We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montreal Oasis in the Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #54 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Montreal Oasis in the Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Hilton Montreal Bonaventure is a great oasis in downtown Montreal, easily accessible through VIA Rail and the subway. It is connected in their underground walkway system. It's great in the winter because of their outdoor pool which is a great place to just chill. You actually don't have to step out into the snow becuase you enter from and indoor pool then swim outside and enjoy the feeling of being in an outdoor hot spring in the middle of downtown Montreal. I also received some chocolatte dipped strawberries as a welcome amenity.

A couple things that I noted:

1. Breakfast selection - The breakfast is quite excellent. The waiters who work the morning shifts are very knowledgeable and make you feel really welcome. The food is also a big plus and is representative of the food culture of Montreal with a good selection of cold cuts, pastries and fruit. However, the food does seem repetitive for the traveller who will be spending more than a couple nights at your hotel. This is more so for the hot food where the sampling was almost identical for all three mornings, except for the second egg dish which was omelette on the first day, boiled eggs on the second and breakfast burrito on the third. I would think that this could be something that could be fixed quite easily.

2. Cleanliness of Hotel - The hotel overall is very clean with workers cleaning the public spaces throughout the day. (I saw a worker clean the public washrooms near the lobby at 12:30AM) However, there was a Tim Hortons wrapper that was placed behind the sign on the right hand side of the stairs going up to my floor (I was in room 2338) for two full days, before I removed it.

Having said all that, my stay at Hilton Montreal was a very pleasant one. Kudos to concierge for getting us the reservation at APDC. And a big thanks for extending late checkout till 3 which allowed us to rest before boarding the train back to Toronto.

Nicolas Laflamme who is director of sales is also their social media person was a great help during this trip!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moeykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a positive review with the TripAdvisor community! Your description of the underground connection is going to be helpful to others as well as your note about the pool. I will make sure that the concierge that helpd you and Nicolas knows you appreciated them. We look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    829
    337
    103
    66
See reviews for
464
571
93
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Because of its close proximity to the underground city and the railway station, this hotel is ideally located. Our room was large, clean, modern and overlooked one of the courtyards. We dined in the restaurant on one occasion and found the food delicious, beautifully presented and with great service. The restaurant itself is attractive and has lovely courtyard views if seated by the window. The outdoor heated pool is great with a bar on the deck that also serves light snacks. The staff were pleasant and readily assisted us when required. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows opening out on a courtyard are quieter than the ones with windows opening out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggiemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the superb review and especially the kind words about the staff. The Chef and his culinary team are very happy that you enjoyed your meal in the dining room. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great hotel in terms of location (across the street from the Montreal VIA Rail Station, instant proximity to the Underground City), my only complaint was of the decor. As soon as you get to the lobby floor, there is this unusual blacklight thing going on with works painted in neon colors to make them stand out. Would have been great 30 years ago, but needs an update.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for letting your readers know that you found the hotel well located and the service excellent. We encourage local artists, including staff members, by letting them put up their work on our walls for a couple of weeks. The neon series is no longer available and new paintings are installed for the autumn. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Above the metro, across the street from the train station. If you're a Hilton Honors member, you can use the Executive Club which has free breakfast, lunch, deserts and beverages. Facility is modern and clean. Staff is friendly and everyone speaks English and French.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband, our two teenage daughters and I spent about a week at the Bonaventure in Montreal at the end of July 2012. The hotel was very nice and clean. It was a little bit of a strange set up, but it was fine. Our room had a view of the garden which was very nice and I would suggest asking for a room with a garden view vs. the city view. We stayed at the rooftop pool most days because the weather was absolutely perfect. While at the pool, you forget you are in the middle of a large city. And in the evening we had the city at our fingertips. Montreal is a great place to travel to. You get the feel of Europe and everyone is fluent in French and English. Our room price included accessibility to the executive lounge, which included a very nice breakfast, non-alcoholic drinks throughout the day, and a very nice cocktail hour with Hors d'Oeuvres in late afternoon. The food was very good. Everyone working at this hotel was very polite and helpful. I have found the best room rates and deals, regardless of hotel, is to go through the hotel website. We traveled from NY via car avoiding pricey airfare for 4.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our team, our hotel and our city! It is wonderful that you had such perfect weather and that you were able to enjoy our pool so much. We'd love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Overall, this is a great hotel. The location is ideal, walking distance to so much in downtown Montreal. The train station is across the street and the trains actually run underneath the hotel. The staff are some of the best I've encountered. House keeping in particular was very attentive and did a great job. The food and service in the executive lounge is also outstanding.

This would be a 5/5 review were it not for a mix up with rooms. I had requested one type of room and was upgraded to another (I have diamond status, so this usually happens). But I didn't want the upgrade and had requested not to be upgraded. I am certain there was no fault to the hotel staff and there was probably a hiccup somewhere between HHonors' res system and the hotel's. The staff moved me back into the room type I wanted as soon as possible, but it was none-the-less frustrating.

The other thing that I wasn't crazy about is one aspect of the design. The hotel occupies the top few floors of a large building. Getting in and out of the hotel requires going up/down one of only two elevators that go down to the front door. It's a small thing, but I imagine it can be frustrating when a large tour bus shows up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing with the TripAdvisor community your review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you mention that the Hilton Bonaventure is a great hotel! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Overall the hotel met my expectation, the room was available on arrival and the check-in was quick and informative. Generally, services in the hotel met my expectations, the one exception was the restaurant breakfast service which I found slow even though they were not busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing