We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #15 of 143 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The auberge is located across from the Parc de la Fontaine, a lovely park where you can stroll and rest. It's close to downtown, but not in downtown, which meant it was very quiet. Staff was very helpful—set us up with a lovely bike tour of Montreal neighborhoods. The breakfast was very good and coffee and tea are always available!!

We had a wonderful time!! And when my 20-year-old daughter left the guidebooks in her room, they mailed them back to me!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmysTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

The house is quaint, the location is ideal for anyone who wants to really feel like you are living in a true Montreal neighborhood. A 10 minute walk to the Metro will get you wherever you need to go and buses run throughout the day and will get you right back to Rue Rachel Est. The staff is delightful and helpful, the breakfast was varied and filling. If you are not in shape - do not get a room on an upper floor!

If you like to bike - this is the IDEAL place to stay - with the park across the street and a zillion bixi bikes to be had - a bikerès mecca.

A very good experience in a charming b&b - we would return in a second!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daffylaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location is not brilliant. About 20 minute walk to the metro and on a hot humid day that is too far, particularly on the way back.
The size of the room was fine but the airconditioning was blocked on the first night so we could not sleep. Thereafter, despite several complaints it was never adequate.
Breakfast was ordinary and the staff waited until food needed to be replenished instead of anticipating.
The staff were friendly and helpful but that does not make up for a hotel that was expensive (almost the same as the Hilton in Quebec) and failed in most areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location across from a park and you really feel the vibe of the city as the cyclists bike past (we visited in July). The hotel has a really welcoming, personable feel. The staff are really friendly, and I really appreciated all day access to the kitchen so we could have tea, coffee and cookies anytime. Our rooms were nice with exposed brick, but mostly it's simply a wonderful feel that would bring me back to this hotel again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our first visit to Montreal was short but sweet. A wonderful inn, small yet personable. Parking could be an issue but the hotel has a few spots reserved for customers on the street. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and we were very happy with it as it had a small balcony overlooking the street and park. Each room is different but must be able to climb stairs as there is no elevator. Staff friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast included! Great location within walking distance of restaurants, Mont Real, avenue st denis. Parc La Fontaine is a wonderful urban park with lots of activity as well as walking paths. Would stay here again and hope to do so in the future as we did not have enought time here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

So I have already reviewed how good the hotel is in a prior post. So the new news is that the park has a fabulous restaurant at ts heart: within an hour of arriving we sat under a tree, eating salmon tartar and sipping bierre blanche while listening to some local talent singing for a radio broadcast. Instant relaxation, instant culture transfer (from Boston).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family and I spent 3 nights in Montreal last week (July 12-15) and we enjoyed our stay very much. It was our second time at Auberge de la Fontaine. The hotel is small, with very personable staff, ready to help with anything you need any time of the day and night. There was a misunderstanding when we arrived and we were given a different room than what we expected, and the problem was solved in no time, with apologies. We had a stroller which they stored for us in a room beside the reception desk, so we could have it ready any moment. The breakfast is very nice, with lots of variety of foods, from yogurt and cereal to croissants and muffins, different kinds of fruit, coffee and tea, milk, and fruit juice. The location of the hotel is perfect especially if you travel with kids. The hotel is across the street from one of the biggest parks of Montreal - Park de la Fontaine. It is also very close to Mont Royal and Rue St Denis which has a lot of shops and restaurants. It is close enough to the Mont Royal metro station and very close to a few buses that take you to Old Montreal should you not want to drive your car once you park at the hotel.

Overall, I would go back again and I would recommend this place for a short stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 143 in Montreal
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $107 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing