We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #63 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is a older, however you cannot beat the location. It is on the corner of Peel and Sherbrooke and across the street from Sofitel. You are in close proximity to all the shops and good restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff was very helpful.
If you're looking to stay in the "ritzier" side of town with a better bang for your buck, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 899 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel was a good option for my group because there were three of us and we wanted three separate beds in the one room. Its on of the few hotels in Montreal offering this, although one of the beds is a pullout sofa. The hotel is nice and has good facilities but the staff were not too friendly. Although we were under the impression that we would have free internet, it was only available in the business centre. It was around 5 dollars per day in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aultom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Choose this hotel for its convenient location: Downtown, nestled between business towers and other, posher hotels, overlooking the Parc du Mont Royal. A walk of just minutes to the busy Ste. Catherine shopping area and the Metro to Old Montreal and other attractions. The hotel is also a quick walk to Crescent Street bars and a range of impressive restaurants. Although our room faced busy Rue Sherbrooke, it was quiet, though the windows did not open. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Although it has been years since we stayed here, and mixed reports on this site, we were quite pleased with the room and service. Make sure to ask for a renovated room as they are apparently featuring photos of rooms with french doors that are the older accomodations. Simon was my sales contact who arranged the reservation and even phoned me, once we were settled, to make sure all was suitable. The parking is secure (under the building) and easy access via elevator.
This is a super location for the hub of the city. The underground access is only one block away, if you want to avoid the weather and still find great shops - even Simons which is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated. Also, a good view of downtown and the St. Lawrence River with...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I was in Montreal recently for meetings and spent 2 nights at Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, my first stay here. It is conveniently located, the rate was excellent and the generally positive reviews suggested it was worth a try.

The entrance is interesting with the automatic doors (outer and inner). One set has to be fully closed before the other will open. It kept the lobby warm and no bursts of frigid air while registering but don't plan to be in a hurry coming or going. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The elevators are small and slow but I didn't spend any time waiting or being crowded.

The hotel is/has been undergoing renovations. I was on a recently renovated floor. My room was upgraded to a king studio suite, a large room, very comfortable king bed with nice bedding, large windows with view of downtown, comfortable desk/workstation and sofa. There was a little nook kitchenette behind folding doors equipped with the basics, dishes, etc. Included was an older stove & fridge combo - worked perfectly, microwave and a sink. There was also a small table and chairs in the room and large, flat screen TV on a wall mounted arm to allow for viewing from the sitting area or bed, very convenient. The bathroom was smallish but clean and functional.

I was disappointed with the room lighting, tended to be dark at night even with all lights on, not the best for reading. One of the sofa cushions was stained. And despite the renovations the room still appeared somewhat dated and tired. However it was spacious, clean and comfortable. I will stay again if the price stays reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyFathersSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Staff were full of attitude, building works were taking place which they failed to inform us of until 8am the first morning when we were woken up by drilling outside our window. We were woken up at 8am every single day, no apology was given even though we complained so many times.
Room was okay but it's nothing special and the service and hassle was certainly not worth the money - the wireless network never worked either and they charge a fortune for it - completely ruined our stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We are a couple in our mid 60s. We stayed at this property one night in January 2012 while visiting relatives in Montreal. We arrived at the hotel around 9pm on a Saturday night and left at 9am the following morning. We used none of the hotel's facilities.

The hotel is extremely well situated on chic Sherbrooke Street, in the heart of the downtown core. It is near everything in central Montreal. It is an excellent choice, if one is touring the city.

Let me first set out the positive features of the property, then I will highlight the few negative aspects. The room was clean, and much to our surprise, had a full kitchen, including a full size fridge and stove + microwave oven. Our room had two double beds. They were memory-foam mattresses and were one of the most comfortable we've ever slept on. The bathroom was clean, and there were sufficient toiletries. On the negative side, the furniture and carpets were somewhat tired. Clearly, the entire hotel needs a renovation. The TV is not flat-screen, but rather a cathode ray picture. But, it is a large screen and it worked well. The bathroom needs sprucing up. The fixtures are old style. Clean, but old style! But, let me stress again that the hotel is very clean and neat.

Parking was $20 plus tax for the night and it is valet parking, where one must surrender the car key to the attendant. I don't like that, but that is only a personal peeve.

We had limited interactions with hotel staff. Check in was fast and pleasant, and staff were helpful. The clerk offered us information about Montreal, but as ex-Montrealers, we did not need a map, etc.

We booked this hotel via booking.com and it was a special deal at $90 plus tax. At that price, we very much got our money's worth and I would not hesitate in returning to this property.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,655 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#49 of 165 in Montreal
2,225 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $138 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing