We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, but well taken care of with fantastic staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #53 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Older hotel, but well taken care of with fantastic staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

PROS: Location, Staff, Cleanliness
CON: Accessibility (We were traveling with an infant in a stroller, had to take a detour to get to our room without negotiating plenty of stairs), Needs updating.

We stayed here in March 2010, really enjoyed our stay. Yet another A+ for Hilton on service, cleanliness, just great stuff. The room was older, I'm not sure if a renovation is on the list for this property but it could use one. Getting our stroller to the room took a fair amount of detouring around to the service elevator. Not a huge deal but was unusual in my experience. Fortunately this was pointed our right way by our bellhop, who was just great and gave us a map straight away with directions to where we needed to go and how long it'd take to get there by foot. Also was quick with some family friendly restaurant recommendations. Took advantage of the breakfast buffet in the morning and was really impressed. Much better than the average Hilton breakfast in my experience.

If you're looking for a classy option in the middle of Montreal (right across the street from the Central Rail Station), the Bonaventure is a great bet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kballtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    818
    330
    103
    63
See reviews for
458
562
91
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

From the Valet to the reception and the Belbedere bar, everything was excellent.
We could not ask for better.
The staff make you feel at home . The beds are really good. Th Hotel is extremely well located, they have a fantastic heated pool and the food is excellent!
We had a terrific weekend!
Lorraine

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retraite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is wonderful however in dire need of updating. The service is nice however the lobby is stuffy, the lounge is less than inviting. There are currently renovations ongoing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffkVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
Thank your for taking the time to share your experience.

We will be completing the renovation program next week. we truly hope to have an opportunity to show you the improvements in the near future. Please call me directly when planning your next trip to Montreal so I can attend to you personally.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

This is a hotel which lets you mix business and pleasure without any hassles... bang in the middle of the city, bordering the old Montreal and new side of Montreal... this is a heaven for business travellers who want to let their hair loose in the evenings / weekends... with wonderful views of the new city on one side and the amazing views of old Montreal's cultural heritage on the other side, one couldn't ask for more from a hotel stay... Close to all the central attractions in the city and to the old Montreal for the cultural heritage sites, this place is convenient for both business and pleasure. A plush pool on the roof top, with a man made stream running on the terrace, with trees surrounding the parapet walls on the terrace, this hotel makes you feel like you are in the ground level, even while on the terrace... amazing room service, ever friendly customer reps, multiple ATM facilities, wonderful restaurant with wide options, they even have a gift shop in the hotel... the main train station is across the road from the hotel. Travel to Montreal in the first week of July ensures you get to be a part of the International Jazz festival, celebrated to commemorate the Canada Day, every year... This festival happens minutes walk away from the hotel and is a definite must-watch event... with over 15-20 stages set all over the business district, and fireworks happening every night across the old port, Old Montreal... this stay was the most pleasant one that I've had in a long long time....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Hilton Bonaventure is located in the heart of Montreal. It's just a block away from Rue Ste. Katharine and sitting atop the Bonaventure subway station. For the most part this is a very good hotel. The rooms are great, staff are friendly and helpful and they have a heated outdoor pool open from 6:30am to 10:30pm year round. It's fun to swim outdoors when there's snow all around you.

The restaurants are good but a little overpriced and internet in the rooms costs $9.50 a day but isn't very fast. You can get free wifi in the lobby area though, which is far better.

It's easy to get around Montreal from this hotel. Rue Ste. Katharine has several restaurants, bars and shopping areas and it's a short ride on the subway to Mont Royal for more downtown fun. Vieux Montreal is also reachable via the subway from this stop.

Parking is expensive though, at $26 per day, so you're best off taking public transport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

There is no doubt that this Hotel has very nice rooms and is well located to sightsee downtown Montreal. The staff were very friendly and helpful but their courtesy could not overcome the shortcomings of the Hotel.

Once you park in the underground parking the adventure starts. From the parking garage, you take an elevator up to a street level foyer then proceed to a 2nd elevator that takes you up to the Reservations/Concierge desk to check-in. From that point there are no more elevators but a concourse of different halls with various levels of stairs. There are 3 levels from this point...if you have a young one still in a stroller, ask for the level that would provide the easiest access. We did not know this and were placed on the 3rd level. Did not think much of it on the way up but by the end of the weekend was not as energetic. Remember, you have to go through this every trip in and out.

The other weird thing was the pool. There is no doubt that it is really cool, especially the fact that it is outdoors and open all winter...kinda like being in a hot spring. The warning again is for small children as the only entrance to the pool starts at 4 feet and is the size of a bathtub then goes to 5 feet and then quickly to 6 feet. You are not allowed to walk along the outside deck in the winter and there are few places to get a grip along the sides of the pool...making it very difficult with small children...BRING A LIFEJACKET.

The breakfast buffet was more than excellent and probably one of the best we ever had, well worth the extra money.

Another downside was the fact that the Hotel's website say they are connected to 33km of the Montreal Underground. We thought that we could spend the Saturday just meandering around and enjoying the stroll but what they forgot to mention is that is chock full of stairs, broken escalators, areas that are closed on weekends, stores that are closed on weekends. Also they advertise that they are a few minutes walk to Old Montreal...not really but a $10 taxi ride will get you there.

Overall, a nice place for a more mature family but for a young family check out other options that may be more accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paqman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

I've stayed in 3 hotels in Montreal so far and by far this hotel has the best concierge. They were at the desk more than any other place and knew more than any other place.

The location was great- situated right by a metro and right inbetween downtown and Old Montreal.

The hotel is all penthouse, so all the rooms are on the top floor- great views. The rooms are updated and have just about everything.

Anytime I needed anything, the staff was very responsive and friendly.

The only negative I have is that the pool is outside and there is NO HOT TUB! That was such a bummer! I would never stay here in winter because our top priority is a pool and if there is an outdoor pool, there better be a hot tub, esp. in winter! Even summer nights can get chilly and I wished there was one. However the pool itself is nicely kept and a good size with lots of chairs.

We enjoyed that we could order movies.

Over all a good experience. I'd stay here again in summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing