We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shouldn't Rest on It's Laurels” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de La Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #11 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shouldn't Rest on It's Laurels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the 5th time last weekend. It was okay. Our overall impression was that they need to step up their cleaning, their professionalism, and the overall impression of the hotel. First, let me say that in the past the place was spotless, the service was impeccable, and we absolutely LOVED it. Something was different this time. When we first walked in, it just didn't smell clean. There were fingerprints on the glass, and the floors looked a bit shabby. We went out Friday night, slept in until 10 on Saturday, and then went out until about 4 pm. Why do I tell you this? Because between 10am and 6pm our room was not made up. In fact it never was. I mentioned this to the front desk and they did not seem surprised. I asked them to bring fresh towels to my room and they told me I could pick them up and bring them myself. It was just..... odd. For $400- for two nights (with tax) I expect a clean room and clean towels. I expected someone to say "oops-- let us give you a free night" or something-- but no.
Breakfast was pretty good. The snack kitchen is great-- cheeses, cookies, etc. are all for the taking.
This used to be our favorite place. It is right on the bike path, across from a great park, and near Mount Royal St. which is funky and fun to walk and shop. We love the Plateau area and will probably return to that area, but most likely not to that auberge. We have recommended this place to many people.... but won't again unless they prove themselves and don't just rest on their laurels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    142
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
188
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

We go here every year for our wedding anniversary (long weekend) and it is, quite simply put, our favorite hotel in the world...a "must-stay"!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeview60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful family getaway to Montreal with our two children, ages 16 and 20. I spent days pouring through guidebooks and trolling the web to find a place to stay, initially looking for a bargain in one of the big boutique hotels but eventually they all began to look the same and I focussed on finding a smaller, more personal experience in an interesting area that would be comfortable, affordable and memorable. Suffice to say we found that at the Auberge de la Fontaine, a small, colorful and well-appointed inn overlooking a lovely park in the Plateau. Every member of the youthful staff was both welcoming and extremely helpful, the environs delightful, our two rooms impeccably clean, comfortable and attractive. We were unfailingly welcomed with a smile by whomever was working at the front desk as we came and went, and requests for assistance with dinner reservations, directions and other help were both prompt and gracious.
After the first night in a fine but small room on the third floor we decided to splurge on a suite with jacuzzi overlooking the park - well worth it, especially after a long day of walking in sub-zero temps. Our kids loved their room on the ground level - a spacious, colorful double with fold-out couch, TV and WiFi - and everyone appreciated the open kitchen, well-stocked with complimentary snacks, teas and other drinks. Comfortable beds, bright and contemporary decor, individual thermostats, windows that open for fresh air and well-stocked bathrooms invite relaxation, while the neighborhood offers endless entertainment. The scale of the auberge made us very comfortable having our kids nearby but not right next door, and they enjoyed the opportunity to explore the area on their own as well as our family outings.
We all enjoyed the ample and delicious breakfast buffets, with healthy choices but also melt-in-the-mouth croissants. Parking was on site and free. Although the inn does have smoking rooms, there is no smoking in the corridors or public ares and we never noticed a trace of smoke.
The auberge is in a terrific area for teenagers, with the excitement of very hip St. Denis and Mont Royal within easy walking distance. We discovered so many delightful restaurants - L' Express, Bieres & Compagnie and Tampopo, to name a few - and shops in and around the Plateau and surrounding neighborhoods. We were equally charmed by the architecture and inhabitants of these neighborhoods, an eclectic mix of old and new, traditional and trend-setting. Because our car was so easily accessible, as opposed to the long waits for valet parking at the large hotels, we could just hop in and head off to different parts of town, returning whenever we wanted if someone wanted to rest or head out in another direction. We packed a tremendous amount of sightseeing and exploring, fabulous eating, shopping and movies into three days, and all agreed we want to return to Auberge de la Fontaine next winter.... although visiting the Jazz Festival, seeing the snowbound Montreal parks leafed out and green, and sitting on one of the terraces of the countless cafes and watching the fascinating parade of people who call this vibrant city home might well entice us to return this summer.

  • Liked — The location, personal attention, warmth, hospitality, ambiance, comfort and scale.
  • Disliked — Can't really think of anything - maybe some softer pillows and a stronger coffee.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

Auberge de la Fontaine is the perfect place for a getaway to Montreal, especially to enjoy the many pleasures of the Plateau! One of the reasons I initially chose it was the ease of getting to it - no worries about downtown traffic - it's a quick, easy and painless drive from the US. Parking is simple and convenient. There was a snowstorm just before I arrived, and the morning after I got there, my car was totally shovelled out. That's extraordinary service! Rooms are lovely and funky - fun decor, with lovely views of the Parc from many. Rooms are not huge but are very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious. The kitchen is a wonderful, handy feature. Requests to the front desk are met with enthusiasm, and accomodated beyond my expectations. The rates are extremely reasonable. It is a bit of a walk to the Metro - it takes me 15 minutes to get to either Mont Royal or Sherbrooke - but given the delicious Quebecois cuisine, the walk is a very good thing indeed! I've stayed here a number of times now, and I recommend it as highly as possible.

  • Liked — excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank parmachenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

The auberge offers spacious, clean rooms. The location was perfect for us. The continental breakfast was very good. Plenty of choices -- croissants, excellent cheeses and ham, a variety of cereals, good coffee, yogurts, waffles etc. -- and the staff kept replenishing things past the supposed ending time. This wasn't one of those places that makes guests fight over the depleted breakfast spread and then starts vacuuming 30 seconds after the ending time.

This small hotel gives guests the run of a kitchen stocked with coffee, tea and snacks. A nice touch.

Our son loved our in-bedroom jacuzzi. The bi-lingual staff was friendly and truly attentive. Without even being asked to do so, they tracked down where we could find a favorite Canadian product. Way beyond the call of duty. Better service than we've had in hotels costing twice the price.

  • Liked — The helpful staff and welcoming ambiance
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

A friend and I went for a girl's weekend. This inn has a great location and was a good value for the money. It is walking distance to a lot of the boutiques and restaurants. My friend likes to shop and I like to sit in outdoor cafes and drink coffee or perhaps something a little stronger, so we had a marvelous time.

The room was small but immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. (my friend thinks that I am obsessive compulsive and the bathroom was clean enough for me) The decor was basic, but the beds were comfortable. Also, the window opened, so we got to enjoy fresh air. Between the air and the beds, really the only thing that lured us out of bed that morning was the smell of the bread baking for breakfast.

The breakfast buffet was ample. If you can't find something you like on it, you are just way too picky. The only down part was a strange egg casserole on Saturday, but the rest of the buffet made up for it, as did Sunday's quiche, which was excellent. Also, this inn allows guests to use a kitchen stocked with snacks and coffee and tea all day until midnight.

The staff was very kind and very tolerant of my pidgen French and made excellent restaurant recommendations. We may come back next year with a couple more friends, or perhaps spouses.

  • Liked — The clean bathroom and the all day snack availabilty.
  • Disliked — The strange gelatenous egg casserole.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arabellafigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

I stayed three nights in this Auberge, room 33, second floor. It is a superior room, well furnished, confortable but, as it is often the case in Canada, the bathroom is not very large.
It is true that the stair is quite challenging with heavy luggage.
Staff is helpful and I want point out the pleasure of the "kitchen" (open 12h-24h) with coffe and some snacks and fruits.
The metro is 25 mn away but the walk is pleasant and secure.

  • Liked — tranquility
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#27 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Property: Auberge de La Fontaine
Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing