We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Hotel Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intercontinental Hotel Montreal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely quiet room. Dining facilities were pricey and not quiet for leisurely dining due to small children being allowed to run through bar and restaurant. We dined elsewhere. Good location. Easily accesible to transportation. Concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmharrislv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    764
    235
    93
    50
See reviews for
323
675
99
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was shocked that I first had to drive down ten stories in the garage to get to parking for the hotel. The Parking costs over $20 a night. Absolutely ridiculous and you can't drive in and out.
The hotel itself was nice, we didn't do much other than sleep. When we arrived our TV didn't work but someone came to fix it. Also, there weren't any towels in the room when we first arrived. The staff at the front desk were ok but work very slow. If there are line ups, expect to wait. Pretty good hotel for location. It's near Old Monrtreal and St. Catherine. It's a little hike to St. Denis and St. Laurent but you can make it in about 20-25. We got a good deal through hotwire but I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel. We had a terrible view to see the other rooms of the hotel so we couldn't keep our blinds open. The rooms were fairly comfortable and the bed was really nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOFlyHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear TOFlyHigh,

We thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you appreciate the spacious and comfortable guestrooms. Also, we thank you for pointing out that we offer a great location, at the gateway of the Old Montreal and the downtown core. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed it. On the hand, we apologize for the issues you had with our television, as well as the towels missing upon your arrival. We are glad to know that those issues could be solved by our team. Finally, we just wanted to mention that although the self-parking does not include in and out privileges, when you leave your car with our valet, you can take your car whenever you want over a 24 hour period without any additional charge.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although I am a person who rarely uses Hotwire, I decided to for our last minute visit to Montreal. The InterContinental was listed as a 4.5 star hotel and when I went to their site afterward, the Hotwire price we paid (+$294 total for 2 nights) was close to the price they listed on their site. We were not receiving a significant reduction in cost at all. When we arrived to check-in, things were abit off. We were treated alittle like we could not afford a proper room. When being initially presented with the room it was downplayed (which was disappointing as we had chosen a very high star property). The front desk staff seemed abit arrogant. Then it became all about the upgrade. We were informed that what we had purchased was the MOST standard of standard rooms, no view, not much space, one bed only, not a corner room... Everything was extra, there would only be one bed in the room or we would pay extra to have 2 - $20-40 per night depending on whether the 2nd bed was an actual bed or a pull-out couch, the wifi was extra... or we could pay an added $80 per room per night and go to the club. With our upgrades our final price was much more than we expected to pay, we felt duped yet still felt like we were stealing something. Loved the city but not the hotel. Suggestion: Welcome ALL clients with confidence and open arms, treat them beautifully, take pride in your property, let them know they made the right decision and tell them that their lovely 4.5 star room awaits their arrival.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear CanadaMelanie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable insight with our team. We are truly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your last stay at our property. It is true that our partner’s website allows you to benefit from last minute deals when the hotel has availability, however, it does not present all the different room types and offers we feature on our own website. We are sorry that you felt that all services and upgrades you required we’re not included in original rate. We sincerely appreciate the fact that you chose our hotel and we apologize if our team did not make you feel this way.

We certainly hope that we’ll have another chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I recently spent four lovely days at this Hotel and found the surroundings, ambience, food and, especially the staff throughout the hotel to be extraordinary. Our request for a room upgrade was granted. The concierge was courteous and helpful with tickets, directions and restaurants. Above all, our Bellman, Frances, treated us like members of his family when we had car trouble and could not leave the hotel garage when planned. He remained with us, handled telephone calls, met the repair people and kept us apprised every step of the way. His colleague, Danny, was also helpful and resourceful in providing us the assistance we needed as was Sylvain who helped in the garage. This unexpected and stressful turn of events for us was made much smoother by Frances who was not only efficient, but reassuring and filled with and good humor. He facilitated a happy outcome for us. We offer our thanks and cudos to all of the InterContinental staff in Montreal and look forward to a return visit. Judith A.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the River side - beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAnderson310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear JAnderson310,

We thank you for your 5-star review of our property. We are really grateful that you took the time to share your comments following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the delicious cuisine offered in our restaurants and the service offered by our team. We are sorry to hear about your car trouble, but happy to know that our employees we able to provide you with the assistance you needed to make this stressful turn of event much smoother.

We are looking forward to having you back next time you are in Montréal.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location - close to China Town & the Old City
Lots to do close to the hotel
Check in was efficient and got a welcome gift (4 mini cupcakes), access to the VIP louge for afternoon reception and breakfast.
Got a room that is attached to another one and the first few nights found a bit of nosiy from the adjacant room. View from the room was great with a good view of the Old City. Room service kept the room clean. The pool and gym area is well kept though no access the pool after 7pm but the gym is opened with room key access.

Breakfast included is great and with good choices, choices of speciality coffee. Especially enjoy the free wine/beer at the daily manager reception time.

Great value for your money with great service

Room Tip: get the higher floor rooms and access to the VIP louge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvick5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Marvick5520,

We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay in our Club rooms, as well as the food and drinks offered in the Lounge. We are sorry to hear that you were incommoded by the noisy adjacent room, but we truly appreciate your warm comments regarding the hotel’s great location and service.

We certainly hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a luxury cruise, and I have to say it was a good place to stay - there's a come down after a cruise, as reality greets you at the dock, so the Intercontinetial softened the blow.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, room service good, with a generous meal and the room was very well decorated and fashionable. And most importantly it was comfortable and quiet.
Well located for getting around Montreal and was very well priced. We'll come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mark Damien C,

We really appreciate your kind review of our property and we are delighted that we could make the end of your trip on a luxury cruise a little easier. Your positive feedback regarding the friendly and helpful staff will certainly be shared with the members of our team. Also, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable and elegant guestrooms, as well as our Chef delicious cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Admittedly, we booked this hotel "on the cheap" through hotwire so I almost feel I don't qualify to give it an average rate...
Anyway, here's a quick summary. It certainly is an unusual set-up - self-park at $23 for 24h 9 floors below hotel with quite an expedition (2 elevators) back to lobby. It may have been worth putting down another 10$ to have valet parking and not make the trip.
There was a wait at the desk, no help with luggage, had to stand in line quite a while to find out about parking and then come back to check in. Check in was friendly but not very matter-of-fact.
Room was spacious, comfy and pleasantly decorated. Somehow we were spared the $20 for an "upgrade" to accommodate a family of four in 2 beds instead of just one (that's what I was told after booking).
Very disappointed with the pool having closed already at 6pm on a Sunday (but thanks for letting us know where it's at anyway - it wasn't pointed out at check in that it's closed already and we all got ready and marched on over...).
Comfy & cosy bar with prices that seem fair for a 5star hotel. Not a word of small-talk or the like though from staff. And it wasn't that busy.
Internet at 10$ for 2 hrs seemed pretty crazy though, nowadays this should be included especially at a hotel with this rating.
Breakfast seems outrageous if you're travelling with a family of four $25 per adult and kids at 50% off. $75 for breakfast? We instead had a small bite at the coffee shop on street level (that the staff never pointed out.
I had to practically beg for a late c/o (I know this is depending on availability etc) until 2pm even though my kids weren't well and desperately needed a nap while waiting for my husband to return from business.
Allover - a nice place - but certainly not catering to families. Looking good but the staff is not living up to my expectations of service in a 5star hotel. There was no "above&beyond" or even a single word too much here. Just average. So when looking at value for money I think we'll be back at Holiday Inns again and not InterContinentals.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family w/ young children, less seems to be more. Holiday Inn over InterContinen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlinchick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Berlinchick72,

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent stay with us. We appreciate reading that you found our rooms spacious and pleasantly decorated. However, we do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the service. Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests had a less than perfect stay, we feel that comments such as yours allow us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing