We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a friendly, responsive, clean and centrally located hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a friendly, responsive, clean and centrally located hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

This convenient hotel is located within walking distance of the central train station and excellent shopping plus right down the street from MacGill University. The rooms are well-laid out, clean and comfortable. The price is very reasonable for being right in the middle of the city. I highly recommend it and would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjbrooks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    384
    168
    74
    67
See reviews for
213
219
45
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We arrived a few hours before check in and they offered to store our luggage until room was ready. I had requested an accessible room for my bride(wheelchair sometimes) and they moved heaven and earth; got us in a room(suite) within minutes. What a perfect suite (22nd fl)! Old world charm and decor to match! It felt a lot like we were at the Grand hotel de Lourdes in Lourdes, France! Parking is a bit steep but not out of line with other world cities. Stay away from restaurants except for a drink($$$). Many other choices within a few blocks. Staff is fantastic and could teach manners to many. Too bad rooftop pool is closed out of season. Wonderful experience thanks to Monsieur Nicolas and other gentlemen, Mesdemoiselles Sophie, Karine, Melanie, sorry I forgot a few names! Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ta10p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We arrived to find the whole hotel was surrounded by construction mesh,it was @ 6:30 pm so no noise,the reason we came to Montreal was 4 a couple of hockey games and the night life,which both were great.We arrived on a weds night and went out and partied all night,,arrived back at hotel around 5am only to be awaken @ 8:30am by the sounds of jackhammering on the balcony above are room this continue for 2 more days,we were told after requesting a new room that the whole hotel was under reno's n because it was Friday that there was no reno's on the weekend so we stayed put.What i am most disappointed with is because our flight did not leave until 6:30pm on Sunday night we requested late check-out at 5:00pm when we got to the front desk they had the gaul to charge us $85.00!!!!!! In all my travels i have never had such a bad experience oh and not to mention my traveling partner go the bed with the bedbugs i would not reccomend this hotel unless you r desperate and there wasn't a garbage can to stay in on some dark alley in old Montreal!!!!! P.S the city of Montreal rocked this hotel sucked!!!!!!!!!! going back soon.
Donald Stanley Vancouver B.C

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikerscum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director123, Manager at Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Renovations on the exterior of the building were completed in December 2010. During the three month renovation period, management made every attempt to ensure guests were not disturbed by this activity. While this client expressed discontent concerning the renovation noise, no other issue was mentioned to us. The hotel has been thoroughly inspected, floor by floor and room by room, and certified bed bug free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

The location is great (nearby access to Metro, downtown, & restaurants). The rooms are spacious with ktichenettes - stove & frig. Beds are comfortable. Lobby is modest. Service desk very helpful. The Cantlie is an outstanding value for nthe room size, kitchenette, beds, and location - all at a reasonable price. If the hotel were new with an expansive lobby, etc. the price would be in the 4-5 star hotel range. One of the best values for hotel rooms I have seen. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I lost counts on the number of times I stayed in this hotel. It is a bit old, but It is nicely located. The price is decent and it is clean. I travel once a month to Montreal, so when the better hotels are too expensive or when I decide to book in the last minute, I stay in here.
They have nice beds, and small kitchens.
Not a place I would go with my husband, but when you are in a business trip all that you need is a comfortable bed and wireless internet (which is extra-per day).
I stayed once in the summer and I went to their roof top swimming pool (what a view)!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We have just returned from a funeral in Montreal and have the distinct pleasure of battling bed bugs thanks to this hotel! My 1 year old is riddled with bites and my 3 year old is having an allergic reaction to the bites with multiple bites all over his face and each bite swells up to the size of a nickel!

On top of the funeral and the bedbugs, there is construction on the hotel building that starts at 9am and does not end until about 3pm every day (totally ruined the mid-day naps). So we were cranky, riddled with bites and there attending our mother's funeral...HELL!

STAY AWAY!!!!! These bugs can live up to a year without "feeding".

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter_DC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director123, Owner at Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Immediately upon this review being brought to our attention, we conducted a floor by floor, room by room inspection of the Hotel and found absolutely no evidence of bed bugs whatsoever. Everything has been certified bed bug free, including playpens and cribs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This was a great choice for a long weekend mini vacation. The bed was very plush and comfortable with down dovet covers and feather pillows. Just like home! The staff were helpful and friendly. I have to recommend a restaurant on Peel that was wonderful. The Universal Restaurant is a must. We ate there a few times. Really great food and excellent service. The Metro is on Peel one block down and the entrance to the underground mall is two blocks south on Peel. This hotel is dated, currently being renovated externally, and needs alot of TLC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikesgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Property: Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing