We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dated, but friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in a good location for visiting downtown Montreal. It's around a 15 minute walk to the old town and port which was easy enough for us. The hotel could do with a bit of updating. The lobby area, lifts and rooms are a bit dated. Our room was large. The shower wasn't great, tended to get extremely hot without turning the taps.
The staff are polite and friendly. At check-in we were given no end of leaflets and information about the city.
Parking was $25 per night around the corner from the hotel for 4x4's.
The hotel was fine, but we would recommend spending a bit more to stay somewhere a bit more modern.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adsvx220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 932 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights to attend a convention in the city. The hotel was a bit of a walk to the convention centre but that is my fault for not booking closer. I do like the hotel. Clean, nice rooms, business centre, rooftop pool and other amenities. The front desk staff are night and day by shifts. The first one to help me (if you can call it that) was an [--]. Arogant, I was 2 hours early and asked if my room was ready as I just came off a night shift and hadn't slept yet and he promptly said no and come back at 4 with no attempt to help. I had to ask for a map and for directions to a site I wanted to see. I had to ask if I could leave my bags and it seemed like an inconvenience to him to call the porter. When I came back an hour later the staff had changed and the lady there was very helpful. My room was not ready but she said another was and moved me without me even having to ask. My bags were returned promptly. She was very helpful as were all the other staff I met. Location was nice and central and everything was within walking distance although if you want Old Montreal you will be walking a bit further. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffS_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I used to live in Montreal and now come to visit family. I always stay at Le Cantlie.Even though their prices have gone up, it's still a very good deal. Near both McGill and Concordia and the Metro and the museums and some good restaurants, with a convenient mini kitchenette so one can make ones own breakfast. Some of the suites are quite spacious and the renovations provide a pleasant respite from cookie cutter chains. Wi Fi and parking is extra and can add to ones nightly rate however. Super friendly bi lingual staff and reception.
,

Room Tip: Pick up a croissant or two from le pain doree and bring your favorite coffee so you can make your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulieinBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a great hotel, perfectly located for the university district — just a short walk from both McGill and Concordia.

The staff are helpful and efficient and the hotel itself beautifully maintained.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

More often than not we stay at Le Cantlie suites whenever we're in Montreal, the location is great (Sherbrooke st) ..price is right (usually $110-$140) and the room is super spacious. (we get the 2 queen suites normally since 4 to 6 of us go)...stayed again a few weeks ago and it was great as always ! I recommend this to anyone looking for great value in downtown MTL

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, nicer views (obviously)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We chose this recently renovated, 28 storey hotel because of a week-end special of $99.00 /night.

We went to the city primarily to tour "Old Montreal", but the hotel was not as close to that area as we had thought.

We arrived around 2:00 pm and were told our "renovated" room would not be ready until 4:00 but we could have an older room if we wanted one right away. We opted to wait, and are glad we did. The 24th floor room was very spacious, bright, comfortable, and clean. It had a mini kitchen with fridge, coffee maker and dishes. The bed was comfortable as well, and we enjoyed two good nights sleep.

We went to the roof top pool which offered warm water, lots of sunshine, and a great view of the city.

We also stopped by the mezzanine bar for a couple of drinks and appitizers which were very good and well priced.

Of special note is the fact that every hotel staff menber we talked to during our stay was very helpful and friendly.

Favoured with good weather, we enjoyed the long walk to the old city each day, and took a $12.00 cab ride back at the end of the day.

The walk must have been good for us because we didn't put on a pound inspite of some very good and rich meals during our visit to Montreal.

We would recomment "Le Cantile" to anyone visiting Montreal

Room Tip: Not all rooms have been renovated, so ask for one that has been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPAnderson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Great staff- every one of them. Needed a/c help and fixed right away. Personal concierge services freely given. Good resto on site. Location near McGill and all kinds of great restos. But this boutique hotel was a real find...enough to make me abandon collecting points from my frequent-stay brand.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimivosges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
2,757 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#48 of 165 in Montreal
431 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing