We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Le Germain (Montreal) and were pleased with the wonderful service. The staff is very available and helpfull. The room was modern, elegant and clean. Very recommandable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maude_leroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    173
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
78
262
38
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at their property in Toronto and it was a beautiful property, so we excitedly booked at this property too. Sadly, the hotel is not as nice as the one in Toronto. The rooms look poorly maintained. There is little storage space for clothing - only hanging items, no dressers for folded items.
The staff at the hotel was great. We had a problem with our room and they upgraded us to a bigger room immediately. While the new room was nicer and larger, it still felt poorly maintained. The hotel is in a great central location, but it is overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGSUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear MGSUCH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our Germain service; I will make sure to share this with our “great staff”. We are concern by your comments on the room, and we will make sure to address both with our design team, and our maintenance crew. We are sorry we could not meet your expectations, should there be anything else you would like to discuss, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Dan Cyr
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Loved everything about the hotel...extremely friendly staff. Good location. My only comment would be that the weekend breakfast was very understaffed but buffet breakfast was great and the free espresso/cappucino in the lobby is a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear djm200,

We apologize for the lack of service at breakfast over that weekend, you are absolutely right, some of our team members were missing that day… We hope to welcome you again, and deliver the service expected.

Dan Cyr
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Nice hotel - friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was included, but's its minimal. I wouldn't pay extra for it next time.

Room Tip: Nice bathroom with separate toilet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeesfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GermainMontreal, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear yankeesfanz ,

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the breakfast, we are presently reviewing the offering, will hopefully be able to meet your expectations, however, you should not have paid extra for the breakfast, since it is included in the price of the room, we would be more than happy to reimburse you for it, should you provide us with a receipt.

Dan Cyr
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

They really take care of you. Excellent room appointments. Good bed. Everything is very high end. Good downtown location. Free breakfast is pretty good. Overall something special here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clavoie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed at the hotel from 9th August until 11th August for business, I wish I could have stayed longer!!

The hotel is in a fantastic location very near the shopping district and a 20 minute walk to the downtown area where there are amazing restaurants and shops. Montreal is a french speaking region however all the staff at the hotel spoke English. The hotel is very chic and modern and most importantly clean!!
The staff was very friendly, we managed to purchase tickets to the Rogers Tennis Tournament through the concierge, who managed the booking for us.

Breakfast was simple but adequate, bagels, cheese, ham, pancakes, cereal and fruit. Along with fruit juices, tea and coffee. Breakfast is served until 10:30am which makes a nice change so you can have a lay in if need be and still have breakfast.

The rooms are amazing, very modern. The toiletries are all Molton Brown and the walk in shower is heaven!! There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room but there is a mini bar but it is expensive, I believe $5 for a small bottle of water. There is a docking station along with a radio which is set to the Jazz radio station which plays wonderful music.

There is a safe in the room along with a hairdryer, ironing facilities and a TV.

Due to being in Montreal on business I cannot comment on the local attractions but if I were to visit Montreal on holiday I would certainly stay here.

Taxi's are called for you by the hotel staff and arrive minutes later. There is a gym however I cannot comment on that as I did not use/see it.
There is also a restaurant in the hotel but again I cannot comment, I would suspect that it is expensive however probably worth the money. However for the sake of a 20 minute walk to downtown there are plenty of restaurants ranging from French to Italian.

I had just arrived at the Le Germain hotel from the Sheraton Centre in Toronto where all I saw were large high rise tower blocks and concrete and to arrive in Montreal and see trees, parks, cobbled streets and homely restaurants I was most impressed!!

Not cheap but worth the money!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyHoliday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We decided to spend a night in this hotel in Montreal after having stayed at Le Germain in Quebec City... and we found the hotel in Montreal rather disappointing. First, the lobby is very noisy because it connects with the restaurant on the first floor. Second, the building lacks the charm of the Quebec hotel. Third, breakfast was rather "average" if not short of food like jams. Finally, the staff made their best to be helpful but ...
Something really positive, the hotel is situated downtown, close to the best area in St Catherine Street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Property: Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Address: 2050 rue Mansfield, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Design and Welcome Unique to MontréalIn a trendy downtown neighbourhood stands our chic and intimate boutique-hotel, intended for both business and leisure clients alike. The product of the astonishing transformation of a former office building, the hotel offers a unique concept in accommodation.Aesthetic Sense and Attention to DetailIn the hall, the eyes are immediately drawn to the luxurious furnishings, bouquets of fresh flowers, the warm fireplace and intimate lounge areas. You'll take in the peaceful atmosphere, a sign of the cozy comfort that awaits you in your room.Sophistication, Refinement and Enveloping ComfortThe hotel's 101 rooms and suites are inspired by loft-style architecture and allow guests to make the most of the natural light and views of the city. An elegant, highly functional design and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Germain Montreal
Montreal Le Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing