We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A great location, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

we stayed in one of the 2 room suites for the 5 of us (2 double beds + a pull out couch), plus kitchen and 4 person table. Very comfortable. Perfectly clean hotel. Charming little restaurant with very accomodating bartender for late afternoon break. The location is terrific- walking to Mont Royal, St Catherine shopping, the basilica, McGill neighborhood, subway right around the corner. I would recommend this as a budget-friendly but not dumpy place. The pool area is on the roof- beware- bring your own towels up there as it is bare bones. When we were there it was a weekend and it was party central with lots of drinking and smoking 20 somethings- so my kids were not into it- but if it were a calmer scene I could see hanging out there a bit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysander-nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    384
    168
    74
    67
See reviews for
213
219
45
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Hotel Le Cantlie is in a very very convenient location in downtown Montreal. less than 5 minute walk to Ste Catherine street right in the heart of the best shopping area, and 1 minute walk to the Peel Subway Station.

The hotel itself is nice enough, sure the wallpaper is dated but the bed is comfy and the room is clean. The bathroom was nice, clean and the shower had great pressure. There was a cute kitchenette in our room, complete with full fridge and stove, microwave, pots and pans and cutlery. Nice!

The rooftop pool is the highlight! What an amazing view! The pool is set in a wooden balcony.

We didn't try out the restaurant or bar, but they did have a Happy Hour where the beers were super cheap.

The negative is that it does seem like a party hotel. It wasn't a holiday long weekend, but it felt like one! The walls are fairly thin and people are noisy, lots of university people in Montreal ready to party. I didn't mind as the noise was pretty minimal by the time we got back in at night so in the end it didn't disturb my sleep. The pool got annoying during the daytime when some of our drunken neighbours showed up but the mornings are nice and quiet. There is a fitness centre but we didn't get a chance to check it out.

If you want a nice clean hotel, friendly service, great rooftop pool, great locations, and are okay that it could be noisy at times, Le Cantlie is a great choice for you

Room Tip: try and face Mont Royale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had stayed at Cantlie Suites a few years ago with a boyfriend, and my experience was quite pleasant. This is time around...it was much different. Everything went smoothly when we arrived. Check in was quick, they stored our luggage as we were early, we came back at four and were given the keys to our room. The rooms and hallways are quite dated now, and the cleaning maids leave garbage bags all over the halls when they are cleaning the rooms. There are little kitchen's in all of the rooms, which is a plus, however when my friend went under the bed to plug in the microwave...she found a Condom. We called the maid service and someone came up to retrieve it. We did not hear a word from the hotel after that. Not an apology, a free breakfast...NOTHING. We paid a hundred dollars a night, and were therefore not expecting the Ritz...however we did expect some level of professionalism.
The location of this hotel is great. On Sherbrooke, between Stanley and Peel, 2 blocks from St. Catherine’s. That's really about the only thing this hotel has going for it anymore. The breakfast is very expensive. You have to wait about 20 mins for an elevator. Check out is a disaster.
I won't be staying at Cantlie again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayno19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Le Cantlie Hotel was apartment building that has been converted to a hotel. Our room was a suite with French doors separating the two double beds, dresser, desk, and TV from the living room, kitchen with table and chairs, and bathroom. The bathroom had a long counter with cabinets underneath. The shower had handles for easy access. The suite was spacious and comfortable.
Parking is under the hotel with access via an alley at the back of the hotel. Valet parking was $23 per day.
Street construction made it very difficult to locate the hotel and to get around the city, but there was no street construction at the hotel. On check in, the front desk receptionist was not very friendly, but a porter, Raphael, intervened and was very friendly & helpful.
The hotel is in an excellent location. It is a couple of blocks from chic shopping on St. Catherine Street. Around the corner from the hotel is the entrance to the metro and Montreal’s underground. Not far away, is Old Montreal.
The hotel is an “old”, antebellum hotel with a very nice dark wood décor and high ceilings. On the roof (30th floor), there is a swimming pool and tremendous views of the city. There is a restaurant on mezzanine floor. In the morning, you can have a buffet breakfast or order from the menu. It is available for lunch and dinner, also. In answer to another review, there are three main elevators and one much smaller elevator that just goes from the lobby level to the parking/valet level.
Would stay here on our next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Parking, front desk staff, room, beds, restaurant surpassed our expectations. We have stayed in many Montreal hotesl but never this one. We will be back -last but not least ~the location is ideal in downtown and the room rate is unbeatable

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed there 4 girls for a bachelorette party. first the room was supposed to be a mini suite and it was smaller than a regular hotel room. second it smelled like 20 people had been smoking non stop in the room (non-smoking room requested). when we complained they told us we were wrong and nothing they can do. then one of the beds broke (guy came in and fixed it). the air wasn't working and windows didn't open, we had to open the door to get some air in because it was so hot in the room. Also the staff was rude. Terrible hotel, don't bother staying there...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmalyova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Ill keep it short. bed was comfy. tv was really small. my robe had a huge brown stain on it. front desk staff were very rude. rooftop pool was ok. hotel bartender was slow and rude. vallet parkers were awesome. for 180/night i should have stayed at le germaine. not impressed and will NEVER go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimchee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Property: Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing