We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but tricky to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #55 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
“Nice, but tricky to find”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a business meeting at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth but it was full. I found a nice room at this Hilton which was just one block away. While the Hilton is nice and has the typical Euro-look of Montreal there is one caveat - it's hard to find. The location on a map is straightforward, but the hotel (located in Place Bonaventure, a large office building and exhibition center.) The Hilton lobby is actually on the third floor and the signage is quite lacking. It is possible to get to the train station and many other downtown locations underground if you know where you are going.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank your for choosing our hotel and for your kind review. I assure you that your constructive comment about signage is taken under consideration. We hope to be your first choice on your next visit to Montreal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    838
    339
    105
    68
See reviews for
468
575
94
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel on a couple of occasions for business and for downtown Montreal it is very conveniently located. It is a short walk to the old town and a short walk to the shops and great for the central station and metro. The staff have always been helpful and polite although one of the rooms i stayed in was very noisy being adjacent to the lifts. For business purposes it provides a bed and there are cheaper alternatives but the facilities are clean and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing us several times and for pointing out our convenient location to your readers. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this excellent hotel -- refurbished, modern, nicely decorated and very clean. Comfortable bed and good quality bed linens and pillows. Great bathroom. Looks like a dreary concrete 60's building on the outside which belies the attractive interior and interesting art work.

The roof-top pool area was lovely and although we didn't have our bathing suits with us we enjoyed just sitting and relaxing in the pleasant surroundings. For us it was the best hotel stay in Canada.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snipsnapsnorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliment about the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure being the best hotel stay in Canada for you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Over the Labor Day weekend we stayed for five days at The Bonaventure Hilton in Montreal. My wife and I and our two dogs had an excellent experience at this hotel, starting with the first people we met at the door, especially Daniel, who was very helpful and courteous. Daniel, especially was a fund of local knowledge and treated us like royalty. The check in procedure was handled quickly and we settled in our room. They have a nice roof garden with a stream and a beautiful pool as well. As we were there to sightsee, we were advised to pay for the Valet parking as it allowed us to come and go as we chose, for a flat fee. Very advisable given the parking rates in Montreal which are very high. The car would be brought around within ten minutes of our request, so there was never any waiting.
Given the hospitable treatment we received from all the staff as well as the central location, we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our facilities, that our staff was hospitable and that you stayed here with your two dogs. Daniel is a friendly person and he was happy that he was able to help you during your stay. We'd love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was located perfectly between Montreal and Old Montreal. Easy walk to anywhere downtown. Rooms were great but the PARKING SITUATION was terrible and the doormen were not friendly or receptive to guest arriving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our location and rooms. I am sorry to read that you had some difficulty with the parking during your visit and that our doormen were not giving you the level of service you deserve. Please be assured that this will be looked into. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Love this property, stayed in several hotels in Montreal but this is my favorite so far. The lobby is pretty with all the artwork hanging on the walls. The restaurant is small but the space is nice and the menu is extensive enough. The pool area looked pretty and made me wish I brought my bathing suit with me. The club lounge served the best oatmeal I've ever tasted, great food and service. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff were great, concierge got me a last minute table at L'express my new fave resto in Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for letting your readers know that we are your favorite! We are truly happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst Shores, On
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pool was great. An outdoor swim in February in Montreal. Great staff who go out of their way to help. ..........................................................................................................................................................
..........................................................................................................................................................
.........................................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: Book through Tourism Quebec toll free for a super rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1_Ed_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the 5 circles rating! We'd love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing