We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the BEST. Charming inn run like the Ritz!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Epik Hotel Montreal
Ranked #3 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite simply the BEST. Charming inn run like the Ritz!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I am picky and this place was, quite simply, one of the best hotels i have ever stayed. From the warm hello when we arrived and immediate valet service to chef Frank's homemade jam and french toast casserole for breakfast, i was wowed throughout my stay.
The quaintness and old style charm was delightful
The lobby and breakfast room, newly renovated, is gorgeous, and The room was clean, comfortable and chic. I just loved the stone walls and exposed timbers. The bathroom is functional and clean, but in need of an updte (i am told bathrooms are being renovated).
Paul, the manager was delightful - a class act! Engaging and chatty with kids and adults alike.
The breakfast was way beyond exceptional - a huge thank tou to chef Frank for the lovely artisan fare - fresh local delights - croissants, homemade breads, pate and jam, local cheeses, fresh fruit and stove-top hit chocolate for our kids.
We have travelled alot and have stayed in many exceptional hotels - none have impressed us as much as Sans Soucy. We will be back and would highly recommend this gem of a hotel in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doobner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul I, General Manager at Epik Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you kindly for your feedback.

The renovated bathrooms are almost done! Stay tuned for updated photos.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    49
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
214
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My two children and I were fortunate to be able to rent a room for one night (the rooms were booked for subsequent days) in this wonderful B&B upon our arrival in Montreal last week, as we sought to celebrate the new year in Old Montreal. We were all in awe of the building's beauty, the thought-provoking art on display and, especially, the "art" of Daniel Soucy and his staff. They have created a warm, wonderful, personal and....yes, European...experience for visitors. We just can't wait to go back....to sit in and look out of the most wonderful casement windows in Old Montreal (from what we saw in subsequent days!), eat more of the best croissants we had ever eaten, enjoy more laughs, stories and smiles with the owner and his staff (who couldn't be more welcoming and warm if they tried) and to prove that we've been working on our French! Jean Michel, merci pour votre humour et patience avec nos luttes linguistiques! Nous allons continuer à essayer! Expect to see us this summer...we just adored our experience at Auberge Les Passants du Sans Soucy and will never forget it.

Room Tip: We had room 202...and loved it! It got a little crowded when we opened the sofa bed....but we'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a dinner reservation to celebrate my husband’s birthday at an Old Montreal restaurant so we decided to extend the celebration and spend the night close by.

We chose the suite and we enjoyed having a closed room, this cut off any outside noise. The room is on street level and is right off the lobby. The living room is very nice and has an electric fireplace (gets a little noisy after a while, it makes a ticking noise) and has a TV on top of it. The brick wall is spectacular. I enjoyed having artwork in the room.

The bed was comfortable although a bit small. The bathroom was just OK with a regular bathtub with jets.

We opted to have a continental breakfast in our room and that was fabulous. Fresh baked croissants (chocolate croissants were amazing!), delicious jam, fruit salad, orange juice and a pot of coffee. Truly the best part of our stay.

There are two reasons why I only give it 3 stars. First you’ll notice that they only give you a start date to the high season, no end date, which seems to be variable. In my opinion, mid-November in Montreal is nowhere near being high season, it’s a pretty dreary time of year. When I called to book the room, the person quoted me the price for high season. When I told him I was surprised that he wasn’t giving me the price for the low season, he offered to lower the price slightly. I agreed but I have to say I regretted it right away. In their defense, the definition of high season is written down at the front desk (ends at the beginning of January I believe).

The other thing is that the room was “cleanish”. I understand that it’s an old building and it must be hard to maintain but there’s no reason why there should be cobwebs, dust bunnies and hair in the bathroom (not ours, we had just gotten in). I know that the owners answer reviews so they’ll probably say that it’s not true but I swear all of this is true. They can take a look for themselves, it’s probably still there: big cobweb in the corner where there’s a table with wine glasses on it (nice touch by the way) and lots of dust bunnies under the bed.

I don’t mean this to be a bad review but I expect better quality at this price point. It is a charming inn and the location can’t be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IceseafromMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

One of the bright spots to having to reschedule my visit to Montreal was snagging a room at the San Soucy. We have the fabulous room 101 at the front of the hotel and there has been minimal street noise to remind us we are only a story above. The walls are the original stone with beautiful wooden beams on the ceiling and thick as your arm doors. Modern bathrooms, very comfortable beds with top of the line bedding and delicious breakfasts made fresh daily. The lobby doubles as an art gallery and the reception desk is understated, like you are entering a private club. You feel rather classy and special. And, the best of Vieux-Montreal is just steps outside the door. rue St Paul is a main street and you will find art galleries, souvenir shops and a plethora of restaurants to choose from. Just across the street is the classic French bistro, Le Bourlingueur; the homey polish restaurant, Stash; and around the corner the Bonaparte. The Pointe-a-Calliere and the Centre des Sciences are on the next street. I could not have asked for a better located place. It definitely lives up to the high ratings in Fodors and Frommers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 day trip ending 10/27/2013
We stayed in the suite:
Value: excellent value
Location: couldn't be better: walking distance to key old town "attractions" (eg the bonsecour market, the archeology museum (a ood place to start your trip to get an idea of how Montreal began etc) and the basilica of notre dame. (amongst others) The Metro is an easy 5 mins walk away)
Hosts: wonderful, kind concerned helpful.
Food (breakfast)/ excellent; the staff are so happy to help and try to do what they can to meet every need. The cooking is superb (omelettes, croissants so light and amazing!).
Room: simple, comfortable and tasteful. "Well appointed".

People have commented about the (potential) noise in other posts: we were "right on the street" with a small sitting area to block us from the road, and had no problems whatsoever even spanning a friday and saturday night stay.

Having stayed there i am not sure why anyone would pay for a "cookie cutter" hotel in a less accessible area (downtown Montreal)! I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I only saw the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wonderful, large rooms. Our room faced the street and it was a bit noisy with the windows open...but aside from this..... this is a fantastic place to stay in old Montreal. The location is amazing. You are in the middle of all the action and wonderful restaurants on every corner. The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. The breakfasts are cooked to order with fresh baked pastries. i look forward to returning to this charming B & B.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

"Charming" and "quaint" can be euphemisms for old. Breakfasts are nice but not exceptional. The croissants come from a local bakery. There is no elevator and luggage must be lugged up as high as 3 floors. There is no A/C or screens at the windows so bugs and noise come in with the air. There are no hooks for hanging stuff nor nonskid bathmat in the bathroom. Also no instructions for how to use the jets in the tub. Room lighting is poor. We had to move lamps around to read in bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adminstr, Owner at Epik Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We further regret that you did not take up your issues with the management during your stay. Many of your issues and confusions would have been clarified and/or rectified.

For your information the croissants are baked fresh in the hotel every morning. Did you not notice? The kitchen is open to the public and guests can see for themselves.

Further this hotel is air conditioned throughout. It has been since day 1. To say that there is "no A/C" without qualification is to lie. Did you have a problem with the air conditioning? Did you request some assistance from the front desk?

It is true that we do not have an elevator. In fact, this is clearly stated on our web site. What we do have is a couple of willing and able men and women. Are you implying that someone here refused to help you with your luggage? That would be preposterous.

Bathmats: they are available upon request. We do not keep them in the rooms as they are rarely ever used, but we have them.

As for operating the jets in the bathtub most people find this self-explanatory. If you did not, did you ask someone to help you with that? That's what we're here for.

Lighting: we have changed the light bulbs since your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,114 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,051 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
1,001 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epik Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epik Hotel Montreal

Property: Epik Hotel Montreal
Address: 171 rue Saint-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z5, Canada (Formerly Auberge Les Passants du Sans Soucy)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epik Hotel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Epik Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Les Passants Du Sans Soucy Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing