We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not on the usual HR level” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #58 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Europe
Level Contributor
252 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Not on the usual HR level”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights... must say that this hotel is somewhat trailing usual Hyatt Regency standars, even compared to other Canadian HR in Toronto or Vancouver... used Diamond Suite Upgrade and got 2 connecting rooms, presented as a suite... ok, but someone should devote a bit more attention to details (probably bathroom in one of the rooms could be remodeled to have classical shower, one room could have microwave...etc). Also, cleanliness not too great, found some trash from previous guests... Regency club decent, but understaffed, so often there are no offerings as crowds are too much for only one person working there... breakfast and wi-fi speed are fine, but furnishing is rather dated, hotel really needs some renovations. Noise levels far too loud (even until 3am every night!!), as there was festival directely beneath the hotel, but no infos about this anywhere in the hotel or on the website...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole C, Marketing manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear HotCat11,

Thank you for your review of our downtown Montreal hotel.

We are sorry that your recent experience with us left you feeling underwhelmed.
We apologize about what you endured. We invest a lot of time and effort in our staff to ensure they deliver quality service that Hyatt Regency Montréal is known for. We fully understand how sometimes just one negative interaction can ruin your overall hotel experience. Please rest assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the concerned department and will be taken seriously.

Although you made it quite clear to stay away, you are always welcome at Hyatt Regency Montréal and we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Carole
Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    873
    573
    243
    91
See reviews for
453
585
126
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Hyatt has a great location for business, shopping, sight-seeing. The bedrooms were lovely, although the bathroom I had was a little tired. The food was very good. I ate at the bar one evening, too tired to venture out, and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was for a hotel.

The meeting facilities were fairly normal and beige but well air conditioned. The business area has separate lifts and escalators and is strangelu part of the indoor shopping complex as well as attached to the hotel.

The leasure facilites and pool with a sun deck was an added bonus as I had several hours to kill at the end of my meeting/ after check-out, and so I relaxed and read in the sun and dipped in the pool until late afternoon, being able to change in the changing room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good Evening Stevie007,

Thank you so much for outlining your experience for others to see! It's wonderful to hear the location was to your liking and it's nice to hear you got to enjoy the pool after your stay with the changing room. It's not often people comment on the meeting space, so I'm glad you found it in order. I'm sorry to hear you got the impression your bathroom wasn't the same caliber as the bedroom and food. At any rate, I'm happy you enjoyed yourself and I hope you have the chance to visit again!

Warm regards,

Evan V - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We took a couple's trip to enjoy Montreal and experience use of the French language and some European ambiance. We ended up making a reservation at the Hyatt due to a referral from another hotel. We needed a smoking room and the other hotel kindly steered us to the Hyatt. We found the hotel with ease and were immediately approached by the outside parking attendant. We chose to pay less by parking in the public garage which was $20 per day. We did not use our car during our stay. Our luggage was whisked away and magically appeared in our room before we had gotten upstairs ourselves after check-in. The lovely room had a great view of St. Catherine's Ave. and a terrific air purifier, which I, the non-smoker, truly appreciated.
My spouse was fascinated watching the beehive-like activity as one festival across the street was dismantled and another one put in place. We could hear no noise from any of this. In fact, this was the quietest hotel we have ever stayed in-no noise above us, slamming doors, loud guests in the hall late-night, no children pounding past us in the corridor!
Montreal is a thriving, busy city. We took the hop-on, hop-off bus tour for 2 days. The weather was hot and humid. The food was expensive everywhere we went. We did not eat at our hotel.
We especially loved Vieux Montreal and Rue St. Paul. Notre Dame was stunningly beautiful. One day we walked to Eaton Place to go to the underground city. We stopped on the way at Place Philip where a relaxed lunchtime crowd listened to a Beatle-imitation rock group. What fun!
I was thrilled to find a 2 level mall underneath the Hyatt which also had a food court. The other 2 levels were offices, It was a nice mix of workers in business attire, tourists, and locals. Every single person we met was kind, polite, and multi-lingual. We were approached by perhaps 6 beggars but they were easily rebuffed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marym41808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with your feedback. It is such a pleasure to read that you had such a memorable experience. I am thrilled you found the service to be excellent and the hotel to be well appointed. We have a great location within walking distance to several of Montreal's main attractions. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Montreal in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location is awesome in downtown Montréal. You get out of the hotel and you're on Sainte-Catherine street near all the great restaurants and shops. We choose the hotel for the location basically. The staff was ok. Not awesome but ok. The room was clean and the bed was confortable. But overall the room needs some renovation. Especially the bathroom which feels old. Hotel was quiet but our room was next to a service locker for the staff so it was somehow noisy in the morning. Didn't really cared cause we get up early. The room had a cool view of Montreal downtown. If you get there with a car you'll need to pay some parking fees which adds up to the price. The value is average. You pay for the location I guess. The hotel is connected to a shopping mall with some fast food restaurants and a Baton Rouge restaurant. It's nice to have the restaurants but the shops are not so great. You can also get access to the subway via the shopping mall without even going outside. That can be good if it's raining or if you go in the winter!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boubou418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole C, Marketing manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear boubou418,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Montreal.

We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed the location. Please note that we have started renovations of rooms and bathrooms, we will be happy to let you discover our new product on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Montreal during your future stays in Montreal.

Sincerely,

Carole
Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Location was great, within walking distance to many interesting places in downtown. It's also right on top of a good size shopping mall which has a food court with many coffee/ breakfast choices. The reception staff at check-in was nice. Very friendly and helpful (and the conversation was not scripted, like in many chain hotels. All was good until the morning of check out. I was in the room alone (changing) and the housekeeping lady just barged in. No knocking, no anything. I confronted her and said she should have knocked first. She insisted that she did but I couldn't hear it (TV or radio was NOT on so the room was quiet). She essentially said if I didn't hear it then that's none of her business. I called to front desk to complain. They said they would call back to follow up but never did.

Moral of the story (note to self): Put the "Do Not Disturb" sign out regardless.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank duckioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole C, Markeitng manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Duckioo,

Thank you for your review of our downtown Montreal hotel.

On the one hand, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the reception staff.
On the other hand, we are sorry to learn your check-out experience and misunderstanding with the housekeeping lady; we are making sure that this kind of accident will not happen in the future.

Again thank you for your valuable feedback, we sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Carole
Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm giving this hotel an excellent rating, because I found the staff to be so nice and attentive, and to me this overcomes everything, but it does have its peculiarities - the elevators need work. This is a beautiful hotel in so many respects, they should fix those elevators. You also have to take two sets of elevators to get down to the street. It took some getting used to, but by the time we left we had gotten used to the odd layout. Its location can't be beat. The room was very clean. We were there for Irish dance, and friends who were staying in rooms overlooking the Jazz Festival had to drown out the noise with the television. If you are here for jazz, no problem - but if you are here for anything else, you might want to ask if there's a music festival in town and ask to be placed away from the noise.

Room Tip: Ask about music festivals prior to booking. Jazz festival takes place right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Montreal. Your kind words regarding the top notch service you experience is greatly appreciated. I will share your comments regarding the elevators with our management team. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Montreal the next time your travel brings you back to Montreal!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Staff spoke English which is very helpful and do not underestimate this fact while in Montreal. I found our room to be clean but a little worn. Nothing in room was worn out enough to give hotel a poor rating. Pool and sauna were great. Bar area was great. Breakfast was good and was served till 10:30 am. Hotel is on top of a mall which can be useful for a quick bite to eat and obviously shopping.

The location is great location. You can walk to all the party spots both local and tourist.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ynot_tony_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Good Evening ynot_tony_11,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! It's great to hear you felt at home speaking English with the staff and that the dining and recreation events were up to your standards. I'm passing your feedback along concerning the feeling of worn furniture so it doesn't get out of hand. Please don't hesitate to visit again!

Safe travels,

Evan V - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street | PO Box 130, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Montreal hotels offer direct underground access to the Montreal Convention Centre, the Metro and the Contemporary Museum of Art. Our Montreal hotel is also within walking distance of Old Montreal, Chinatown and the trendiest restaurants. Our hotel features 605 handsomely appointed guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of our dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing