We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #53 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2006

The Bonaventure Hilton sits located alongside the Marriott, Delta and other upscale, similar properties. It occupies the top two floors of Place Bonaventure making the entrance to the Hotel a bit difficult to find. Although the entrance would appear to be at street level the Hotel itself is 17 floors up via two dedicated elevators. It sounds strange but it's well done and with a touch of class. Parking is conveniently located below the complex and at $17 CA per 24 hour period is priced about $2 more than the lot across the street. Apparently the train station and subway are below but with the pleasant weather we found it enjoyable to walk about the town. Upon exiting the elevator it is a pleasant experience to walk in a glassed hallway between gardens and a wonderful heated outdoor pool. Check-in was speedy and pleasant. We immediately felt right at home by the very professional staff. Although a king bed was not an option on the internet site they happily found one for us, a quiet garden view. We did have to walk down some steps to our level (no problem for us but possibly for some) and were happy to find a room that seemed recently updated and was rather large and fancy. Fresh cookies and tasty chocolates made a nice touch. The modern marble bath, though not large in comparison to the room was huge by NYC or European standards. The bed was extremely comfortable. Heat and A/C were quiet and effective. The windows open. There was a nice wide screen LCD TV. The Wifi was intermittant at best, somewhat of a disappointment, but we managed to get an email check. (There is a wired option). The bar and restaurant (with fixed-price option) were first rate. We walked to the Old City in only 10 minutes, a safe walk even at night. Altogether a hard to beat experience.

  • Liked — Amazingly comfortable bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a bathing suit.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tbrielmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    817
    330
    103
    63
See reviews for
458
562
91
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

Stayed here for a weekend getaway in August - me and 3 kids. Check-in fine, but then we tried to go to our room. Despite seeing me check in with 2 small children and a baby in a stroller, I was booked in a room as far away from the entrance as possible and up as many flights of stairs as possible. The hotel is set on 2-3 floors, all connected by short flights of stairs - there were 6 flights of stairs to get to our room and no elevator! After I complained, they directed me through a back hallway to a service elevator, that meant that I "only" had to take the stroller up 3 flights of stairs.

Rooms OK - not updated except for bathroom, filthy carpet - not what you'd expect at a Hilton - there are much nicer rooms for the same price in Montreal.

Would have been OK if not for the fact that we could not get to our room without dragging a stroller upstairs. They really ought to warn you about this on their website.

Definitely avoid this place if you have a stroller, if you are at all physically disabled or you do not want to walk LONG distances.

  • Liked — Location and pool
  • Disliked — No elevators. Outdated rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid if stroller, disabled
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank JMBES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

This hotel is situated in an excellent, safe location in downtown Montreal. It is near the train station and is within walking distance to most tourist attractions.

The metro is conveniently located in the basement.

Our rooms were quiet, clean, and comfortable; however, one of our "non-smoking" rooms smelled like an ash tray (apparently this a frequent occurrence at the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure according to previous reviews).

The carpeting is very worn (with cigarette holes in it).

We were afraid to lay our clothing on the bed comforters as they appeared old (decades?) and dingy. All the furnishings are dated.

Our bed was very comfortable and we got a great nights sleep.
The best thing about this hotel is that it was quiet.

The sheets were fresh and didn't reek of bleach. The bathroom was clean with typical (low) hotel water pressure.

The free in-room coffee was excellent.

We had an awesome view and the windows opened for fresh air!
The individual climate control worked great and wasn't noisy.

It is difficult to locate the hotel due to minimal signage.
The lobby is hard-to-find because you have to take an elevator to the top floor to check-in; however, there is no signage indicating this fact.

It is also difficult navigating your way back to the hotel from the metro due to lack of signage.

Staff was friendly for the most part, if not a bit pretentious.

We recommend eating at "The Keg" in Old Montreal. We had a corner "window seat" overlooking historic St. Paul Street which was very romantic. The food was amazing.

We also recommend "Plein Jus" juice available at the IGA store in Complex des Jardins.

Avoid the "light show" at Notre Dame as it's a total tourist trap. It is mostly a cheesy "film" and not really a "light" show.

I would rate this a 3-star hotel at best.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank gregmech26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

We stayed in 2 rooms in this property on the Labor day weekend. I found the earlier reviews to be fairly accurate. This is a nice, clean hotel with a good location and efficient staff. The concierge is helpful though she can be really busy during weekends (she was the only one at the concierge desk throughout our 3 days of stay). The Reception staff was corteous and helpful. The pool was small but satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a conference in Montreal. It was our first visit to the city and we loved it. The Bonaventure was in a great location, very close to the Metro station and close enough to walk to the conference site (by Old Montreal). What was charming was the layout of the hotel - all rooms on 2-3 floors, no elevator rides after you arrived at the lobby. The hotel was smaller and quieter than the other hotels suggested by the conference organizers. Rooms were large and clean. The service and front desk staff were terrific, especially Chantal, the concierge on duty for most of the week.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothiing really
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ABTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

My husband and I (age 30) stayed 3 nights for a very good price through priceline at 60% off advertised price. I would rate as 3.5 out of 5. The rooms were comfortable, large, clean, and outdated. I would return to this hotel for one reason- the pool!! Exceptionally nice...not for small children as goes 4-6ft very quickly.

Staff helpful.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — outdated rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kshangil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

While my experience wasn't devistating, this isn't the best hotel by any means and not what I expect from the Hilton name. The Delta is next door and looks like a superior hotel.

Although this Hilton is at the top of a high building, the hotel itself only has 2 floors which means a limited number of rooms during busy times. I had a non-smoking room reserved. With no mention at the desk, I checked in, walked to my room to find it was a smoking room. I called the front desk to inquire about this descrepancy and was told the hotel was full that night and there were no non-smoking rooms available. Reading through the reviews, this seems to have happened to a number of people before. I suppose its a rather common occurence.

The hotel is dated and retains its original look from decades gone by with exposed concrete walls in the hallway, though an update includes the hallway ashtrays being filled in with concrete. The doors to the rooms look original complete with the faux wood veneer.

All this being said, the staff was very friendly. The doorman at the front graciously allowed me to leave my car for a couple of hours. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great with its marble tiling througout.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andrewireton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing