We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great hostel!”
Review of HI Montreal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HI Montreal Hostel
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Such a great hostel!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It´s a great hostel with very nice people. You can meet friendly people doing some activities organized by the stuff. Breakfast is quite original because if you want you can make your own pamcakes! I loved it. The room and the bathroom are ok, but maybe my room is a little bit small and just one washroom for 10 people is not enough. Anyway, I think it´s a good place to stay and to meet new people.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour Maria!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the activities too. You're right, it's definitly a good way to discover the city and meet people!

Have a good day and merci for those good words!

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    173
    58
    17
    5
See reviews for
16
42
161
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location is good and the hostel is clean and nice, our bed-room was a bit small but the common areas were great, with friendly staff and nice atmosphere. They organize activities where you can know the city and know new people. I recommend it specially if you're looking for some fun and enjoy the city interacting with locals and foreigners.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour Ana!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And many thx for the good words, it's always appreciated! :)

Have a good day.

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hostel is very clean. I usually hate staying overnight at a place that is not my own, but this hostel was very comfortable. I stayed in a 6 bed room (3 bunks). It was not loud at all. Also, the bartender was very friendly and talkative which was nice. We had no problems with check in/out and it is near a lot! I parked my car in one of the garages near by and didn't use it the whole weekend. Overall, this is a great hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Wow!

Many thanks for that great review! :)))

So glad you liked your stay with us, hope you will come back!

Bonne journée!

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
599 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location is perfect and close to bars and shopping on Rue Saint Catherine and just around the corner from a metro.
We stayed here twice in twin private room with ensuite. Both times we slept pretty well although you do get a bit of corridor noise as doors are heavy and slam. Room 109 first time was bigger and quieter. Room 103 looked to be there smallest room and was much noisier being opposite the room hosts use.
The kitchen is huge and lots of fridge and dining space which works well.
One minor downside - don't plan to cook breakfast between 7.30 and 8.30am - for some reason you have 1-2 staff cleaning/packing around you and it gets crowded. Otherwise the staff are good.

Room Tip: Be aware that some groups, including school kids stay here and it can get very busy and noisy in com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Bonjour Dianna!

Merci for that good review! I'm glad that overall, you liked your stay.

Have a good day! :)

-Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Found the rooms to be well appointed. Sort of like a dormitory from summer camp, only with adults. Expect to meet people in the hostel bar and be prepared for anything to happen, whether it's an invitation to go clubbing or an offer to split a sugar pie. Of note the kitchen is perfect for preparing food when you don't feel like going to an expensive restaurant.

Room Tip: Bring lightweight p.j's as the rooms can be chilly. A spare blanket is free for the asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uleth07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Mille mercis for that great comment!

It's so nice to read people that liked their experience and met friendly people! Afterall, isn't why hostels exist? :)

Thanks again and hope you'll come back!

-Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this place because of the positive reviews on tripadvisor so thankyou firstly to all those who have given feedback about the hostel! I booked into a 4 bedroom female dorm room and met some great people, both in the dorm and in the hostel.
It was also a last minute booking and they easily accommodated me!
My favourite thing about the hostel are the activities they provide - went on an awesome bike your and picnic (thanks Gab!) and a bar tour that same night. They have activities pretty much every day of the week and a lot of them free.
As a solo female traveller I felt very safe and welcomed here.
Service was excellent, providing directions and recommendations and really good tips about things to do and see and how to save some $$$.
Definitely would recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyra123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Merci beaucoup!

It's so nice to read positive feedback like this! Many thx for that! Hope we'll see again and special thanks for the mention on the bike tour, it's really appreciated!

-Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Montreal was quite daunting with the amount of French spoken everywhere! But the hostel staff were extremely fun and friendly - I highly recommend the bike tour! Got a great history of the place, a fun picnic, and a scenic workout. Our tour guide Gab was fantastic and entertaining!

The hostel itself is very clean. The common area downstairs has a bar, restaurant and kitchen which is really useful. The location is super close to two metro stations which is great.

Overall a fun stay in montreal!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge H, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hey Tina!

I'm really glad you liked the bike tour! Your comment is really flattering ^_^ !

Merci beaucoup!

-Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#65 of 164 in Montreal
180 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#41 of 164 in Montreal
1,613 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#72 of 164 in Montreal
257 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,480 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 95 in Montreal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Montreal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Montreal Hostel

Property: HI Montreal Hostel
Address: 1030 Mackay, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Montreal Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HI-Montreal Youth Hostel is dedicated to making you discover the best of the city! We’re not only centrally located in downtown Montreal, close to Irish pubs, supermarkets, microbreweries, restaurants, a pool hall and even an all-you-can-eat Indian buffet, but we also organize several daily activities, such as pubcrawls, urban walks, skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your HI Montreal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing