We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away until after renovations are complete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #58 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay away until after renovations are complete”
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We were looking forward to a weekend away with no kids and time to sleep in. Not a chance at this hotel. Not only is construction going on inside the hotel, but our rooms overlooked an area under construction. Drilling and hammering began early Sat. and Sunday morning. Only one elevator for the whole hotel was working. We ended up having to take the stairs (along with other guests) as the wait for the elevator was very long. We left for the day Sat. and came back at dinner time to find our room key no longer worked. After a huge hassle (they didn't believe it was our room) we were finally let in, only to find that the room hadn't been cleaned. We had to sit in our friends room and wait for ours to be cleaned. We wanted to go to old Montreal for dinner but it is too far to walk, especially when it is cold and snowing. We had to take a cab there and back. There is a mall attached but there are not many stores in the mall. We had drinks in the hotel after our dinner out and they were very expensive - 4 drinks- $80. No entertainment or atmosphere - the bar is right in the lobby. Our room was very dated and had peeling wallpaper and water damage in the bathroom. At check-out time there was a huge line up at the registration desk and only 2 people to deal with everyone. Considering the vast number of hotels in Montreal, I would suggest selecting a different one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spagirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    930
    608
    257
    103
See reviews for
475
610
127
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt recently and really enjoyed my stay. I know they are doing lobby renovations but that did not negatively impact our stay at all. The fact that it is attached to a nice mall is a big plus especially when it is cold. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

There's a temp reception that looks like 2 tradeshow booths given the reno's still going on in the main lobby.

The front desk indicated all rooms were renovated. The one I got on the 4th floor seemed decent but not amazing. Better than a pig with lipstick but there were still traces of the old decor. The flatscreen in the rm is nice.

The detours to get from the temp Reception make it somewhat confusing for 1st time visitors.

Loved the mall and it restos on the ground floor and underground levels.

Finally, I recommend the swimming pool and the Steamroom - beautiful, tastefully designed and enjoyable.

Overall service was friendly and helpful. Maybe it was the mid-week Staff? :)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyLIFE40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Once the renovation is over, I am convinced this hotel will be a hot spot in town, the suite I got was absolutely amazing, comfortable, with a great fire place, view over the Theatre area, I attended a conference and loved the meeting space with great coffee

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Finally left this hotel today following a week stay for a convention. Firstly, the hotel is going through renovation and every part of the hotel reeks of the construction mess. The entrance is confusing, there are no automatic doors to help you with your luggage, 3 bellman standing around that refuse to acknowledge your arrival, a front desk which also would require you fall over for some attention by the staff...just overall a poor welcome into the hotel.

More disappoint follows when you enter your room. Outdated rooms with very poor lighting, awkward bathrooms that have questionable stains on the floor (I brought flip-flops), extremely slow room service...just overall an awful stay. Many colleagues stayed in other nearby hotels...that's what I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritzycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt for a one-night visit to Montreal. Though the 7 of us were only there less than 24hours we were able to experience most of what the Hyatt had to offer. The parking situation, especially being a weekend, was a little confusing. We had parked on P3 and though it wasn't overly difficult to find the hotel through the mall, it was a touch harder to find the correct elevator to get to our car the next day. Leave a trail of breadcrumbs, or bring a GPS, lol... There are a few elevators to get into the mall area, make note of which elevator you use to make a quick getaway.

Our 2 rooms were booked via Expedia's new Hotwire feature. We didn't know where we would be staying, just that it would be a 3.5star or better and in the downtown area. We were pleasantly surprised upon learning which hotel we had booked, due to the location. Very close to St.Catherine and within walking distance to the Eaton Centre.

We inquired on checking in if there was any possibility of an upgrade, and our very helpful and friendly receptionist Eric was able- the rooms we had booked were on a lower floor, with no fridges, getting 9th floor and fridge was top notch. The room itself(942) had a great city view, but the curtains were really wonky and hard to open due to this, only one of the 2 was able to open completely, the other was blocked by sheers. Beds were firm but also soft, hard to describe. Room was well equipped, well furnished and the coffee and tea provided were very much appreciated.

The mall below the hotel has a decent sized food court and a good number of stores to shop in including a super-market which was really handy. Can buy wine, beer and coolers there in addition to regular grocery items.

The pool was an oasis, pack your swimsuit! Very friendly and well-placed pool staff, with their view of the pool unobstructed and direct- would be great for families. The area itself was great to lounge around in, we even got some sun on a cool November afternoon! I would recommend bringing a magazine or good book to this area and a cup of tea, you will feel like you are at a resort! I am already planning on returning and taking advantage of the massage services there, very relaxing area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calina2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed for three nights, paid for upgrade and were offered free internet to members of our association. The bedding was aging, smelly, and had to be replaced--but the replacement was not much better. . Apparently the chambermaids do not have noses or they would have noticed. The bathrooms had mold growing between the tiles and the toiletries were not replenished. The upgrade to a high floor which we asked for and were charged for put us on the 4th floor overlooking an active construction site where they were drilling until 10 pm, even on Saturday night, too noisy to work, watch tv, or sleep. The building itself is chaotic--being remodeled, the signs say, to come back in 2011. But we were there and paying the fees. We should have been warned. Check out was a crowd scene, nearly two hours wait. Since we had a plane to catch, we trusted them to get it right. The bill came through with the charges for an upgrade we did not have, and daily fees of $12.95 for an internet that had been offered free. When we complained, they apologized and still charged $600 for three miserable nights.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank minnie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 164 in Montreal
847 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,500 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
1,873 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge and its Wine Bar for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on level 6 offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art and Place des Arts, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal and experience the Montreal way of life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing