We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #55 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have been using this hotel for trips to Montreal irregularly for about twenty years. Since I keep going back it must be time to review it. It is convenient to most of Montreal, especially train stations and subway. Its architecture comes from a period when concrete was popular for everything. It reminds me of Expo 67 and exciting times in Montreal. The hotel is on the top of a very large convention centre, which means the entrance can be hard to find and always involves an elevator ride. The elevator to the lobby has always been quick, which is surprising to me. I find parking beneath the hotel easy, the path to the hotel is tricky but well indicated. The rooms are at the outer edge of the building which can mean a long walk to your room but easy access to all common areas. There is a large peaceful garden with trees and streams inside the ring of rooms. The gardens also have the best feature of this hotel which is a big outdoor pool. It is open long hours in all weather and was a favourite for all of our family. When we first went to the Bonaventure we were allowed to play in snow while in the pool, but now that is prohibited. The rooms are nothing special in size or features, but they have high quality furnishing and are clean and well maintained. Most have nice views of gardens or the St. Lawrence river. The restaurant (we sometimes used it for breakfast) has consistently good food and service.
Now for the disadvantages of this hotel. Even "flexible" reservations cannot be changed within three days of arrival. Over the years, the staff (except restaurant) were variable, some were very pleasant but some were uninformed and unhelpful. However, on our most recent stay the staff were very good. The price is usually high so if the pool or location isn't important, you can find better value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank step_ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and thank you for your ongoing loyalty. We are continously working to improve our level of service and I am glad that you've noticed a positive change. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    838
    339
    105
    68
See reviews for
468
575
94
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Hmmm... Not the best Hilton I've stayed in. This place has a real 70s feel to it, and the huge Bonaventure Centre it's attached to is a real Soviet-style concrete thing.

There's also lots of concrete inside the hotel, which is pretty gloomy in general. The layout is confusing and unattractive, and just working out where the lobby is gets a bit strange. Prepare to have to carry your luggage up and down stairs to you room.

Staff are not the most friendly I've encountered, and check-in/out is very slow. Too few staff on reception.

Breakfast was good, but there was never anyone at the "wait here to be seated" sign and I was left hanging around each morning.

Room was OK but nothing special. Nice and clean. Hot water for shower takes forever to come through.

Overall, an underwhelming experience. Expensive hotel for what it is.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Designed in the Brutalist style, the exterior walls of our building are poured-in-place, ribbed sand-blasted concrete, with the interior walls sand-blasted concrete or brick. The complex houses our unique 395 room rooftop hotel, Hilton Bonaventure, featuring a 2.5 acres outdoor garden with trees, flowers and waterfalls. Over a dozen of ducks and many koi fish use our lovely ponds. Our rooms also have windows that can be opened for some fresh air.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a much better experience on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catherines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Its on a plaza and not its own entity. Parking is a night mare underground and so you have to use valet. If you park in underground parking lot you have to use 3 elevators to get to your room and loose 10 lbs. So you have to pay $5.00 every time u need your car . poor sighns to direct you to Valet parking lot and most people end up parking underground. Once your there you have to pay to get back to valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I am truly sorry to read that you had so many difficulties with the parking of the building complex. I hope that your stay in our hotel itself was pleasant and that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice hotel...8 nights maybe too long for 2 kids and a small hotel room. If have kids, recommend a room right near the pool. Great location with everything in walking distance or even a cab. Had breakfast at the restaurant every morning. Very good spread.

Room Tip: Walls were kind of thin...could hear voices in the next room over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostons_Silent_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! We are glad that we were able to provide your family with a nice experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

There was an attitude with the staff at this location. Though location was good for us. It seemed very dull & dark all over the hotel. Too much cement structure.Good protection for noise but Lacked colorfullness / brightness

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments. We will keep them in mind when we will be planning our renovations. Have a great autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had to pay for wifi, $11.00 for a beer,2.00 for a coffee. Noisy fan in heating/ac system in room. Nickel and dimed to death. 1.50 charge for room to room. no robes for pool. No help with luggage on arrival. Doorman not helpful unless you ask. Beggars everywhere in Montreal unreal worst city ever visited for this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am truly surprised to read that you had to pay for Wifi and for a room-to-room (call?) as they are both complimentary. We have been offering free Wifi and wired internet in our guestrooms for the past 2 to 3 years. Wifi is also available at no cost in our lobby. On top of that, the computers in the business center are at your disposal also.

I will follow-up on your comment about the lack of proactiveness from our doorman.

We hope to see you again soon!I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Check in and check out, slow. I still think when you book online hotels should have a quick check in! Room clean. Not extra clean. The shower walls were not clean, they needed a scrub. There was some yorky yellow dry spot left unattended! The remaining room clean. Bed comfy. room 3415 has a nice view on the CN parking lot. It was quiet. Except in he corridor, my 12 yrs old made a big fun of some weird noise we heard coming from rooms! But we had a nice quiet night. Cold room. And difficult to adjust. It was getting cold set at 21C 74F then I raised it in the middle of the night at 23C 78F it got really hot so I dropped it down at 21C and it was freezing under the blankets, draft coming from the window. But the bed is comfy. Its a convenient location for business at Place Bonaventure or to walk to Ste-Catherine and around. Heated pool we didn't use but looked inviting. There is a nice bar downstairs also inviting with great finger food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your informative review! I appreciate the fact that you took the opportunity to inform the TripAdvisor community of our convenient location, our comfortable bed and other available amenities. I will follow-up on your other notes because we believe in continuous improvement. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing