We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the summer activities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Port of Montreal

Old Port of Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.17*
and up
Old Montreal Walking Tour
Ranked #17 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old Port of Montreal is one of the most popular tourist attraction in the country with more than 50 activities and 6 millions visitors every year!
Guelph
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss the summer activities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went here in september, and seeemed to have missed most of the activities. Once we saw the water there wasn't much going on. The longer stretch on the east side had a nice view at night. There could be more landscape maintanence, some random parts of the port look somewhat run down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    577
    190
    36
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and scenery.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful scenery and the views to the rivers are excellent but nothing else unless you go with children. They have activities for kids throughout

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Old Port was OK. The views are pretty but it wasn't what I was expecting. If you visit Old Montreal you should take a walk down there for a few minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Dubb_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clock Tower Beach is a highlight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stumbled upon Clock Tower beach and fell in love. It’s not often you see a beach on a fast flowing river. We liked it so much that we watched the Fireworks Festival from there. Note, though, while you can see the fireworks, they aren’t as spectacular as they’d be from the Jacques Cartier bridge or somewhere closer.

We loved that we could bring our own food onto the beach (just no alcohol or glass bottles). We got there by 7:30 (for 10:00 fireworks) and had a front row seat. Completely worth it.

For more information on our trip to Montreal, see The Curious Travelers blog (July 2013).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheCuriousTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Clean and quite attractive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Many small stores selling accessories, sunglasses etc. not crowded when we were there which was a weekday morning. Made for a nice stroll and the water view was quite nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Port of Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Port of Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing