We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & very nice suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #64 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location & very nice suite!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went to Montreal with friends Saturday night to party..I agree with the others - the location is great as its within walking (or stumbling) distance to the clubs on Crescent St., is close to the shopping areas along St. Catherine St and is walking distance to the public space where many festivals take place. The suite was worth it as you get extra space to relax with a sofa, coffee table and a kitchenette with a small table. Whats good about this layout besides having room to breathe compared to most hotel rooms is that the beds are separated from the rest of the room with a divider (cant remember if the divider had a glass door) so when youre sleeping you don't notice the air conditioning running. The beds were very comfortable, definitely above average. The breakfast buffet was a good deal but make sure you get there by 10 so youre not rushed into finishing as they take the food away around 11. If you get the American buffet, don't forget youre allowed to order custom-omlettes, which is better than having plain scrambled eggs on the table. Its a quiet hotel and when you register at the front desk you have to sign a sheet agreeing not to party! I dont mind because Id rather go out to party anyways. Its an older building so I noticed some guests were annoyed with the elevator as not all of them seemed to be working. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckster500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    402
    170
    76
    68
See reviews for
222
230
48
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Chose this hotel from several downtown options because of an online deal. The location was very convenient, only a couple of blocks from the McGill campus and Sainte-Catherine's (a highlight of downtown Montreal). The hotel is located on Sherbrooke, which is easily accessible when traveling from out of town. The staff was friendly and attentive, but our room could have been cleaner. We arrived to find that the coffee machine had not been cleaned since the previous guests (the coffee grounds were still in the strainer) and we had to wash the utensils and cups in the kitchenette before using them because there was residue/food bits from previous usage. Also, the room had a peculiar smell to it - could have been from a cleaning product, but wasn't appealing. Finally, there was no in-room TV channel directory, which I have come to expect in other hotels. Wireless internet was $4.95 + taxes for 24hrs, which is cheaper than many other hotels (and the internet was consistent).

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if desired, a room on a higher level for a better view of either Mont Royal (nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04CaitW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, it is in walking distance of most of the sights and has good places to eat close by. We would recommend that you do a 'warm up' before you attempt to get to the park (which isn't far up the hill) as there are so many steps to climb!! We loved our room which included a small kitchen and a sitting area. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and although there wasn't a safe in our room, we were able to use the safety deposit boxes at reception.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TLT475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is located on Sherbrooke West between Peel and Stanley...this is a great central location to all the places you want to visit! This is close to McGill University, close to the Museum, shopping on St. Catherines and to all the local restaurants! Rooms are very nice and adequate space for two people. Only minus is there is no safe for ones safe keepings and they do charge for parking! But overall it was a very good experience!

Room Tip: This room did not provide a safe for your safe keepings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommeegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was my second time staying at this hotel. The first time I really enjoyed my stay - I found the room that I stayed in was spacious and well air-conditioned, the staff was friendly, helpful, and professional. Unfortunately this time, we had a problem with air conditioning when it was particularly hot and humid. A group of us had booked two rooms and both were very hot when we arrived and took some time to cool down as the air conditioning had been turned off. The hallways were also very warm for the entire duration of our stay. One of the rooms had a problem with the air conditioning that took about two days to be addressed. We were told several times that the problem had been resolved when it hadn't been. Eventually we were able to have that guest moved to another room. The hotel was very busy during our stay and the elevators take a very long time as it is a very large older building. The building is centrally located which makes it a big plus, but it is also dated and in need of some updating. I would give it a 3.5 overall. It's clean, the rooms are more than adequate, but a very hot summer is not the best time to try and save money by cutting back on air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in an executive queen suite. Had a really comfortable bed, a full kitchen, and a pull out couch. We didn't use the couch at all but the kitchen was really great and fully equipped with utensils and cooking supplies. It helped us save some money and it was nice to not go out for every meal in a five day stay. Housekeeping was super nice and came every day with no issues. Called to get non feathered pillows and they arrived in less than five minutes. The pool on the roof was really nice and a welcome break from sight seeing. The location is great! Super close to a metro stop and also the tourist attractions of mount royal and the crescent street area. Only downsides were having to pay for wifi, parking was pretty expensive ($23/night, no discount for staying at the hotel?), and the elevators take a long time to come. It should be noted though that none of those downsides would prevent me from staying again though.

Helpful?
Thank Hopehopehopee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived after long flight from London to find that our suite was just what we wanted. Huge rooms, comfy beds and a clean well equipped kitchen and bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful-there are free safety deposit boxes available in reception. We didn't sample food in restaurant as we preferred cafes on Peel Street for quick breakfasts. Washing machines/dryers were located on 27th floor (2 dollars a wash) and the gym had panaoramic views of the city. We used the metro for our stay and Peel or McGill are both handy. There are two little shops selling milk/snacks that open quite late on Peel street.

Room Tip: Lift was little noisy during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,598 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 165 in Montreal
2,169 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Property: Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing