We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Ranked #52 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Recently we were in Montreal to see a concert at Le National (an excellent venue, by the way) and stayed one night at Auberge Jardin d'Antoine.

We loved the place and would recommend it without hesitation.

The hotel is located in an excellent location in the heart of the Latin Quarter. There are lots of interesting shops and restaurants all around, with the area heavily influenced by the local student population.

The main downside of the hotel is the lack of onsite parking. However, there is a municipal lot a short walk away, and we had no difficulties parking there. The rate of $10 per night is far better than the $20 or so you may pay if you are closer to the City core.

Check in and out was easy and efficient. Our room was lovely. It was well appointed, well decorated, clean and comfortable. It looked out onto an interior patio, as well as other buildings, which wasn't all that much to look at but still represented a nice area to sit (there were bistro-style tables and chairs). It was very quiet. The bathroom was small but clean and well appointed.

Breakfast was standard continental fare but much better than some of the continental breakfasts you might get at a budget hotel.

If you are looking for a small, inexpensive hotel with all the amenities you need and breakfast, this is an excellent choice. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, quality, location
  • Disliked — no parking, but not a big deal
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    171
    42
    8
    4
See reviews for
74
209
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

This was the first visit to Montreal for my daughter and myself. We do a trip together every year and this year we decided on Montreal. We chose the Latin Quarter as we had heard that there was lots to do and see right in that area. The taxi from the airport went smoothly with the fare being the same as the fixed price to downtown. Check in was easy and friendly and thankfully, for us, in English. The standard room was not big but comfortable with one queen and one twin bed. It was very clean and had lots of room in the closet. The bathroom was small but again extremely clean. There was a self regulated air conditioner which was definitely needed. No view from the room, just onto a parking lot. But that was fine because it was very quiet at night; we didn't hear any noise from the street or even other guests. The front lobby had lots of brochures and other articles for visitors and the front desk provided us with a cork screw for our wine. The only thing the hotel didn;t have was an ice machine which I would have liked. Breakfast was in the basement with a nice little outdoor patio facing Rue St. Denis. It was nothing to write home about but was adequate. It had croissants, muffins, bagels, cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, cheese, cold meat, bread to make toast and coffee.
Rue St. Denis is a very busy street in the afternoon and evening. UQAM is right there so there are throngs of young people around especially in the restaurants and bars at night. The metro is only 2 blocks away, it is within easy (15 min) walking distance of Old Montreal, and there are many many restaurants, cafes, shops and theatres withing a three block radius. There is very good shopping on the upper part of Rue St. Denis ( across Rue Sherbrooke) The restaurants near the hotel were very good...sushi next door, Sila (Italian) which the hotel gave us a coupon for was also good. We had the table d'hote at Maraco (sp?), a French Bistro, just up the street that was excellent. That being said the area was a little grungy in some places (squeegy guys, deadbeats here and there), but we felt safe and at no time was there any problem. We were there during the Montreal film Festival and we took in a foreign film which was great.
With the CAA discount I thought this was a very good deal, a good location with a friendly staff and a comfortable room.

  • Liked — Quiet, but lots of activity in the area
  • Disliked — Didn't have an ice machine
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband, daughter and I just stayed here recently for three nights after driving up from Burlington, Vermont and were extremely pleased. The hotel staff was very helpful in many areas and provided parking nearby for $10 a day. The hotel room which was a 2 room suite was very clean and comfortable as well as nicely decorated. The bathroom was also very nice with a great jacuzzi tub (for two). The location is ideal, located in the Latin Quarter on Saint Denis with a great selection of restaurants and shops right outside the door. It was about a 15 minute walk to Old Montreal which was fantastic. We only used the metro once (to go to the Biodome) and walked everywhere else. The place has class and is a great deal for this part of Montreal.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank wander&wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My family and I (two adults and two teenage boys) stayed here for a couple of nights for our first trip to Montreal. This place is terrific. The only issue preventing me from giving this hotel 5 stars is the parking. Once we got past the luggage loading and unloading difficulties and parking the car several blocks away, we thoroughly enjoyed Jardin d'Antoine. The staff is very pleasant and helpful, the room (one of their budget doubles) was very clean and modern, the breakfast was fantastic, and the location is perfect. Even with the parking difficulties, if I ever return to Montreal I'll be contacting Jardin d'Antoine first for accomodations. Many choices for restaurants nearby (we tried Ethiopian for the first time) and an easy walk to the Metro (and a very short metro ride to Old Montreal).

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, and location.
  • Disliked — Parking.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank blayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2007

After spending four nights downtown wanted to experience the Latin Quarter. Quaint looking website. Checked out the hotel personally. Was not able to see the actual room we could book but shown a similar one. Arrived the next day to check in. Had to park outside (15 minutes only) carry all our heavy suitcases up three flights of stairs. Then rush back downstairs to take the car to the Library car park a block or two away. Only had air-conditioning in one room (we booked a suite) and the humidity was high even though it was May. The suite was much darker than the one we had been shown. Everything was quaint. Great big jacuzzi in the bedroom but tiny little wardrobe! Not drawers in the bedroom but three under the TV stand! The lighting was awful in both rooms and as we had cloudy days our entire time, it was very apparent. The bathroom had one small glass shelf above the excessively large washbasin to put your toiletries. The coversion of this house from apartments to a hotel was not done by professionals. The location is excellent and I believe the owners are trying hard. But the staff were aloof if not extremely rude. They obviously have had no training in hotel management or dealing with the public. Also it was obvious that if you did not speak French, you were going to have problems. Allow at least an hour to check out if you have a car as you have to go and get your car, pray there is a space in front of the hotel or drive around and around until there is one. Then you have to lug all your luggage down three flights of stairs. Meanwhile the receptionist calls your room to tell you that it is time to check out and she really is not pleasant about it. Overall another very disappointing Montreal hotel!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnaby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

This is a small European style hotel in a great neighborhood, full of students and small restaurants and convenient to two Metro lines.
Our first room (#33 - a small suite) was not satisfactory. The sofa, easy chair, carpets and curtains were soiled. The decorative accoutrments dull and worn. Both the living room and bedroom were dark with poor ventilation. The bathroom was gorgeous but who spends their vacation in the jacuzzi? We spent 1 night there and were then able to move to a bigger suite that was clean , airy, bright and comfortable.
The ambiance is so-so. The so called garden and patio that some rooms look out on is very small and dull.The breakfast is sumptious and the service in the attractive breakfast room impeccable. The staff at the hotel were, in general, very helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Experiencedvoyageure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Le Jardin D'Antoine was a great find. For Montreal, the price was very reasonable (I think we stayed in a deluxe room). The room was spotless and quiet, the breakfast was more than ample, wireless internet was included in the price, and the staff was plenty helpful. Also, the location was perfect. Rue St. Denis is a great place to be, with lots of boutiques and restaurants, and an easy walk from anywhere you might want to go.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — No elevator.
  • Tips/Secrets — It's a small hotel, so book early!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank panzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#40 of 164 in Montreal
526 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#45 of 164 in Montreal
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 164 in Montreal
666 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#41 of 164 in Montreal
325 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 164 in Montreal
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine

Property: Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Address: 2024 rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#27 Family Hotel in Montreal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#42 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel at home in our cozy 25-room 3 star hotel ideally located on the famous St. Denis Street in Downtown Montreal. We offer you comfortable rooms and a warm welcome since 1989.Included in room rates:WIFI and continental buffet breakfast. Parking option at 5 minute walk ($12/night). Unloading zone in front of the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Jardin d`Antoine Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing