We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Times in Montreal and at the Hilton!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #55 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Times in Montreal and at the Hilton!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the Hilton, had 2 rooms , one for our teenagers. Both very well appointed, excellent towels and wonderful bedding. Housekeeping was very good! Outdoor rooftop pool was great as it was a sunny weekend, health club was spacious, nicely air conditioned and had really nice equipment. Internet worked pretty well.
Had a few drinks in the lobby bar, didn't eat at the restaurant as the city has so many choices.
Good location and it's fairly easy to get around Montreal.
I've stayed here numerous times, it's a good choice. I called the hotel directly to reserve rather than book online.




  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottylabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing review! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you had time to experience the most popular feature of our hotel, the heated rooftop pool which is unique in our city. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    838
    339
    105
    68
See reviews for
468
575
94
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Hilton Bonaventure has always been my go to spot in Montreal. Whether it's business or pleasure I have always felt welcome and comfortable. The location is great and you just can't beat an outdoor heated pool on the roof. Located up off the street it offers a quiet rest from the busy city. I highly recommend this place for fellow travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing comment! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our roof top pool which is open all year round. Our staff will appreciate to know that they always make you feel welcome. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What do I love about this hotel...just about everything! We booked this without knowing previous information or reviews, so I feel like we "lucked" into it.
Location is good in that you can get to places by walking, but we have found that to see all of the great locations in Montreal, you need to take a taxi or in our case this time, drive (we had a rental car for a cross country trip).
At first I thought the hotel a bit quirky, you arrive at the entrance and then take an elevator upstairs to the lobby, but after discovering the lobby and layout, I realized this did nothing but enhance the feeling of being in tranquil isolation.
As you enter the lobby, you are immediately struck by the artistic class of the hotel. The paintings, decor, placement of well appointed furnishings screams, "you are going to like it here!" The lobby entrance and then reception, continues back through a classy bar and then dining area that has glass walls and doors in front to encourage you to look in. And this lobby/entrance area is stand alone in that it is separated from the building that houses the rooms. A hall bridge that provides a view of the gardens, takes you to the other building. The lobby is surrounded by garden pathways that have water features, ducks and a pond and waterfall. If you continue around, you will arrive at the landscaped pool. All of this, the gardens and pool can been seen from the lobby entrance.
The rooms are well appointed. Our room was on a floor above the walk across and did not have an elevator that we could find, so if you are carrying your own luggage, you need to get up two landings of stairs. If I had one complaint about the room, it was that the shower had a funky drain that really did look broken. We forgot to mention this to management, but it seemed so out-of-place with the rest of the room. The rooms weren't super big, but we all (we were traveling with another couple) exclaimed to each other in the morning that we had the best sleep ever. The beds were comfortable, but I think it was the bedding that made the different. The sheets were super soft, and made slumber so nice.
We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, and it was top notch as well. One needs to remember that you are entering into French speaking Canada when you get to Montreal, but everyone easily accommodated English only speakers.
This is a beautiful hotel, and if I return to Montreal, I will definitely stay here again. On a previous trip we stayed at a Best Western nearby for the same price, and there is no comparison. This Hilton is packed with a lot of class!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
What a superb review! Thank you very much for taking the time to share positive and detailed comments about your recent stay with us. The Tripadvisor community will certainly appreciate all the useful information about our hotel. Our gardens also have a unique and magical look during winter. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. It has a very convenient location for all the tourist and business attractions. It is a perfect location to explore the tourist attractions. The rooms are very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I look forward to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are grateful for the 5 circles rating and especially your kind words about our team. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location is just between downtown and old town and is in walking distance (not more than a leisurely 30 minute walk) to old port, downtown, Chinatown, old town. The central railway and subway (metro) station is across the street. Metro is super easy to use and find your way around. However, we were traveling with a baby and the subways are not stroller (or wheelchair) friendly. If you're traveling with a baby and plan to use the metro, bring your lightest, collapsible umbrella stroller as well as an bjorn/ Ergo-type baby carrier. If you are in a wheelchair, I'm not sure you really can use the metro. Elevators are rare. Also, know there are no bathrooms unless your subway station is within the Underground City. The Hilton was nicely kept and the gardens were lovely. Pool hours are 6:30a-10pm, which was nice so we could swim before the daily activities we planned or after. The pool could've been 2-3 degrees warmer, but it is heated by the kitchen so I guess it outputs more heat when the restaurant is busier (hmmmm not sure ???). The hotel bar/ restaurant prices are outrageous ($25 for 2 beers) and food was mediocre so plan to eat outside in the city's great restaurants. For anyone comparing price/ location, the Marriott and Fairmont Queen E hotels are right across the street from here. W and intercontinental are 5-10 minute walk around the corner, closer to the old port/ old town- farther from downtown/art museum. Ritz Carlton is in downtown, much longer walk to old town/ port.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunky0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. It is true that travelling with a baby could be challenging so we have installed ramps through out the hotel to make it "stroller friendly". Please accept our most sincered apologies for not being able to meet your expectations at our restaurant. We trust that you will note judge us on this one experience and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton hotel for 6 nights. Even though the hotel is located at the upper floors of the building, it seems like that the hotel lobby is located at the ground floor due to outstanding landscape around the lobby. The pool is outstanding. The view of the room was not great. I can only see the parking lot and buildings. However, the room was clean and quiet. The breakfast at the hotel was great with lots of fresh fruit and delicious bagels and desserts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for this outstanding review about our hotel. Our rooftop pool and our gardens are unique in Montreal and we are happy to learn that they enhanced your stay. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
224 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I are Hilton Gold Card Members which gives us an opportunity to stay at all levels of Hilton properties on our vacations and business travels. This hotel in one the best that we have stayed in from the quality of the room, the staff, the front desk was excellent.

The front desk helped with walking maps, points of interest and restaurants. I highly recommend this location if you are going to Montreal.

Don't even worry about not speaking French or using your HS French, everyone speaks English.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a teenager, ask for a room with a pull out sofa instead of two queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank very much for this fabulous review. I will be more than happy to let our staff know that you appreciated the excellent service you received while staying with us. It is true that our rooms with pull out sofa are very popular with families. We are looking forward to your next visit in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing