We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updates and better service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #57 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Needs updates and better service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

For the price is not excellent. It seems that they need to keep up with maintenance and updating rooms. The service at the restaurant/bar was terrible. One night manager kept arguing with us about the "self-service" bar. Another bartender was missing all the requests. The room needed big time updates. Location was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick-The-Travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    910
    594
    252
    95
See reviews for
466
604
127
895
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had family in town and they decided to stay here but were very underwhelmed. The room was in need of refurbishing, the wallpaper was peeling, there's no fan in the bathroom, the carpets in the hall were grubby and stained. When I went into the washroom near the bar it was disgusting. One toilet was plugged and had overflowed. The waitress in the bar seemed to forget about us, it took over half an hour to get a drink. All in all, I would say this hotel falls well short of what we expected in a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Trois-Rivieres
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On the positive side: Efficient valet service. Renovated front desk and lounge areas. Nice self-service wine bar. Great pool. Close to the action during festivals. Relatively comfy bed. Very clean room (updated but not renovated in my opinion). My wife was there for a conference, and participants were treated very well. On the negative side: Terrible reservation service (they didn't record our specifications; we were told to call a few days before our arrival to confirm special rates for breakfast; when we did, there was no mention of this in our reservation and we couldn't get the special; we were given early check-in privileges in compensation). When we arrived at the front desk, our room was not ready and we were told we woudl have to wait a while. The man at the desk almost didn't look at us and barely spoke to us. When we came back later, the same man murmured something we didn't understand and left while we were standing right in front of him, and he didn't comeback. We finally got help from another staff member who didn't seem to be interested either (she typed on her computer for a long time without saying a word). I've never had an experience like this at a hotel in my life. As far as the room is concerned: bathroom was very small (almost no counter space). Not much storage (only 3 small drawers in the entire room). Cheap coffee maker. Work desk was not very functional. Refrigerator was unplugged and I had to reach behind the big piece of furniture to plug it. Power outlets were few and already overloaded. I've never seen so many items plugged in a power strip or an extension cord in a hotel room in my life. Our room was located away from the festival, and you should think about that when you place a reservation because things can get very noisy during summer (festival season), even on our side of the hotel. Really, I will not go back to this place unless I need to...

Room Tip: If you need your sleep, ask for a room away from Sainte-Catherine Street (place des festivals) durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madenjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rama, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency June 17th thro 20th while in Montreal on business. I was a little worried about going to a city where English was not the first language, but everyone l met or passed while walking, was smiling, friendly.

My room was clean and nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and the water pressure was pretty good! I have no complaints about the room but noted the wallpaper peeling in the bathroom. On the downside, housekeeping, on my last day/night, was a disappointment. While the bed was made, housekeeping did not take out a small bag of garbage or newspapers l had piled. In addition, even tho l had used lotion and still had some in the bottle, my room lotion was not replenished. Small disappointments, but for $250 per night, l didn't expect sloppy housekeeping.

The hotel, with shopping on 2 levels and lots of parking ($20/day), is in a central location, and l think that's what one is paying for. I did find the hotel entrance with reception on 6th floor a bit confusing. And signage for ice, in the hotel, as well as ice storage, did not stand out and l had to ask staff to show me where it was (and she even had trouble finding it). Some carpet areas show wear that make the hotel look dingy. On the plus side, I was able to walk two blocks, underground, to and from my conference, if l chose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nshwaaswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeena J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Nshwaaswi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am very happy that your expectations were met by our amazing location, in regards to our housekeeping services, we will definitely do a follow up .

We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Azeena Jiwan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Azeena.Jiwan@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I didn’t intend to go to this hotel. It was designated for me on a third party hotel reservation website. I stayed there for 1 night with my wife. If you are driving there, you have the options of valet or self parking. I chose valet and costs $35.00 for a night. The service was quick. If you need your car, just call ahead from your room. Your car will be ready as you arrive at the door. The check-in process was quick. I was upgraded to a Regency Club room which breakfast and hors d’oeuvre are included. The room I took was a King bed. There was not much of a view. The bathroom was really small to my standard. The size of the room isn’t too bad. However, I suggest the hotel to change the A/C system in the room. It got really noisy at night and it woke me up. I had to turn it off so I could sleep.

The location of this hotel is not bad, not amazing. You are close to Ste-Catherine East but most actions are in the West. You have access to Complex Desjardins which is a mall that connects to the hotel. You can easily access the underground shopping centre. I believe it’s still one of the biggest ones in the world. If you would like to visit China town, it’s only a five minute walk. If you are going to Place des Arts for a show, it’s a two minute walk. The pool is an indoor pool. I didn’t go to the gym but it’s a good size. The restaurant inside the hotel is nicely decorated but the food isn’t that great. Overall, I find this a three and half stars hotel if you have to pay the full price for it. If you ask me if I would return….probably not if I have to pay. It’s not a bad hotel but it could be better.

Room Tip: High floors is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtluxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter_cappello, Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear SamprasCanada,

Thanks so much for the review, I do hope you will come back again.

Warm regards,

P.Cappello
Management
peter.cappello@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was centrally located within the Entertainment District of Montreal also within walking distance to Old Montreal, Downtown, Latin Quarter, China Town, and the Village. the hotel is attached to the Underground. During my stay I was able to experience the 25th Franco Follies d Montreal , the hotel has a outdoor patio accompanied by a wet bar offset the pool area which overlooked the whole festival. Other than being clean and well furnished my room wasn't anything special just a standard "Cookie Cutter" hotel room which I didn't mind, I didn't spend too much time in my room. The Staff was Great throughout my stay from Check in, Turn Down service and the Concierge Assisted me with setting up a day Tour. This is where I will stay when in Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odajojo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter_cappello, Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear odajojo83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am very happy that your expectations were met by our amazing location and wonderful staff. Hopefully we can make this an annual occurrence!

Please do let me know if I can assist with your future accommodations at the Hyatt Regency Montreal.

Kindest Regards,

P.Cappello
Management
peter.cappello@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt several times when I arrive in Montreal. The location is excellent near Old Montreal, along St Catherine Street and close to the Metro. I had an executive suite and was extremely spacious, clean and had all the requirements I needed..free internet, breakfast etc..Plenty of Cafe's and Restaurants. The Regency Club room was a great idea for guests and privacy. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a lovely view overlooking the Arts Center with a spectacular fountain lights in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelbarbary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeena J, Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mrs Kelbarbary E,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for staying with us and for the great summary of our hotel.

I would love to help you with your accommodations on your next trip to Montreal, please don't hesitate to contact me!

Kindest Regards,
Azeena Jiwan
Assistant Front Office Manager
Azeena.jiwan@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#33 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge and its Wine Bar for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on level 6 offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art and Place des Arts, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal and experience the Montreal way of life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing