We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Ranked #10 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very stylish hotel located in downtown Montreal.

Pro's
- Great service, speedy check-in/out
- Very good breakfast included in the rate (mixture of pastries, bagels, eggs, pankcakes, fruits, yoghurt cheeses & cold meats and cereals - the highlight is the french toast and also the peach jam)
- Free wifi
- Rooms are a good size and very tastefully decorated, Molton Brown toiletries, iPod docker, bathrobes & complimentary water
- Biki bikes right next to the hotel or alternatively taxis can be easily hailed outside the front door

Cons
- It's difficult to find fault other than the drinks at the bar are expensive but that's to be expected.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear JQ_ 1a,

Thank you kindly for this wonderful review ! We love to offer our guests a great experience and we sincerely appreciate when past guests communicate comments such as yours to future or current customers.

Sincerely,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Germain Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 707 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived by car to find it impossible to park outside the hotel, furthermore the hotel had neglected to advise us of the reconstruction of the front entrance when we booked. We passed through a cloud of dust, and then had great difficulty communicating with reception, due to the unbelievable noise of jackhammers. We were given a very nice room, but next morning discovered it was situated beside the exercise room, and from 6.30am the constant slamming of the door, as people entered and exited, kept us awake until the front entrance drilling started at 8.00am. We went down to breakfast at 8.45, to find very little food left. We asked for eggs and were told by an obnoxious woman that all the eggs etc. had been eaten by the people before us, it would take about 30 minutes to produce more for us. I am English speaking, my wife French, and nothing was lost in the translation. We ate out in restaurants for breakfast during our 3 day stay, even though breakfast was included. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first evening, very good food, obscenely expensive, and the concept is more suited to a genre restaurant than a hotel. We know Montreal, our daughter attends McGill University (as my wife did) and we were recommended to this hotel, but it was extremely disappointing considering the reviews. We found the staff mostly efficient with a superior attitude. I have waited a few months before writing this review, as I wanted to be fair in my comments.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is not near the exercise room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Pancho8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. I am profoundly sorry that we did not offer you and your spouse a true Germain Montréal experience. We indeed refreshed the appearance and fuctionality of our front entrance in late May.
Unfortunately, this process was more intense and definitely noisier than originally expected. We do our best to avoid construction during periods of high occupancy or during Montréal’s busy season. Unfortunately, certain repairs cannot be performed in the winter as they are temperature-sensitive. We are very sorry that you experienced Le Germain under these conditions and we apologize for not having advised you upon reservation.

Nonetheless, your ‘inside experience’ at Le Germain should have been perfect. Please rest assured that we will address your comments with the Laurie Raphael restaurant. We proudly include breakfast in our room rates and we want our guests to benefit from their breakfast experience as much as from the hotel. We are confident in the product and services we offer but we take feedback such as yours very seriously and will closely study your comments in order to enhance our customer experience.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future in order to provide the real Germain Montréal experience.

Sincerely,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just spent three nights at this wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Montreal. The location is great, with easy access to the Metro stations, restaurants and shopping. The staff here is amazing! I wish hotel employees everywhere had to go through whatever training program is offered by Le Germain. They truly care about their guests here. Check in was a breeze, and our room was great with a nice city view out of the nearly floor to ceiling windows. Even though the room was near the elevators we did not hear any noise from the hallway or from any of the other rooms for that matter. Nice touches in the room include a recycle bin, fluffy bath robes and the mounted dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and creme rinse in the shower stall. My only complaint is the lack of a coffee pot in the room. While it is wonderful that they have a free 24 hour coffee/hot tea/hot chocolate machine in the lobby, when I first get up in the morning I like to have a cup of hot tea before I get dressed for the day. Minor inconvenience, but surprising considering the quality of hotel. The breakfast provided in the morning was a self-serve buffet style, with several juice options, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, croissants, hard boiled eggs, meat and cheeses, an egg dish and French toast. Service in the dining room faltered a little, and we often had to get our own coffee and tea which was supposed to be served to you by the staff. All in all, we had a fantastic stay here and I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. Our room faced the street and was near the elevator, and it was still very q...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear composthappens,

Thank you very much for the great review. Feedback from our dear customers is priceless and we love to hear what they have to say. We appreciate your comments and will follow on the coffee service in the Laurie Raphael dining room in the morning. Our ecofriendly rooms are all equipped with toiletries and mounted dispenser of Molton Brown product. We pride ourselves in the customer service we offer. We have the ongoing training and cross training of our staff in order to keep our customer service to the top.

I am glad that you were able to experience the Germain Montreal Experience!

Hopefully we will see you in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have nothing but positive memories from my stay at Le Germain. The location was great for exploring the city ... shopping, dining, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the Metro were all just steps away. Every interaction I had with the staff was professional and friendly. My room was perfect ... comfortable, clean, and all the need amenities (free bottled water, free wi-fi, nice bath products, etc.). The free breakfast was adequate (loved the local bagels), and the small fitness room was fine for the few days I was there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdpndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear tdpndc,

Thank you for the amazing review about our hotel. We are glad that you chose our location for you past stay and are very happy that you enjoyed it. I read that you had a chance to visit quite a bit of Montreal. I couldn’t agree more with you that our location is very convenient for business and leisure travellers. We have a lot to offer and hopefully we will see you soon again in order to show you the rest of Montreal.

Sincerely,

Dan Cyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business. Stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the front of the hotel.

Great property close to the business district, restaurants and most of the attractions. Room was very big comfortable, well laid out and clean. The common areas were also very clean and was very stylish in true Le Germain standard.

Did make use of the hotel car service a couple of times and it was great. The staff here was also very friendly, professional and genuine. They all seemed to take pride in their jobs and the hotel.

Did have a meal at the hotel restaurant and every dish was delicious and the price was also reasonable.

Will be back in the future as it is much more comfortable than the other hotel we have used for business in the past.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridgesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Ridgesas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a nice review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had a great overall stay and that you had a chance to experience the Laurie Raphael Montreal. Having our courtesy car service is such a big part in the overall experience of our customers. Although you can’t reserve it in advance our staff will go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy our courtesy car service. Most of our staff has been with us for many years and we consider each other not as colleagues but as family. Hopefully we will see you in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Dan Cyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed there for one night for business. I loved it. Very modern, cool decor. Front staff was very helpful. Rooms are fun, modern. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmart107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear gmart107,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Hopefully your review will be helpful to other customers that want to stay with us.

We are looking forward to see you again at the Germain Montréal in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Cyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Overall, a good stay. Very courteous and professional staff. The room itself could have been better. The light switch placement did not make any sense; e.g., the light switch for the toilet stall being behind the left french door you needed to open for entry, the switch for the mirror light hidden behind the face cloths piled in the lower right hand corner of the mirror. The instructions for the thermostat given upon check-in were a similar joke - they are numbered (1) through (6) without any corresponding numbers on the control panel. Why can't you just install a conventional thermostat? The water pressure in the shower was barely adequate. The mattress was very comortable and the rest of the room was fine. I'm more into function vs. form - so the black parking garage ceiling, the glass wall to the shower facing the bed etc. was lost on me.
The staff's professionalism and attentiveness more than compensated for the property's short-comings; the location was convenient and quiet, the breakfast was good and I probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank occasionalgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear occasionalgambler,

Thank you very much for writing a very detail review. Feedback from our customers is priceless and we love the very detailed ones. The light switch location in our rooms can be somewhat hard to find we are working hard at making them practical while offering you’re a very nice and clean view of your room. Being an Eco friendly hotel we do have Eco efficient shower head. It might produce less water pressure than the one you have at home but we are very aware of the amount of shower taken in our hotel and we are trying to be as Eco friendly as possible.

We hope we will have a chance to have you stay with us in the future with what we hope is a small explanation of the choices we made for our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,658 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Address: 2050 rue Mansfield, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $224 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Design and Welcome Unique to MontréalIn a trendy downtown neighbourhood stands our chic and intimate boutique-hotel, intended for both business and leisure clients alike. The product of the astonishing transformation of a former office building, the hotel offers a unique concept in accommodation.Aesthetic Sense and Attention to DetailIn the hall, the eyes are immediately drawn to the luxurious furnishings, bouquets of fresh flowers, the warm fireplace and intimate lounge areas. You'll take in the peaceful atmosphere, a sign of the cozy comfort that awaits you in your room.Sophistication, Refinement and Enveloping ComfortThe hotel's 101 rooms and suites are inspired by loft-style architecture and allow guests to make the most of the natural light and views of the city. An elegant, highly functional design and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Germain Montreal
Montreal Le Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing