We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average rooms, slow restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #53 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, average rooms, slow restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Located central and downtown, the staff are efficient and friendly, the beds firm, plenty of pillows and extra blankets in the room, big, heavy bath robe provided as well as coffee, creamers and tea bags with the coffee maker. The room cleaning could have been better as it was obvious that it wasn't vacuumed everyday. I left a bit of lint from my new socks on the carpet that remained for two days. The hotel does have a heated outdoor pool which I unfortunately did not have the time to appreciate.

The restaurant - Service was excruciatingly slow. The fries were very well done and the steak sandwich perfect the first day but the second, I was surprised that the waiter dared serve it. It was obviously burnt - and one bite showed the steak over done as well. I sent it back and got a better sandwich but as I was there for a conference, I really don't have the time to linger over lunch. The chef also has a very heavy hand with the salt - so ask for low salt on everything. A pity that cannot be done with the soup.

The hotel however, is connected to the underground, and there are breakfast places as well as a food court for quick bites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments on the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, following your recent stay with us. Rest assured your remarks have been addressed. We value your opinion and deeply care about the input of our guests.

On a happy note, we were delighted to read your rewarding review on the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff members which will be shared with them.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    818
    330
    103
    63
See reviews for
458
562
91
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This property is well located for business in central Montreal, but a $10 taxi ride to Old Montreal and it's restaurants/attractions.

The hotel is located on the top floor of a commercial building, so you enter on the ground floor and then elevator up to the Lobby and room access. Be advised if you have any mobility issues, this IS NOT the hotel for you. ALL of the sleeping rooms are either up or down a set of 8 shallow stairs with no guest elevator access.

The rooms were very conventional business hotel rooms in layout and amenities. I liked the bed, which was very soft, but not everyone likes a very soft mattress. Lobby restaurant and bar were nice with a good, relaxed vibe - breakfast restaurant was outrageously expensive.

Room Tip: Again, if you have mobility issues - check with the hotel to see how they would accommodate you. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mysticyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Mysticyat –
Thank you very much for your review of our property and for your comment on it being well centrally located.. The rooftop lobby is definitely different which sets us apart from other hotels. Indeed, our unique structure does not allow every room to be accessible but we do have plenty to choose from for guests in need of one. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Montreal area.

Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure in February of 2012 for a work-related conference. This hotel is laid out somewhat oddly, with the lobby itself being several floors up and the hotel rooms only occupying a few floors. I had a city view that was nothing impressive. The hotel has an outdoor, rooftop pool that looked great – but you can see it from the lobby, making it not a great place to go and swim when you're here with a bunch of people that you work with.

There were two minor things that bothered me during my stay at this Hilton. When the hotel was busy you often had to wait in line to get down via the elevator to the ground floor. The service at the bar and restaurant at the hotel during lunch was exceedingly slow, even after we had told the waitstaff that we had a meeting to get to. While I didn't have a room in the executive floor, everyone raved about the executive lounge and the breakfast there. Wi-fi internet access was slow at times and I often had calls dropped when I was on Skype with my family when calling from the room. Overall, an average hotel, I'm sure there are better in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cafegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear cafegrl - Thank you for your review of our hotel. We definitely appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience over our elevators and slow bar/restaurant service during the conference. Our rooftop lobby and pool are definitely different from other hotels but we feel that is something that sets us apart from the other hotels. We were pleased to learn you heard positive comments on our executive lounge! Next time you are here, check out our upgrade availability to the Executive lounge, this may help offset some of the costs for breakfast and light snacks in the evening. We do hope you will consider us again should you find yourself back in Montreal.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Comfortable large rooms in the middle of the city. Open the window and what would you expect to see? A DUCK!! A planted woodland with a stream and duck pond set the tone for a relaxing stay. The roof top (30TH) outdoor pool is amazing in the winter. Up grade for the lounge alone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DashYul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

great location, great service. I had a great room. great atmosphere. Gym is nice. Penthouse hotel which has a great feel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stay at Hilton Montréal Bonaventure at least once a year, usually for business. It has always been a great experience due to its spacious and modern rooms, great conference facilities, attentive service, and rooftop pool. Yes, the rooftop pool is enough to give it an extra star — especially in the winter, when you can go swimming with sub-zero temperatures outside and pretend you're in Blue Lagoon with all the steam coming off the water.

This last time, I had Hilton Gold membership and got upgraded to a bigger room and had access to the executive lounge. The breakfast served there was great and made more fantastic by the lounge manager Guy.

The hotel is situation across from a bus station and a train station, which you can easily reach underground (in the winter). It's a great base for exploring Montréal and I recommend staying here if you're visiting for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We booked this hotel fairly last minute via the montreal tourisme website. This meant we paid full price for the first night and got the second night for half (the sweet winter deal). After checking everything on line, for the extra $ we upgraded to the executive level package-well worth it.
First off-we find the Hilton staff the best of any hotel chains we have experienced and this time was no different. From the moment we arrived until the final "have a safe trip" from the doorman it was a totally great experience. We travelled by Via rail and arrived before noon on Friday and left on Sunday at 4 pm. We checked via phone and the Hilton would store our luggage on arrival & departure (Hilton is right across the street from the train station) but it was suggested we check if our room was ready on arrival (12 pm). It was, so we could check in, use the facilities, etc. Also we requested a late checkout on Sunday and that happened as well without extra charge-maybe/probably because of the upgrade to executive. We feel the $50+/night more than compensated.
Executive upgrade included a really great "continental" breakfast which included at least 3 hot dishes (over 2 days we had scrambled eggs, homefries, french toast, pancakes, sausages) as well as top of the line breads, bagels and pastries, fruit, cereals, excellent cheeses and cold cuts and an awesome selection of juices, milk, coffee, tea, expresso, cappucino, etc. (We paid $24 each for a sunday breakfast at the Marriott in Niagara Falls in February and this was actually a better option because of the specialty coffee available.) Also on offer with the executive upgrade was the all day beverages options-including juice, soft drinks, hot beverages and the specialty coffees and teas + 5-7 h'or doevres -beer and wine available but extra and a dessert selection from 7 to 9. We ate a great lunch on Friday and didn't go out for dinner...cheese, crackers, a couple of hot selections (quiche, puff pastry, polenta with proscuitto) a different pasta each night, a couple of vegetable options (gazpacho with raw vegetables, greek feta salad-tapas style, etc.)
All staff were very friendly and everyone spoke french/english and other languages!
We look forward to going back!
The roof top swimming pool is so awesome! There were lots of families (we are a middle aged couple) but there were lots of extended families from parents with tots and teens and lots of families with grandparents. The rooftop is beautiful and I can imagine in summer it is a topnotch place (there is a sweet deal in the summer but we will have to see if Hilton Bonadventure is a part of that (first 2 nights full price, 3rd night half price). And even dogs-not in the pool, in the hotel.
We loved our stay and the winter swimming and executive lounge topped off the experience, suggestions by the concierge for dinner were spot on also (see later review...)
Staff were awesome-can't remember them all but 3 at front desk, Guy in BonAdventure Executive Room and Louis at Concierge were memorable.
Would definitely do this again

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired ask for a room closer to lobby-the 365 room are spread out over the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing