We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not practical for strollers or children under 3.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #53 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but not practical for strollers or children under 3.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

There is no doubt that this Hotel has very nice rooms and is well located to sightsee downtown Montreal. The staff were very friendly and helpful but their courtesy could not overcome the shortcomings of the Hotel.

Once you park in the underground parking the adventure starts. From the parking garage, you take an elevator up to a street level foyer then proceed to a 2nd elevator that takes you up to the Reservations/Concierge desk to check-in. From that point there are no more elevators but a concourse of different halls with various levels of stairs. There are 3 levels from this point...if you have a young one still in a stroller, ask for the level that would provide the easiest access. We did not know this and were placed on the 3rd level. Did not think much of it on the way up but by the end of the weekend was not as energetic. Remember, you have to go through this every trip in and out.

The other weird thing was the pool. There is no doubt that it is really cool, especially the fact that it is outdoors and open all winter...kinda like being in a hot spring. The warning again is for small children as the only entrance to the pool starts at 4 feet and is the size of a bathtub then goes to 5 feet and then quickly to 6 feet. You are not allowed to walk along the outside deck in the winter and there are few places to get a grip along the sides of the pool...making it very difficult with small children...BRING A LIFEJACKET.

The breakfast buffet was more than excellent and probably one of the best we ever had, well worth the extra money.

Another downside was the fact that the Hotel's website say they are connected to 33km of the Montreal Underground. We thought that we could spend the Saturday just meandering around and enjoying the stroll but what they forgot to mention is that is chock full of stairs, broken escalators, areas that are closed on weekends, stores that are closed on weekends. Also they advertise that they are a few minutes walk to Old Montreal...not really but a $10 taxi ride will get you there.

Overall, a nice place for a more mature family but for a young family check out other options that may be more accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paqman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    817
    330
    103
    63
See reviews for
458
562
91
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

I've stayed in 3 hotels in Montreal so far and by far this hotel has the best concierge. They were at the desk more than any other place and knew more than any other place.

The location was great- situated right by a metro and right inbetween downtown and Old Montreal.

The hotel is all penthouse, so all the rooms are on the top floor- great views. The rooms are updated and have just about everything.

Anytime I needed anything, the staff was very responsive and friendly.

The only negative I have is that the pool is outside and there is NO HOT TUB! That was such a bummer! I would never stay here in winter because our top priority is a pool and if there is an outdoor pool, there better be a hot tub, esp. in winter! Even summer nights can get chilly and I wished there was one. However the pool itself is nicely kept and a good size with lots of chairs.

We enjoyed that we could order movies.

Over all a good experience. I'd stay here again in summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Overall bad experience. When I first arrived, I realized the hotel has no elevator, that means I have to drag my luggage up 3 floors to my room. Secondly, the entire hotel is very old, the corridor are hideous, the rooms are old. It's just totally uncomfortable and unwelcoming. Lastly when I tried to connect to the internet (which is included in my business plan), it did not work! I called up front desk to transferred me to tech support which put me on hold for ages and ended up not solving the problem. Internet is basic for anyone staying for business.

There are many hotels better with similar price in Montreal. I would definitely not go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambooscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Great Location, not as dated as other reviewers stated, pleasant staff, no free internet services in the rooms except for the lobby. For the room price of this hotel, internet should be free in the room. Breakfast and dinner were great..and I did make good friends at the lobby...a jolly good place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

I am a Hilton diehard, so I stay predominately at Hilton for the points and free breakfasts which my gold status affords me. I recently went to Montreal and stayed at 3 seperate Hilton properties: Embassy suites, Hilton Garden Inn Centerville, and the Hilton bonaventure. Of the three the Embassy suites had best room. The Garden Inn best location and overall value. The Bonaventure was the most expensive and most outdated and worst location. The rooms had supposedly been revamped in 2009. I don't know what that means! Just because it has a flat screen tv is it revamped???

This hotel is so dated from the 60's/70's! The bathrooms clearly show the age. I noted rates for the high $100's to low $200's. WhAt a joke! I paid a travel industry rate of $133, and that was over priced! The room was more like a Motel 6 than a Hilton. They did have a nice breakfast buffett, if you could get an attentant to serve you.

Save your money and stay at the garden inn with free wifi in your room and free local calls and great crossiants for around $120/night(better locAtion too).

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

Everything in this hotel is top notch. From the service, to the resturaunts, the rooms, the food, the beds.... I am a business traveler so I spend 260 days a year in hotels. This hotel is nothing short of a 4 1/2 star hotel in my opinion.

The rooms are modern and very clean. Sincerely; this is quite possibly the best stay I have ever had outside of the Bellagio in Vegas.

If your a dog owner staying here is no problem. I don't give "thumbs up" unless it's duely deserved.... and this place makes me wish I had more thumbs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiandv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel when we visited Montreal and it had a great location, we were able to get every place we wanted to go very easily, I would recommend the service was not the best, but the bell boys were great with the family.

Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mimi0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing