We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but uninspired service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but uninspired service.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Admittedly, we booked this hotel "on the cheap" through hotwire so I almost feel I don't qualify to give it an average rate...
Anyway, here's a quick summary. It certainly is an unusual set-up - self-park at $23 for 24h 9 floors below hotel with quite an expedition (2 elevators) back to lobby. It may have been worth putting down another 10$ to have valet parking and not make the trip.
There was a wait at the desk, no help with luggage, had to stand in line quite a while to find out about parking and then come back to check in. Check in was friendly but not very matter-of-fact.
Room was spacious, comfy and pleasantly decorated. Somehow we were spared the $20 for an "upgrade" to accommodate a family of four in 2 beds instead of just one (that's what I was told after booking).
Very disappointed with the pool having closed already at 6pm on a Sunday (but thanks for letting us know where it's at anyway - it wasn't pointed out at check in that it's closed already and we all got ready and marched on over...).
Comfy & cosy bar with prices that seem fair for a 5star hotel. Not a word of small-talk or the like though from staff. And it wasn't that busy.
Internet at 10$ for 2 hrs seemed pretty crazy though, nowadays this should be included especially at a hotel with this rating.
Breakfast seems outrageous if you're travelling with a family of four $25 per adult and kids at 50% off. $75 for breakfast? We instead had a small bite at the coffee shop on street level (that the staff never pointed out.
I had to practically beg for a late c/o (I know this is depending on availability etc) until 2pm even though my kids weren't well and desperately needed a nap while waiting for my husband to return from business.
Allover - a nice place - but certainly not catering to families. Looking good but the staff is not living up to my expectations of service in a 5star hotel. There was no "above&beyond" or even a single word too much here. Just average. So when looking at value for money I think we'll be back at Holiday Inns again and not InterContinentals.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family w/ young children, less seems to be more. Holiday Inn over InterContinen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlinchick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Berlinchick72,

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent stay with us. We appreciate reading that you found our rooms spacious and pleasantly decorated. However, we do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the service. Although we never enjoy hearing that one of our guests had a less than perfect stay, we feel that comments such as yours allow us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    780
    239
    93
    51
See reviews for
333
689
102
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were in New England and decided to run up to Montreal for a night. We chose the IC because of our relationship with Holiday Inn properties. This was a great hotel with amenity. Very comfortable bed. Ask for a room overlooking the old city. There was a movie being filmed in view of our room. Excellent bellmen, valets and front desk. If you have never tried Absenthe, check out the bar. It is pretty good and the barmen make it fun to try.

Room Tip: Ask for view of old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear DLemon,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us and we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your Montreal getaway. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and comfortable guestroom, the amenities and the stunning city views. We will certainly share your comment, on their excellent service, with the bellmen, valets and front desk agents. Finally, we are thrilled to learn that you have experienced and liked the absinth ritual in our bar.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great hotel, service was excellent and the hotel was super clean. The room we had was huge and it was one of the less expensive options compared to the rest. Our view wasn't the greatest but it's standard for a city hotel with surrounding highrise buildings. Easy walk to Old Montreal and to the Bell Centre. It's not right next door but it was an easy walk. Valet parking was easy to find and they had the car ready and waiting for us when it was time to go. Excellent stay! I would stay there again, I loved the fact we were centrally located between Old Montreal and the Bell Centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedixtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Jedixtine,

We thank you for your 5-star review of our property. It is a great pleasure for us to read observations in regards to your recent experience with us and we thank you for sharing. We appreciate you pointing out the great service you received from the members of our team, the cleanliness of our hotel, as well as our wonderful location, in the heart of the city.

We look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall our stay was good. The hotel is nice and upscale. The rooms were clean and in good repair. My only complaint would be is the rooms are dark and the lighting is poor. Not very inviting imho. Location was good and the coffee shop in the bottom had good food and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBABWBMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

they were embarrassed and moved me to a larger nicer room and gave me two passes thru the breakfast buffet. I was happy with the original room and they did not have to do that, but I appreciated it. This is a very nice hotel. The staff are very attentive and helpful. The service was top notch. The room was nice and the house staff kept the room clean. The TV's are new and flat screen - nice. I don't know the usual rates for this hotel, we pricelined it, but its a very nice hotel. I worked out in the gym this morning - lots of equipment - ellipticals, treadmills, cycles, universal gym type machines, benches, dumb bells. Nice pool, spa if you want too. Restaurant is very good, bar has great atmosphere and location is just off St. Catherine where all the shops are. Great central location for visiting the sites whether you take your rental or use the local transportation (bus subway).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank discip1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us. Your 5-star review is much appreciated by our team and your observations will certainly be shared. We are delighted to hear that our staff has been helpful and attentive in solving the issue you encountered upon your arrival in the room. We apologize again for this situation. On another note, we are thrilled that you made the most of our great location and enjoyed the nearby shopping and attractions. We are also very happy to hear that you appreciated our restaurant, gym and pool while staying with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I came here on business and requested an early check-in when I booked the hotel three months ago. I had committee meetings that started early and the conference is at another hotel. I was told that the request would be noted, but not guaranteed. When I arrived, the staff member indicated that there was no notation that I needed an early check-in. She further added that it cost $25 extra and that because the person I spoke with did not mention it that perhaps I am being less than honest. She mentioned that I could leave my luggage with the concierge, but that the hotel would not be responsible for my laptop or camera. So I left everything in my car - not a big deal. I am relatively easy going with travel (see my other tripadvisor reviews), but an apology would be nice and not being accused of lying. Another bee in my bonnet was that they are charging me for the wireless connection ($10/24 hours), because I purchased the reservation through a third party travel site. Usually I would not care, but they perceive themselves as a 5 star hotel. After the inconvenience and accusations generally a hotel would waive a $30 charge in lieu of the $700 I am already paying for the room and the money I might have spent in their hotel with incidentals. Now, I would rather walk down the street than give them an extra dollar and I will never stay in an Intercontinental Hotel. If they are this cheap in general, how else are they prying money out of customers.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel if you want a view. It is in a congested neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaragoCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts and comments about your recent stay with us. We are really sorry if you were not properly greeted and welcomed by our team members. The description of the service you received certainly does not live up to our standards and we truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. As for your comments regarding the extra charge for the Internet connection, they will be seriously considered by our team, as we are always looking for new ideas to please our customers.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Access to the hotel is a little unusual with the front entrance leading to a vestibule then via an escalator to the lobby and the rear entrance to a corridor across a mall via an elevated pedestrian walkway then to the lobby and the lobby itself is not particularly well arranged or welcoming. Checking in and out was very efficient all details of our room were prepared in advance and the bill when presented was correct.

Access to the bar, restaurant and elevators is, very conveniently, directly off the lobby.

The room was very well furnished, the bed extremely comfortable, housekeeping was performed regularly and well and we had no problems to speak of in any way.

There is a fairly accommodating bar, although seating is not very comfortable, with a reasonably intimate atmosphere and quite an adequate menu for snacks and light meals. We did not eat in the restaurant, however, it appeared to be quite pleasant in both decor and atmosphere. There is a cafe/coffee shop adjacent to the front entrance which is excellent for light breakfast which we chose instead of the extensive hotel buffet which appeared to be very good if that is what you prefer for breakfast.

The hotel is well located a few blocks from the main train station and within a reasonable walking distance to all the main attractions of the old town and the new city

This is a pleasant hotel, well located and we would quite happily stay in it again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for your comments as well as your kind review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience at our front desk and that you found your room to be comfortable and well furnished. We appreciate you pointing out the accessibility of our bar and restaurant, as well as the great atmosphere and intimacy they offer. Moreover, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our great location, at the gateway of downtown and Old Montreal.

We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 164 in Montreal
1,771 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
1,457 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,216 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#43 of 164 in Montreal
524 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing