We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalist chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Minimalist chic”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I love the Germain Group hotels and agree with the previous reviewer that too try to stay in them when I'm in Canada. This hotel has less charm than the Germain in Quebec City but just as much minimalist chic. Very attentive staff, fabulous coffee service in the lobby (wish there was the option of china cups instead of just disposable), super-comfortable bedding, gorgeous bathrooms. The glass-walled shower means you need to be prepared to be a bit of an exhibitionist but that's part of the fun of the hotel. Hotel breakfast in Laurie Raphael is delicious and relaxed although the getting any table service for coffee etc. was difficult.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are pretty small--if you are a large person or you really like to spread out, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CakeNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    175
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
78
265
39
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Le Germain has very good service (front desk in particular), with comfy beds and great design. Rooms have nice little touches, good quality furnishings and nice flat screen tvs.

As with many boutiques, I do find that you sacrifice a bit on some of the things I come to rely on as a business traveler. I often have to work in the roomand find that the workspace, while efficiently designed is small. Le Germain's restaurant (androom service) closes at 10:30, which can be too early if working late. I've found myself having to wolf down $10 bags of cashews late at night when I would have loved a good meal. Also, no in-house dry cleaning which is inconvenient if forced to stay an extra night and you need a clean shirt.

All in all, though, these are relatively small complaints. Le Germain gets it right on the important stuff (location, service and comfort).

Not only would I recommend it but I am heading back this week!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've stayed at Le Germain many many times.
I go to Montreal on business trips quite often and ever since I discovered this little gem, I have refused to stay elsewhere.
My traveling dates are usually flexible and I have moved them on occasion to make sure I don't stay anywhere else.
The staff is very helpful and caters to every need guest could have!
The restaurant is also great and breakfast bagels are a must

Always looking fwd to going back!

Room Tip: Any room facing Mansfield
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanapecorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is the coolest boutique chain! I wish they were in the U.S. too. I stay here whenever I'm in Canada even though they don't have a points program. The staff is amazing - they are all über hip but ALL so nice, friendly and helpful - it's like the cool kids in high school welcomed u to their clique. The rooms are unique and decorated in a sort of loft/quasi-industrial style. The bathrooms are huge and have all different types of special design features. Great amenities and free wifi. Oh, and free continental breakfast. I love this hotel so much I want to marry it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthiarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I travelled to Montreal to visit our son who is studying at Concordia. We wanted a nice hotel within walking distance to his residence and shopping. Le Germain was perfect. Dropped the car off at the door when we arrived, no worries about parking or driving in the city. Very spacious room, big tub for soaking and relaxing. The buffet style gourmet breakfast was delicious, with excellent capuccino!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a side street, so I think all rooms would be quiet. No real views to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at Le Germain last week for several nights. The rooms are large but not very warm, comfortable or cozy. The look is industrial chic, but painting concrete brown is a strange choice. The king bed is big but not particularly comfortable. The bathroom nice and worth the room upgrade. Warning, be careful not to order room service. I paid $20 for a cheese plate with 6 little (I mean bit sized) pieces of cheese. The one plus is the breakfast which is nice, but although the staff is pleasant, they are not very efficient. I waited 5 minutes for a butter knife, my toast was, well cold toast before I could butter it, after I asked-as there were none out. And little things like having no cake soap to start and then on the third day to finally have one left by the maid was just confusing. I had assumed they expected us to use the liquid shower gel.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to the large room. Ask not to be put across from the corporate office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel... location was very convenient, and the hotel itself has a sort of boutique feel that made it very comfortable and unique. Rooms are very clean, luxurious and comfortable, and I found the service to be very good. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Property: Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Address: 2050 rue Mansfield, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Design and Welcome Unique to MontréalIn a trendy downtown neighbourhood stands our chic and intimate boutique-hotel, intended for both business and leisure clients alike. The product of the astonishing transformation of a former office building, the hotel offers a unique concept in accommodation.Aesthetic Sense and Attention to DetailIn the hall, the eyes are immediately drawn to the luxurious furnishings, bouquets of fresh flowers, the warm fireplace and intimate lounge areas. You'll take in the peaceful atmosphere, a sign of the cozy comfort that awaits you in your room.Sophistication, Refinement and Enveloping ComfortThe hotel's 101 rooms and suites are inspired by loft-style architecture and allow guests to make the most of the natural light and views of the city. An elegant, highly functional design and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Germain Montreal
Montreal Le Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing