We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge de La Fontaine
Ranked #15 of 143 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Auberge de La Fontaine during Christmas week 2011. It was cold and snowy outside, but inside all was comfy and very nice. Our room had a view of the park covered in snow. Location is good - near restaurants. Parking was okay because alternate side was off for the winter. I would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 392 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

Auberge de La Foutaine has been my stop in Montreal for at least 6 visits over the years. The staff are always helpful and user friendly; the kitchnette a little wonder in today's world; the breakfasts are wonderful and the rooms bright and very un-McHotel. It's showing its age a little in small ways. The first floor rooms can be not so wonderful. On a visit last year with my family, a couple of the rooms by the office were very small, and not so nice as the 2nd and 3rd floor. However, I would recommend a stay here anytime, as it is just a great place overall and the neighborhood and surrounds are just perfect for a Montreal visit. You can visit the touristy areas and then come back to quiet and beauty of an older neighborhood and a vast, beautiful city park.

Room Tip: Take the 2nd or 3rd floor, however, these are not for folks with walking/stair difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I went to Montreal for our honeymoon but were on a budget so ended up here. We wanted to be in a neighborhood of the city instead of the touristy (read pricey) area. The neighborhood - the Plateau - was great! We could walk to many restaurants, shops, and bars as well as to the Metro station to get to Old Montreal or downtown.

The hotel itself was cozy and nice, the staff was helpful and the breakfast was incredible! We kept saying we'd try a restaurant for breakfast for some variety but always got sucked into the array of croissants, bread, cereal, pate, cheese, quiche, juice, fruit...

Our room itself was a little disappointing. It was on the bottom floor and just had a view of the alley. We could hear any activity of staff or breakfast prep through the walls. No curtains on the windows meant my husband was taking an extra quilt from the closet to hang up to block the light in the morning so he could sleep. It wasn't exactly honeymoon material but it was comfortable and clean and the most important things to us were location and budget.

Room Tip: The downstairs room was disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

For our second visit to Montreal, my husband and 14 year old stayed here in August of 2011.
It was great to stay next to the beautiful Parc de la Fontaine and I enjoyed my am walks throughout the park and adjacent area. Foodies, shoppers and cyclists would all be happy to stay at this Inn. The breakfast was much more varied than the commensurate breakfast at an American hotel and it was nice to see the different travelers in the morning. Neighborhood foodie delights include"Au Pied de Cochon" and "La Banquise."
Due to arriving in the middle of Hurricane/Tropical Storm Irene and staying under the roof, our room had a leak. Staff offered discount for a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamasanbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

A friend and I made a last minute plan for a weekend in Montreal. While she is generally the planner of our past adventures, she was too busy to do so this time around, which left it up to me to find a place within our budget.

I was looking for a place with some charm and idiosyncrasy...not quite as sterile or corporate as a Holiday Inn, but not so crazy expensive as some of the boutique hotels I'd been seeing.

This was a great fit for us - two 30-somethings looking for a safe place to rest our heads after gorging ourselves on great food. The staff was friendly, the location ideal...parking was easily found right by the hotel and two restaurants we wanted to check out were in easy walking distance (Au Pied de Cochon and La Banquise...both worth checking out for entirely different experiences). The park across the street is beautiful and during the summer month we were there it was filled with folks enjoying picnics and good weather.

Our room didn't have a view to speak of, but was roomy, had good water pressure and a nice enough bed. The walls were thin, as others have noted...but it wasn't a big deal. The breakfast spread is also a nice step up from just dry cereal and bad coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carikube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed 4 nights in L'Aubere de la Fontaine in Montreal, for business, but it felt like pleasure. The inn is a welcome escape from the business of downtown Montreal, and is located right across from Parc La Fontaine in the Plateau. The rooms are quaint and comfortable; I stayed in a standard room, but it was very nice for one person. There are robes that come with the room, and you have full access to their kitchen until midnight, in case you want to make a coffee or tea, or have a late-night snack. I can't say enough about the breakfast that comes with your stay; there is a spread of healthy options, including yogurt and granola choices, fresh fruit salad, juices, freshly baked goods including croissants that are to die for. There is also a daily hot breakfast option which was always tasty. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the Metro, and nearby to shops, stores and services. My only comment would be that it would have been nice to control the temperature of the room; it was a bit warm in early October, and I had to open the window a few times. This is a great place to stay if you want to experience Montreal beyond what the tourists see downtown.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are nice, butt a step up to the superior rooms for a little bit more may be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplegrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a great auberge - fabulous location. The breakfast and snack throughout the day were appreciate. The staff was very accommodating for our young baby. Worth it!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 143 in Montreal
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Fontaine

Address: 1301 Rachel Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $107 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge de La Fontaine is a quaint bed and breakfast hotel situated in the thriving plateau Mont-Royal neighborhood, facing the renowned Park La Fontaine, and a few minutes from the Montreal downtown core or the business sector. From our bed & breakfast hotel, one can easily walk to the Mont-Royal metro station, to Saint-Denis Street or Mont-Royal Avenue all of which has a number of bars, restaurants and boutiques. Whether it is for a vacation, holiday, business trip or for rest and relaxation, Auberge de La Fontaine is an excellent choice for your stay in Montreal! With over 25 years of experience in the hospitality industry, Auberge de La Fontaine bed & breakfast hotel has 21 fully equipped rooms that are each designed in their own unique style. An elaborated healthy buffet breakfast is served every morning and at your service is a warm and welcoming staff aiming to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Nature in the heart of Montreal Imagine waking up one morning and within a few steps you're on a winding path with magnificent Flora, large Maple trees, vast green spaces, colourful works of art and two linked ponds with a fountain. All this while in the heart of Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge de La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Fontaine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing