to go to bed), I believe it could have been handled with a little more flexibility - especially for a good Priority Club member.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Alan D,

We thank you for sending your feedback following your stay with us. We are glad to hear that our hotel and team met with your high expectations. We are delighted to know that you appreciated our comfortable guestrooms and our delicious breakfast. As for your comments regarding the early departure, the procedure will be seriously considered by our management for future improvements.

We look forward to having you back shortly.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#27 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#21 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing