We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, walking distance to most sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Ranked #21 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staff is friendly, kind and helpful. the staff helped with directions and site seeing many times and have maps readily available.
Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. If you are an Omni rewards member(free to join) the Wi-fi is free(otherwise $10perday). Hotel is walking distance to McGill and Rue Saint Catherine and underground shopping mall. It's about a 30 minute walk to Old Montreal but staff have instructions for a walking tour to do on your own.
Valet parking for around $26 per day.
The only thing is you can slightly hear the traffic from your room if you are on a lower floor. We did not ask for a room change, which I am sure the hotel would have accommodated had we asked.

Room Tip: Upper floors, and not on the side of Rue Sherbrooke to avoid hearing the cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,756 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We highly recommend this newly remodeled Omni for so many reasons: 1) very spacious, comfortable, lovely appointed rooms with large windows, a refrigerator, and great views, 2) great location near Mont Royal, wonderful restaurants and the museums, 3) twenty walk to the old town, 4) extremely helpful staff, and 5) Giovanni, the concierge was extremely professional, helpful and made our stay a perfect one thanks to his recommendations. The Omni has a heated outdoor swimming pool and many other nice amenities. Note that there is a fee for parking but that is not unusual. We will return for all of our visits to Montreal. Be sure to seek out Giovanni as he is the best concierge we have ever met. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the highest floors looking toward the St. Lawrence River and the views were spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Omni Mont-Royal is a newly renovated hotel in downtown Montreal. Having a room on the 20th floor, the view was stunning. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom large enough. Overall, the room was nice and the floor was quiet. The room was a bit pricey for what you get: 200$/a night for a 4* hotel, but it's downtown Montreal so we expected it. The hotel is also near many restaurants and shop. A metro station is just a 2 min. walk from the hotel.

My only negative point about the hotel is about staff members. We arrived 2 hours after check-in time and our room was not ready. We had to wait in the lobby for 20 minutes. When in the room, I called the front desk to talk to the concierge. I wanted him to help me find a restaurant. He was not available so the receptionist said she would help me out. She recommended Mikasa, a japanese restaurant right next to the hotel. She had told me we would enjoy this restaurant, but it was terrible. She should have found the concierge and told him to call us back because she doesn't know a thing about restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabBallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our suite was very spacious, with all-marble baths, 2 full closets, 2 TVs, and 2 separate rooms. The staff was very attentive; the staff in their Opus restaurant were very helpful and accomodating. Some street noise at night - I guess you can't compain about that when you're in the center of the city. Close to McGill University, art and historical museums, the subway, and shopping. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious - ours had 2 full bathrooms and closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed on the 9th floor and had nice large rooms with a great view of the city.

Nice location in downtown Montreal at the corner of Peel St. close to many places to eat and shop.

We didn't get out much due to rain, but was close to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivoryandebony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in the Omni pre and post renovation. My pre-renovation experience was less than stellar, mainly because the hotel was in dire need of updating. Here is my assessment of hotel in its current incarnation:

Pros: Location, friendly staff, refreshed decor with comfortable beds ,nice views from upper-level floors, good rates for this class of hotel, and indoor/outdoor is a plus when traveling with kids.

Cons: Bathtubs were not redone in the renovation, despite claim on the website that the bathrooms were completely updated, nor did they do a much needed reglazing of the tub. Should have done away with the popcorn ceiling in the bedroom. Water coming from shower was always brown and smelly at first. French-only instruction cards attached to each piece of cardio equipment despite hefty English-speaking clientelle (ridiculous!), uneven housekeeping (they never did turndown the second night), and the original doors to rooms were never refinished/repainted (looked very 1960's) and made a loud BANG every time they closed (not conducive for sleeping in).

Verdict: Would stay here again because of the location and price. Looking forward to a much needed renovation of the fitness/pool area which is pretty gross right now (mold and broken tiles in pool/jacuzzi), yucky locker area. I believe this will be happening by end of year.

Room Tip: Higher floors for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxurytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by the valet that gave us our options for parking. Since parking is a bit of a pain in Montreal and we wanted to have in and out privileges, we left the car with the valet ($26, worth it considering we kept the car there until 5pm the next day, after checkout). We checked out at 12pm and the concierge gladly locked up our luggage.

The hotel had friendly staff and concierge to tell you about all the sites as they drew them on a map. They offered a room upgrade which was larger and on a higher floor for ($20) but we declined (not going to spend much time in a hotel room when we're there for one night).

The room was clean and the decor was the vintage 60s style that many others have mentioned. I really liked it. Our room on the 12th floor (1201) had a large bathroom and ample bedroom with a large desk.

Didn't have time to grab a cocktail at the bar in the lobby but would have, as it looked really nice.

Would come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $136 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown on the elegant Sherbrooke Street West near McGill University, the luxury Hotel Omni Mont-Royal dominates the Golden Square Mile’s historical district. Sophisticated, luminous and inviting, this environment showcases an authentic and refined stay. With never more than 12 rooms per floor, the hospitality experience is enhanced by luxurious and comforting loft style guestrooms. Towering the Mount-Royal Park, our 31 story hotel offers magnificent city views and an abundance of natural light. Honoring Montreal’s reputation for gastronomy, Chef Laurent Miot and his international brigade, treat guests on a daily basis to a variety of local flavors à la Montréal. Our French inspired Petit Opus Café and vibrant Alice Bar reflect the city’s rich diversity. A well known address within the business community, the hotel is best known for its dedicated and experienced personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing