We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Complicated Elevator System, Service Spotty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location, Complicated Elevator System, Service Spotty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a girls weekend. We booked on hotwire, so got a good rate. I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel. More on that....
We planned to do a lot of walking, so the location was the main reason we chose this hotel, as it is right on Ste Catherine and a short walk to both China town and Old Montreal. The Museum of Contemporary Art is right across the street from the hotel. The location is very convenient.
For the most part, the service was friendly and efficient, however, I booked a massage and ended up waiting almost 45 minutes because the appointment before mine showed up late. He should have had his appointment shortened accordingly, rather than push mine back. No accomodations were offered other than an apology. Despite this, the massage was very good, and much needed after a long day of travel.
Entering and exiting the hotel is a little confusing. There is one set of elevators to access the street, parking garage and reception. Another bank of elevators accesses the rooms and the pool/spa. And yet another bank of elevators accesses underground shops and the food court, which is part of the Desjardens Shopping Complex.
I had asked for a late check out, when I checked in, and was told a 1pm check out, at no extra charge, was no problem. However, on the day of departure, our room keys stopped working at 11am, and when I inquired, I was told that if we wanted to keep the room beyond 12, there would a charge of $94.00 plus tax! Needless to say, we vacated the room, and weren't happy. They did store our luggage at no charge, but I would expect that service of a hotel of this caliber anyway.
Complimentary orange and lemon ice water is offered in the lobby, which was a nice touch. The desk staff were happy to provide suggestions and directions.
The room (on the second floor) was tired and in need of "refreshing". It did offer an interesting view of the Museum where a large, outdoor, art exhibit was being projected at night, so we did enjoy the view. There is quite a bit of noise from the street, though not intolerable. The beds were firm.
My daughter enjoyed the pool, which seemed to always be busy.
We also enjoyed room service. Breakfast was delivered on time, still hot, and the food was good.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to those interested in shopping and sight-seeing, but I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingsooncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    886
    582
    246
    92
See reviews for
458
591
125
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel had been the first one that I had ever booked through the discount website Hotwire and I was pleasantly surprised. Upon initial reveal that this would be the hotel I'd be staying at I was kind of skeptical because I had immediately come to TripAdvisor to read the reviews. I had been a little weary after having read through quite a few reviews because they had mostly been pretty disconcerting. HOWEVER was I ever glad that my stay was the complete opposite of what I had read. The service was incredibly warm and very helpful. I had called the hotel directly more than once, the first time was to inquire about having a king size bed and sure enough there were no issues AND no extra charges. They were willing to help right away and the phone call lasted no more than a couple of minutes. The second time I had called was to inquire about the security deposit they would be taking for damages and how much it would cost. I was graciously told it would be 50$ a day (if paying by credit, 200$ if it is cash) and I was happy to see that there were no surprises at check in!
The reviews I had read were very concerned about the state of the hotel since it had been going through some renovations however again I was pleasantly surprised that the renovations had been completed by my stay because the hotel was beautiful and modern. AMAZING amenities, they had amazing views from the pool deck (although the pool seemed a little small) and even a sauna and steam room. The rooms were comfortable and minus the few doors slamming here and there (what do you expect from a hotel right?) my stay was very pleasurable!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I only was in town for a 1 day meeting. Check in was quick, and room was easy to find. I Had dinner in the bar/lounge that was pricy, but excellent cuisine. The modern decor, and expansive bars were very nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I used valet for parking and found convenient for my quick departure the next day. I would recommend to the business traveller, and families looking for clean, downtown hotel with updated modern decor and amenities. When staying in Montreal I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomLYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gigi2016, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will visit us again soon for a longer stay.

Sincerely,

Ginette Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have stayed in a couple of dozen hotels in Montreal through Hotwire and after getting this hotel is was concerned about the mixed reviews. I don't see what anyone could complain about. The service was professional, the room comfortable, the amenities were excellent including a nice pool with a cool steam room that is shared along with the sauna. It is located near the place des arts which means you can walk to the museum of fine arts or old Montreal comfortably.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goawayglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here on a package with Porter while attending the Osheaga festival. Hotel is conveniently located - walking distance to shopping, bars, & restaurants, and very close to a metro stop. The entrance is a little hard to find - they need better signs. Staff were courteous. As it was a busy weekend, we didn't get a room with 2 beds as requested, but my friend and I didn't mind sharing a king-sized bed. Hotel was very clean, and nicely decorated. The pool was lovely - has a skylight and patio doors that open to let the breeze in. We also thoroughly enjoyed post-concert cocktails at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel was beyond beautiful in the downtown of Montreal. The lounge restaurant was to die for. I loved hanging out at the friendly Bar and lounge. The ladies that work there are genuine and delightful. They had everyone interacting and feeling comfortable. Pricing was out of this world though. Glass of wine and wings were $40.00. Delicious.

The room was clean luxurious and comfortable. Coffee was okay and it was nice not to have coffee brewing in the bathroom as some high end hotels still do. The concierge service was beyond outstanding and made sure that I had a cab at the correct time each morning. If you need the name of a good driver in downtown Montreal that won't rip you off and is very respectful and helpful please message me on here. He is worth using.

I had no problem with the english/french situation as they were fully bilingual. Impressive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

2nd time at this hotel for a weekend away from the kids. We wanted to spend a relaxing weekend doing nothing but relaxing and unfortunately we realized the Hyatt couldn't compare to other 4-star hotels in the area. Since our goal was to simply relax and stay in this time, the hotel was going to be tested.

Underground parking was nice, keep driving inside the garage till you see the hotel signs. It can be a bit far from where you parked. But still nice to be right under the hotel, especially during bad weather. Check-in was fast and friendly, but they put us in an adjoining room and we could hear everything in the next room (what they were saying, what TV shows they were watching, etc.) so we asked to switch rooms.

Rooms are over all nice and clean, quiet, and beds are good. Bathrooms are small and not the greatest but I can live with the average rating since it was clean. We decided to rent a movie and stay in on our first night, $17/movie and the quality was so fuzzy (like using antennas) that we had to call front desk to refund our money! We wanted room service but couldn't justify $18/burger so we just went to the 2nd floor food court and picked up some $5/burgers.

Gym had enough equipment to keep me busy and the pool was nice. The indoor swimming pool is heated so great for kids but is small and can get crowded quickly. Internet was $15/day which is excessive but there are free internet options in the lobby and shopping mall food court if you need it. There were quite a few conventions that weekend so the lobby can get quite busy.

We had read bad reviews about the breakfast buffet but wanted to give it a try anyways... What a mistake! $20/cold continental breakfast or $25/warm breakfast. Seriously? I've had some amazing breakfast buffets, none of them were worth $25/person... Sadly, this one fell so far off the mark it was embarrassing and awkward for paying customers. Omelette cook went missing and wasn't around for 15 minutes, food was not filled, selection was TERRIBLE, and you can't order off the menu till much later. Compared to the $18 breakfast buffet at the Omni Hotel, this one loses by a long shot!

Overall, the location is good; close to Old Montreal and across the street from Chinatown. Be careful coming here during event nights at the convention center since everyone parks in the same underground garage. The hotel above a small mall is really convenient to get what you need, especially food from the food court! Unfortunately, the beauty of the hotel couldn't hide some quality issues for guest.

Parking options: Outdoor private lot $14/day... Underground garage $20/day... Front door valet $32/day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khoazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#36 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on the 6th level offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing