We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learnt so much!”

Maison Historique George-Etienne Cartier
Ranked #158 of 407 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former home of Sir George-Etienne Cartier, now a history museum.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Learnt so much!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

For someone who didn't know much of the Canadian history, this was a magnificent little find. I wasn't planning on visiting this exhibition but stumbled upon it. It was only a small admission fee so I decided to have a look. In exchange for my ID I was issued a tablet which provided me with additional information once I arrived at each new room of the house.
I would definitely recommend going a little bit out of the way for this exhibit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“worth a stop”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It doesn't take long to go through this museum but it is full of interesting information and the presentations are really varied. You can stand in decorated rooms and hear voices from the past describe what life was like. The house is so fancy. There is interesting political information as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A victorian townhouse with period furniture”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I enjoyed the visit after having read up a lot on who was Georges Etienne Cartier. He was a corporate lawyer that represented the great builders of late XIX th century and eventually became Prime Minister of Canada. Apparently, he pushed hard to do away with the Seignorial Land Regime which had become an impediment to economic and railroad development. The house itself is nothing extraordinary but it is one of the only period homes that are open to the public.Chateau Ramezay, close by, is an old governor's mansiom, even older and is also worth visiting.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A father of Canadian confederations house in Old Montreal”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The museum give us a great idea of what a Victorian house of the period was like in Old Montreal of a French Canadian bourgeois family house. I especially love the house at Christmas

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Step back into Victorian times”
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This museum is housed in twin houses once owned by Sir George Etienne Cartier, Quebec lawyer, politician and businessman and one of the Fathers of Canadian Confederation. The exhibition in the East House focuses on Cartier's achievements and political career. The West House recreates the prosperous Victorian home it was when Cartier, his wife and daughters lived there in the late 1860's. Every effort has been made to recreate the ambience of the Victorian period, using original fittings and furniture as well as extracts from his daughters' diaries. Each room is animated by a soundtrack in which different characters reveal more about life in the Cartier household.

Helpful?
5 Thank Nairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Historique George-Etienne Cartier also viewed

 

Been to Maison Historique George-Etienne Cartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing