We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked here after buying a travelzoo promo - included parking (tho we did not drive this time), breakfast, internet, Regency room upgrade and access to the Regency Club. Having stayed at Hyatt before, thought it would be up to par but then after reading some of the reviews here, wondered if I had made a poor call on this one.
We were welcomed and checked in within a few minutes and fortunately pleasantly surprised as we opened our door! The room was spacious, clean and obviously not one of the 'dated, tired' ones others have commented on. Went to the Regency Club and the staff member was very kind and considerate as we arrived just before closing. She offered to leave things out for us so we were not at all rushed! Enjoyed a glass of wine and some nice little munchies. Stopped in to the bar just off the reception area and had a nice martini on our way back to the room. We thought all the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast the next day was plentiful and tasty.
All in all, a very nice stay and very conveniently located near Place des Arts, shopping and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GyspySoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    886
    582
    246
    92
See reviews for
458
591
125
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had made a reservation here through a travelzoo promotion which appeared like a decent deal considering the stay was in downtown Montreal, as well as included parking and breakfast for our family. We arrived and the valet parking was very efficient. This hotel is oddly arranged as we had to go up a few floors to get to reception, and then up again to our room. There were so many people around that I felt we were sleeping in a mall, although once we were in our room it was quiet enough. The rooms are tired, and the bathrooms dated with showers that need some attention. We were fortunate enough to be able to use the Regency room, and my husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine and some hors d'oeuvres before going out for dinner. The next day's breakfast was quite good with an omelette station and a good selection of food choices for breakfast/brunch. The location is good, as it is a few steps from Rue St. Catherine and the theatres. I would not aim to stay here again unless there was a good promotion to do so- it needs some love and light!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinookTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked the Hyatt for a great price and thank goodness becuase I would have been down right mad if I had paid full price. The room was a good size and it was quiet but very dated and drab. The bathroom had cracked tiles and peeling wall paper. Didn't live up to my expectations at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sycho_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location in downtown Montreal by the new open spaces created for people to be outside and enjoy the city. Beautiful pool with lots of room for lounging and family fun. Simple, but good gym facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Best sleep ever!

Booked through Priceline so it was a great deal for $96/night, not sure about regular prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I chose this hotel purely based on location. In that regard, it did not disappoint. Convenient to great shopping, business district, restaurants among many other attractions in this wonderful city.

That being said, the hotel itself with its solid Hyatt name/reputation seemed sadly worn and dated with poor lighting, drab rooms and small bathrooms (surely different experience on the executive floors). That can be forgiven but the horrible pizza (a factory frozen special) on offer at the Six Resto Lounge at a ridiculous price did nothing to endear me to the place.

It is often the small personal touches that make or break an experience -- there is nothing special here.

If you get a great rate and the location suits you, go for it. If not, there are many other options in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking updated room in upper floor level away from the street noise. Avoid the pizza in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katcha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location, right on St. Catharine for Shopping, Old Montreal is a block away and great dining on St. Laurent is a close walk as well. Hotel itself was ok, confusing when going from Parking Garage to main lobby to ground level. No signs but once we figured it out, no troubles. Room was average, bathroom was dated and very small. Good value because we bought a dealfind, otherwise I wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this location a couple of times. The rooms feel a bit aged due to the building design and decor. The hotel, services, and staff are all 4 star...the rooms 2.5 to 3 star (North American standards). Location is great!!! Metro, underground access (important in the winter). Close to shopping, old Montreal, Bell Centre, Place des Arts, Gay Village, Great food!

If value is important, this I'd the place to stay. If not, try Saint Sulpice in old Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#36 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Property: Hyatt Regency Montreal
Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Montreal is conveniently located in the heart of the Quartier des spectacles of Montreal. Its 595 suites and comfortable rooms offer breathtaking views of Montreal. The hotel provides to its guests access to its indoor pool, spa services, fitness room, and offers 35,000 square feet (3200 square meters) of event space. Hyatt Regency Montreal has two restaurants, the Saveur for breakfast and SIX Resto Lounge for dinner. On summer season, SIX Resto Lounge terrace on the 6th level offers an unbeatable view of Place des Festivals. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from Old Montreal, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chinatown, the famous Underground City, the Convention Center of Montreal, 2 subway lines and adjacent to the Complexe Desjardins and its 110 shops and restaurants. Hyatt Regency Montreal is the first choice for those who want to stay in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing