We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Forest Hills, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location, reasonable nightly price.
I'm not big on slandering businesses and wasn't planning on writing anything here but too many things added up by the end of our stay that I felt people should be informed before staying here.
1) The beds were like sleeping on cement blocks and the pillows were terrible. If you like soft beds, don't stay here. It was probably the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. My boyfriend and I seriously entertained the idea of sleeping on the floor instead!
2) You have to pay for the hotel wifi! I just think that's absurd in 2013.
3) Our AC and fridge broke and were making terrible banging noises starting around 1:30am on our last night. It was 90 degrees outside so that was less than ideal. But since we were trying to sleep and didn't want to change rooms in the middle of the night (or have a stranger come to our room and fix it at this hour), we stuck it out.
4) We politely alerted the front desk upon checking out in the morning regarding point #3. We paid the bill already and were not looking to get money back, just wanted to let them know so they could fix it.
And this is what ultimately made me write this review: We proceeded to get yelled at - yes! - by the manager about how we should have called utilities to come fix it and how that was our fault. She was really condescending and mean. Gotta love getting reprimanded by a manager regarding THEIR insufficient facilities. The whole stay left a bad taste in our mouths.
Will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. Please don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    384
    168
    74
    68
See reviews for
213
219
45
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located downtown close to the shops and the pub street and mount real, for a morning run or a walk.
Th hotel is an old building and some floors have been upgrade but not all!
Great friendly staff!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroenvK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the US July 4th holiday for four nights. We loved the location, as we could walk to just about anything (true of most hotels in Montreal I imagine). The room was large, clean enough, if dated. Minor annoyances, like a tub that was sloooooow to drain. Overall the room was clean, but seemed like nothing had been changed since the 1970s. On the plus side, price was very reasonable, spacious room, comfortable beds, in-room fridge (though we didn't use), nice bar with friendly Bulgarian bartender (Zhivkov) and good staff. The pool was a nice treat, though the 9 pm closing seemed early for summer nights. Tons of restaurants nearby, the art museum, walk to the Jazz fest, 20 minute walk to Old Town. Definitely worth it and would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the better, and if you can avoid facing the main drag, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomofboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is well situated, very close to St. Catharine Street which is very convenient for shopping and restaurants. The street is very busy and it is very difficult to park. There were no signs for the hotel parking so we parked in a lot around the corner which was $16.00 per day. It is a fairly long walk to old Montreal, but definitely worth it. If you want to be in that area then there are many hotels that are closer to the area than this one. The room was clean and had everything you need, the air conditioning did not work too well and the door was very sticky, we had to kick the bottom of the door to get it, which one of the housekeepers showed us what to do to get in. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed talking with the bar tender too. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27cadetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. Great location, friendly staff. The room came with a mini kitchen area which was a great bonus. Food is a little pricey in Montreal. The only problem we had was parking one day. We have an SUV so parking is limited in the hotel parking garage so we did have to find a different parking spot one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPad702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I tried booking on line for a busy week in town and most of my dates were sold out .On a whim I called the hotel direct to ask that I be notified in the event of a cancellation for our requested dates. In Minutes Simon helped me book our preference, mentioned discount packages that I wasn't aware that saved us money. Thanks and BRAVO! There was a city wide power outage during our stay ( Metro out) Our air conditioning failed and as soon as we notified the desk a man came up and within a few minutes had us cooling during a high heat/high humidity week.
This was our second year here and everybody was helpful, charming, pleasant...again.
If you have a van, parking is off site, about a few minute walk. no big deal. If WiFi matters, they charge but there is a free business center with internet access. Prime location for Metro and bus
nice walk to St. Catherine, Chinatown, Saint Laurent and Old Montreal.
The rooftop pool is a great morning /evening coffee spot reserved for guests. Hope there are people there when you arrive that notice your knock on the glass. It became a ritual to walk over to let guests with keys in. the lock/open is a B#t#h. Cantlie, please change the lock access!
In all, a wonderful moderately priced property with a superb attentive staff.

Room Tip: queen suite has 2 beds with soft comfortable linens. the " kitchen " with no oven but does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrszaKHAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I knew we were coming to a suite with a kitchenette and I was expecting a room worn out, but, although the hotel is old, the room was surprisingly huge and in good shape. The beds were very good. Clean all the time. The down side in our room was that the bath tub started to clog, I called and reported, but they never repaired it properly. It remained always slow when draining water from a shower on the bathtub.
The price we got for this hotel was much better than other hotels around the area. We love that area, lots of nice places to eat around, and not too far from the Jazz festival area, which is the reason we went there.
Parking was expensive (DAD 23 per day, plus takes, if I remember well) and they also charge for internet. Fewer hotels charge for internet nowadays, so I found that a minus.
Another minus is the only three elevators available for such a huge hotel, lots, of floors, lots of rooms per floor.
Nevertheless, we felt so comfortable that we will probably return the next time there.

Room Tip: I don't know how different the rooms are. Ours was on the 11th floor. Huge space. We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Property: Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing