We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Bonaventure, Montreal Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #53 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hilton Bonaventure, Montreal Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I are Hilton Gold Card Members which gives us an opportunity to stay at all levels of Hilton properties on our vacations and business travels. This hotel in one the best that we have stayed in from the quality of the room, the staff, the front desk was excellent.

The front desk helped with walking maps, points of interest and restaurants. I highly recommend this location if you are going to Montreal.

Don't even worry about not speaking French or using your HS French, everyone speaks English.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a teenager, ask for a room with a pull out sofa instead of two queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank very much for this fabulous review. I will be more than happy to let our staff know that you appreciated the excellent service you received while staying with us. It is true that our rooms with pull out sofa are very popular with families. We are looking forward to your next visit in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    754
    298
    93
    56
See reviews for
426
489
86
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights with my sister and our four children. We had connecting rooms which was great even though we could here the elevator due our room location. The staff were fantastic with the kids, especially when I was managing all on my own! My daughter lost her stuffed seal toy during a room cleaning but we are hopeful it will be returned. The staff are going out of their way to help. I would like to thank them all and recommend the Hilton to anyone travelling with kids! The pool was also a great hit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer2013FamilyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing review. We are pleased to learn that our staff made a difference on your stay experience. I must say that we enjoyed taking care of our "mini guests". We are sure that your children will love to swim in our heated pool during winter also. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alysonpet
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 12 nights during August.
Pros:-
Great location
Comfortable beds
Outdoor pool
Great service in the Executive Lounge - Guy and Emma were exceptionally hospitable!
Cons:-
Hotel is very 60's (lots of exposed concrete)
Noisy a/c
Bathrooms dated - no showers
Drinks very expensive

Room Tip: Front of hotel with city view - garden view rooms are quiet but boring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alysonpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to write this nice review. The Tripadvisor community will be pleased to learn that our hotel offers great features such as a heated rooftop pool, gardens and great location. Guy and Emma are amazing hospitality ambassadors and they will be pleased to know that it was acknowledged by you. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Convienently located near the Gare Centrale and a Metro station. Restaurants accross the street. The service was excellent. The room was just renovated and the pool on the roof was very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the city view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on our heated roof top pool. Our staff will be very pleased to know that they provided you with excellent service during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Date of stay: 8-11 August 2013 Staff seemed genuinely welcoming and very helpful. The reception staff were full of smiles every time I spoke to them - delightful. Negatives - very few really... the bathroom door tended to stick a bit, caused a few problems for the kids. That's all. Beds - superbly comfortable. Climate control - they like to crank that in-room A/C and it was very effective. I would ease it back. No need to use all that power. We chose this hotel because of its central location, its roof garden and its all-season outdoor pool. LOCATION I think it took us 5 minutes to walk from the train station across the road to the Hilton. It would have been quicker but we came out of the train station on the other side and had to walk round the CN building. So if you have Maps on your smartphone, you'll do it quicker than we did (no tech). OPEN AIR POOL Their website had pictures of snow around the pool and people swimming in it at night with the pool lights on. We had to try that out! The pool was great - a steady 84 degrees and open from 6am till 10pm. Lots of poolside seating and lounging if that's your thing. The poolside bar was great - though I only ordered lunch from there. Hot dog was listed at $5, but when it came it was a total bargain... 2 hot dogs and a salad with choice of dressing! Very tasty. ROOF GARDEN We were enchanted with the roof garden. Such a lot of care had clearly gone into the planning and ongoing maintenance making it a superb greenspace at the top of this city building. Our kids were amazed to find ducks on its engineered waterways and ecstatic that they had ducklings. The sound of waterfalls is nearly omnipresent as they are regularly placed, and you can walk the granite block stepping stone paths. It does not feel like being in a city up on the roof garden. There was a member of staff (Polish, I believe) who we saw feeding the ducks on Thursday afternoon. I think I made his day when I suggested he had the best job in the hotel! He told us that a couple of the ducks stay year-round and the rest fly in from and return to the States. Smart ducks - easy living in a predation-free space as the ducklings grow up. It was excellent to connect with people at this hotel and on our next visit to Montreal, we will try to book here before looking anywhere else. I can't wait to try the rooftop open air pool in the winter! Amazing stuff. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a beautiful review about our hotel and staff. The ducks are know as our "featherly Hilton member" and it is always exciting to welcome the new duckling every year. On behalf of every one at the hotel, we thank you for having taken the time to acknowledge the great and friendly service you received during your stay. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here passing through town, seduced by the pictures of roof gardens and outdoor pool.
It's at the top of a 60's building, which is of some architectural merit if you like brutalism. Rather lovely and interesting concrete stairs. However the furniture and carpets are a little shabby and undermine what could be a very chic building.
The biggest problem however was the service. Uniformed concierges watched us struggling with our bags in and out of the lifts, although the receptionist was fine, asking politely which language we preferred.
But breakfast time was miserable. The sun was splitting the sky on the loveliest of days, btu the waiter refused our request to eat outside as 'the weather wasn't good enough.' Ho ho. Try Scotland mate. When we insisted really wanted to take our breakfast outside he told us it was 'closed'. Quite ridiculous.
Also no service of any kind round the small pool or indeed anywhere outside in the lovely gardens, even though closed bars and tarpaulin covered BBQs hinted that there was at one time. Understandable in low season, but in August??!
To sum up, it's not really a Hilton. It's almost as though the chain have forgotten it's here and the staff have stopped caring. Shame, as the roof gardens are really very lovely. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt on the trip back through town and it was much,much better.

Room Tip: Our room looked inwards to the gardens and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having exceed your expectations. We trust that you will not judge us on this one experience and that in your future travels we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I recently visited Montreal for two nights and stayed at this Hilton. Location puts you in proximity to many attractions. Service was excellent and staff friendly. If you need to park a car, use the valet as this allows you unlimited access since the parking lot is privately owned and if you self park your car, you have to pay every time you exit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geo0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a positive review about our hotel. I truly appreciate your kind words about how you found the service excellent and the staff friendly. They work very hard and of course, they love to hear from happy guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#26 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#35 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing