We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, friendly and helpful staff, but dingy cold and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #58 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific location, friendly and helpful staff, but dingy cold and overpriced”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel for being in the middle of everything, as other reviewers have said, and that's why it gets 3 stars instead of 2; AND, actually even more important, the very helpful and friendly staff, from the bellboys to room service to the maids to the (what do you call those guys who take the luggage out of the boot or call the taxi? -- those guys), to the reception desk. But the hotel is very badly decorated -- the public areas are a strange unfriendly admixture of colours and styles (which might work in a dark nightclub, but not here) and the rooms look as though they were transplanted from the 1970s -- all browns and beiges and very dingy curtains. The rooms just don't feel very light, even with all of the lights on and the curtains wide open. However, very clean and yes the a/c was fully adjustable and quiet. However, the air did not feel fresh -- felt very stale during entire stay of 5 days. For this price you can do better ... well, except for the location perhaps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonjourduCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    928
    607
    257
    102
See reviews for
474
609
127
935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Location: Excellent

With a mere day and a half in Montreal (one night) I wanted a hotel in the middle of everything, and in this regard the Hyatt Regency was an excellent choice. Located within walking distance of two Metro stations, Vieux Montreal, and Downtown, it was situated in a way that helped me maximize my time in the city.

Rooms/Quality: Solid

Obviously it’s hard to make a conclusive statement about a hotel’s quality after only one night, but I was reasonably pleased with the accommodations. The room was about what I expect from a Hyatt, the bathroom and shower were capable, the Wi-Fi was fast (though only free because I’m a Platinum member) and the bed comfortable. There was nothing negative at all to report about the room, though nothing mind-blowing either.

Quibbles:

There are only two things worth writing about as drawbacks to the hotel. The first is odd but bears mentioning: you need to take two elevators to get to your room. The lobby is on the sixth floor and so you need one elevator simply to get there from the street. Then you have to take a different elevator to access the room floors. This isn’t a huge deal but does add a slight bit of time and annoyance.
The second drawback worthy of a mention is more significant – this is an expensive hotel, and doesn’t really justify its price tag. I was there on an award stay, but if I was to return to Montreal on my own dime I would not pay the 230-250 dollars that the Hyatt Regency regularly demands. Its location is good, but it’s not that good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeena J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear James K

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m very happy to hear that the Hyatt Regency Montreal was an excellent choice during your travels!

We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Azeena Jiwan
Assistant front Office Manager
Azeena.Jiwan@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The first challenge is to find the reception. It's up on level six and all this is not signaled awfully well, frankly. The very nice receptionists and other also very nice staff must be a bit fed up with telling guests the way around. Same goes for the "business center", a small non-descript room, could be a service door if you are not shown to it you miss it. Inside, two computers and a printer. No bostich, no paper clips, no pens...
Then, t's a standardized hotel, part of a chain, and as that it's functional and you sort of get what you book. Standard size room, all amenities, iron with board, huge TV screen, large and very comfortable bed. Nothing to complain everything as it should be.
Still, even chain hotels especially when located down town, have known to come with some charm, but not this one. While it has been refurbished and has lost its grubbiness, it has become cold. All the public areas are equipped with cold colors, violet, black, very white lights, and some kind of oversized electronic chimneys as a failed attempt to make it more cosy. What's more these areas are also really cold, temperature wise, which does not help.
Some more great things. The air conditioning in the room can be dosed really well, and makes no noise at all, wonderful! Also great is the location with an exceptional food mall in the ground and lower floors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzminetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First I will start my review with a comment below another person had put, i also was at the hotel when the fire alarm went off at 5.15am, the situation was handled ok, but as per the review below there was really no direction from the hotel staff, that however was not what upset me. What upset me was the 10 - 15 minutes we were stuck in the stairwell whilst people were trying to get out, i could only imagine what this would have been like if a real fire. Apart from that the fire alarm did not really bother me too much as the hotel was full over our stay and they gave us a letter to apologies.

Now for the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much at the Hyatt and would return, we were here during Montreal's Jazz festival & Canada Day and it was the perfect location, you just set foot outside the venue and your in the Jazz Festival, the music late at night did'nt seem to bother anyone.

The room was clean and spacious, the hotel Elevators need some updating and have a mind of their own which can be a bit annoying. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay very comfortable.

The location of the hotel was great, a 10 minute walk to Old Montreal & a 5 minute walk to Chinatown, and all the other great city destinations are within easy walking distance of the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was really good , and we enjoyed getting our omelettes made each morning and there was a great selection to choose from.

Overall we would return to the Hyatt Montreal for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeena J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Jayda L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts during your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Montreal. I'm delighted to read that you loved the location and enjoyed your stay with us!

I would love to help you with your accommodations on your next trip to Montreal, please don't hesitate to contact me!

Kindest Regards,
Azeena Jiwan
Assistant Front Assistant Manager
Azeena.Jiwan@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriaville, qc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am a platinum program member with Hyatt and I have being stayaing at this hotel regularly for the past 5 years and I can say that slowly but steadily this hotel has become one of the worst in Montreal. ther is no coordination between administration and staff and everything always turn out wrong there: The Regency Club, wich cost about 50$ extra per night, is suppose to give you access to refreshments and private lounge/patio. The Club is supposed to open at 1h00 pm ( wich is very very late!!) but the janitor comes in at around 1h30-2h00 to star vleaning the place. the person in charges set the refreshments table around 3h00....so don't bother paying for that extra you will not be able to use it adequatly. Plus, the patio stays locked for half the day, no one can use the Regency Club, take it from a experienced Hyatt member.

The restaurant and the bar now opens at 5h00!!!! That means no food or drink available during day time, noe even a bottle of water! Service is inconsistent, slow, and completly chaotic.

About the rooms: always half cleaned, towels are paper thin and smell bad. Last nighr, the ventilation in my room was sparaying around a filthy steak odor...ugh!

This morning, a fire alarm started at 5h15 am and we had to evacuate the buiding in bathrobes to find ourselves on the sidewalk for an hour before being able to go back in. nobody from the staff was there to kepp us informed of what was going on, not a single soul from the hotel!!!!!! It was pure chaos since all the personnel was hiding from the clients. very dangerous...imagine a real fire....no one on the boat to assist you.

This hotel and their staff is a shame and no one should pay a penny to stay in this madhouse.

Trust someone who knows the place and make yeourself a favor, two blocks north their is a Hilton, invest your money there, its not as well located as the Hyatt but for a couple of meters to walk more, you will be in good hands.

Room Tip: Simply avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

For the price is not excellent. It seems that they need to keep up with maintenance and updating rooms. The service at the restaurant/bar was terrible. One night manager kept arguing with us about the "self-service" bar. Another bartender was missing all the requests. The room needed big time updates. Location was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick-The-Travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had family in town and they decided to stay here but were very underwhelmed. The room was in need of refurbishing, the wallpaper was peeling, there's no fan in the bathroom, the carpets in the hall were grubby and stained. When I went into the washroom near the bar it was disgusting. One toilet was plugged and had overflowed. The waitress in the bar seemed to forget about us, it took over half an hour to get a drink. All in all, I would say this hotel falls well short of what we expected in a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 164 in Montreal
847 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,496 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
1,873 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge and its Wine Bar for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on level 6 offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art and Place des Arts, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal and experience the Montreal way of life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing