We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good hotel at a great location”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

i stayed here for a week for holidays and had a pleasant stay. The service was friendly and everything worked out perfectly for me.
The location of the hotel makes it a perfect place to stay while on a city trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalle Puh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    769
    236
    93
    51
See reviews for
328
675
100
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Montreal InterContinental has all the right touches. Once you get past the escalator ride up to the lobby, that is! It is difficult to apply any interior design or decor to an escalator! Check in was pleasant; staff are fluently bilingual and friendly. The hotel is well appointed. Our room on the 23 rd floor was spacious. However, we both found the toilet rather low. The view looking up to Mount Royal was welcoming, as we are former Montrealers. Buffet breakfast the next morning was fine, but not memorable. Use valet parking if you need to go in and out a few times in 24 hours. Hotel is an easy walk from Ste Catherine St or Old Montreal. We received good driving directions out of the city from the bellhop!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Canadian traveller,

We would like to thank you for your kind review of our property. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the escalator ride, as the birch trees, fur and white wall are representing our Canadian heritage and climate. On the other hand, your comments regarding the pleasant and helpful staff members were much appreciated by our team. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you could appreciate the stunning views of the Mount-Royal from your room, as well as the proximity the main shopping arteries, which was perhaps a reminder of the time you spent in this city!

We hope to see you again next time you come back to Montréal!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here earlier this week and the hotel was a very nice one with a great location. The Notre Dame Basilica and the rest of Old Montreal is a 5 min walk. We had a room with double beds and was very spacious. The room comes with a mini bar and also a safe. Pool was very nice and the kids thoroughly enjoyed it. Our package included the morning breakfast buffet and the buffet had a lot of choices including continental options and all of the standard hot dishes. Service is immaculate. It was our first stay at an Intercontinental and hence we were very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopalshenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay while we visited the Old Town area of Montreal. It was a few minutes walk to the Old Town and to the Basilica Notre Dame. We chose to have the breakfast included when I made the reservations. I requested a room close to the top floor which they provided and it had a great view of the dock area and other smaller buildings. We could also see the top of the Basilica from our room. All spoke English there so we had no problem with the language, which was good since I took my 78 year old father.

Room Tip: Eat at the little restaurants in the old town and experience Montreal. The walking tour was wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Montreal to attend a concert at the Bell Centre. The location is perfect for getting around Montreal - Old Montreal is out the back door, Ste Catherine Street is a few blocks the other way, and the Metro station is across the street (although we walked everywhere except to go to the Atwater Market - a must! Be sure to visit the Fromagerie Atwater while there - wow).

The hotel has a funky, ecclectic decor (note the fur and birch bark going up the escalator, and the awesome selection of lighting throughout the hotel). Our guestroom was surprisingly large, and truly did look just like those on their website, no dissapointments. No complaints at all with our stay with the exception of the charging for wireless internet ( a pet peeve of mine). We started our days with the smoked salmon bagels in the coffee shop (so good), and we ended both our nights at the absinthe bar Sarah B (something to try for the adventurous!). The bar staff were both friendly and professional, and explained the whole absinthe serving to us step by step.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It cost a bit more than we normally spend, but felt like money well spent for a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGKM_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about your Montréal experience and to see how you really made the most of it. Concert at the Bell Center, walk around Old-Montréal and the downtown core, Montreal bagels and absinthe ritual at our very own Sarah B. Bar: it certainly seems like a wonderful program and we are glad that we were a part of it! We thank you for your remarks regarding our eclectic décor, great location, as well as our friendly and professional staff. As for your comments regarding the Internet access, they will be considered by our team for future improvements.

We are looking forward to having your back soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Location, Location, Location!! This hotel is located in the heart of the city, you can walk to any any historic area of Montreal. The hotel is modern and clean. I wasn't sure about the staff before I go after reading all the comments, but it turned out to be very nice and friendly staff people. I thought the hotel would be a little too business like and not family friendly, but it turned out to be not a problem at all. The kids have lots of fun, the staff are nice to the kids, and we do see other parents with young kids walking in the lobby. We got a King size bed room on the 21st floor, the bed was very comfort. The bathroom is pretty big , and separate shower and bath is awesome!

We went there during the Canada National day weekend. And we were so lucky that we had a great view of the fireworks from our room!!! The kids were so excited and cute standing in front of the big window watching the fireworks, and it's convenient for us that they can go directly to bed right after that. :)

There's also a connected underground mall to the hotel, my kids had a lot of fun walking there everyday.

Overall, it was a great experience, I will recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yingzibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ok I admit it, I am cheap. When I got this hotel for $120 a night on Hotwire for two rooms I was happy. But you do pay extra for Breakfast at this rate (if you want their breakfast $10 a day per person) and Wifi is not included either. I just ended up forgoing the wifi and getting bagels in the mall attached to the hotel.

What you do get is super clean rooms, no maintenance issues, great staff (except for snooty manager working the night-shift). The bathrooms were very nice and the beds were super comfortable.

Location is also great, a couple block walk to the old port and China Town.

Note: If you want connecting rooms make sure you specify "connecting" not adjoining. I mistakenly asked for adjoining and they were next to each other but did not have a connecting door.

I went with the self park route since I had a cooler in the car that I needed to fill the ice up every day, but the parking is many levels down and you have to transfer elevators a couple of times before you make it back to your room. If you don't need easy access to your car I would suggest the Valet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
1,741 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
1,438 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,496 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,197 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing